Old 09-20-2010, 04:35 PM   #1
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default Font size?

Is there any way that I can change the font size (or font itself) for the tracks in the TCP, and in the mixer?

I am straining my eyes to see...it's so small on the default themes and all other themes I've tried....

I have a 26in monitor, and I just am really having a hard time with fonts in Reaper.

Is there a way to enlarge at the very least the track names in the TCP and the mixer? As a bonus it would be awesome if the FX windows, text etc could be enlarged too.

I already have Windows set on 125% which works flawlessly with all other apps (audio or non audio)....

I am on Win7, fwiw.

Thanks!

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 05:58 PM   #2
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,604
Default

Hi Ben-

You can change the fonts for Track titles, Timeline, etc. under Options > Preferences > Appearance > Theme Editor.

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 06:12 PM   #3
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Font sizes, or just fonts?

I'm checking it out now - thanks Susan!

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:23 PM   #4
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,505
Default

hey lowell... sometimes changing the color of the font makes a huge difference...

I also have a 26" monitor running at 1900 by 1280 rez... and I can see fine but only with my glasses on... do you need glasses?

maybe try even some drugstore reading glasses of a low power like 1.25 and see if that helps....

I used to have razor sharp eyes.. but that ended too many years ago....
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:47 PM   #5
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

I wear glasses.

Ok, all I can find is color stuff in the theme/element finder/theme preference areas...

Where is the option(s) for text size, type, etc? I can see the long list of colors and stuff, but nothing about texts/fonts anywhere....can any of those be changed in Reaper? Surely...I am missing it.

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:56 PM   #6
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

I am so lost....
I just am looking for Track titles/Mixer font sizes....timeline sizes, etc. basic stuff -

I found the font options in that color/font list, but if I increase the size of the font to my liking (i.e. so I can see them better), then barely fit in the track title 'slit' - the space where the font is on the track itself. It's cut off, is there a way to resize/enlarge the track title "slot" that allows the font to be fully seen?

Thanks!
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:58 PM   #7
Zachdad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Hi Ben, look wher Susan said and maybe type "fonts" in the search window at the bottom of the theme editor. I admit its hard for me to find and I know where it is!
Zachdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 07:58 PM   #8
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,604
Default


And just scroll down further, looking for anything that says "font". Click on the name of the element you want to change, and it brings up the standard Windows font dialog.

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 08:01 PM   #9
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zachdad View Post
Hi Ben, look wher Susan said and maybe type "fonts" in the search window at the bottom of the theme editor. I admit its hard for me to find and I know where it is!
Right, it's in the image I posted. Unfortunately, searching for "font" won't find the individual theme elements (yet!), but it'll get you to the right page.

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 08:07 PM   #10
Zachdad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Options > Preferences > Appearance > Theme Editor (about 1/16 the way down)
between "Empty Mixer List" (grey bar) and "fader background when automating"
(first red bar).
Zachdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 08:10 PM   #11
Zachdad
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default

Doh! Nice image post Susan! Just gotta say this is the coolest community!
I am so glad I found Reaper and you guys!
Zachdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 04:27 AM   #12
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Thanks ! Found it....

But, is there a way to widen the slot in which the track title is shown? I only increased the font just a few sizes from default and it can't fit in the track title area Letters are cut off, etc.

If only you could zoom on the track controls lol - not only the track

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 05:13 AM   #13
andycraig
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowellben View Post
Thanks ! Found it....

But, is there a way to widen the slot in which the track title is shown? I only increased the font just a few sizes from default and it can't fit in the track title area Letters are cut off, etc.

If only you could zoom on the track controls lol - not only the track

Ben
Sorry I can't help but I'd also like to know if there's a way to do this. I tried increasing the font size and the letters are cut off. I don't know if this can be handled by using a different theme but any tips would be good.
andycraig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 05:20 AM   #14
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Yea, I'm still new to Reaper - I wish I knew more in depth stuff, but I'm getting there! All I can say, is I love Reaper


Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:39 AM   #15
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,505
Default

hey lowell... what is the rez of your monitor set to?

...and you say you already wear glasses so I'd question if they are working as they should for reading a computer screen...

I mean my eyes are VERY old eyes... without my glasses the world is pretty damn fuzzy... but with them the screen is quite sharp and clear....
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:43 AM   #16
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
hey lowell... what is the rez of your monitor set to?

...and you say you already wear glasses so I'd question if they are working as they should for reading a computer screen...

I mean my eyes are VERY old eyes... without my glasses the world is pretty damn fuzzy... but with them the screen is quite sharp and clear....
naw, my eyes aren't that bad hehe...

I have my resolution set on the default for the monitor (I can't recall off the top of my head now...but it's plenty fine for all other apps on my PC - audio or non audio).

If only I could enlarge the track title slot, then I would be golden My eyes would be happy, the fonts are great now - just cut off lol
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:47 AM   #17
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,751
Default

... only by widening the Track Control panel area, AFAIK

-- hover over the right-hand edge until you get a double-headed arrow, click and drag to the right
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:48 AM   #18
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,505
Default

don't think you can do that ... it IS a png file in the theme's but I believe it is one that reaper will draw to a given size no matter how big you make the png...

screen rez ... there is no real default... are you on windows? if so rt clk the screen on an empty area and go to properties and settings and see what rez your monitor is set at....
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 07:49 AM   #19
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
screen rez ... there is no real default... are you on windows?
There is a default/native setting for the monitors themselves...that's what I meant. Sorry if I confused ya
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 08:12 AM   #20
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,505
Default

OK... and what is that in numbers? what brand are the monitors?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 08:17 AM   #21
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
OK... and what is that in numbers? what brand are the monitors?
I'm at work now, as I said I don't have the exact figures in front of me. All Windows apps on my PC display fine, so I'm confident I just have to adjust the REAPER preferences No biggie.
I can't make the res too drastic because the icons will be enormous lol - the resolution that I have now is perfect and I'd like to stick with it. Everything is working great for me, just gotta tweak Reaper a bit to work better on my eyes

I wanna say its 1920x1200, but I'm not 100% sure...

It's an ASUS 26in+ 2ms monitor...

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 08:41 AM   #22
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,505
Default

Ok.. well just to compare then... here is a little capture of what I see on my theme in reaper:



I try to keep some balance of small enough font size so I get enough room in the mixer to see the track names....

I could make the font a bit larger but then I get very little room in the mixer names...
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 08:43 AM   #23
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
Ok.. well just to compare then... here is a little capture of what I see on my theme in reaper:



I try to keep some balance of small enough font size so I get enough room in the mixer to see the track names....

I could make the font a bit larger but then I get very little room in the mixer names...
Thanks
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 09:19 AM   #24
GregHolmes
Human being with feelings
 
GregHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 399
Default

REAPER has an option to scale all the graphics elements.

Take a look in Preferences / General. There's a button at the bottom that says "Advanced UI/system tweaks". Click on that, and then select "Scale UI elements of track/mixer panels ..." and enter a value. Try 1.5, and restart REAPER to see the effect. Increase the font size to match.
__________________
Greg Holmes | play:GregHolmes.com | work:GHServices.com
GregHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 09:22 AM   #25
Sheppola
Human being with feelings
 
Sheppola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,286
Default

You may find this useful,

http://www.pcworld.com/article/11506...th_a_view.html
__________________
"Music washes away from the soul the dust of everyday life."
http://www.reverbnation.com/pauldouglas
https://www.youtube.com/user/TalosIO
Sheppola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 09:58 AM   #26
GregHolmes
Human being with feelings
 
GregHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 399
Default

Windows 7 includes a magnifier. While holding the Windows logo key, type the "+" or "-" key. Move the mouse around.
__________________
Greg Holmes | play:GregHolmes.com | work:GHServices.com
GregHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 11:25 AM   #27
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregHolmes View Post
REAPER has an option to scale all the graphics elements.

Take a look in Preferences / General. There's a button at the bottom that says "Advanced UI/system tweaks". Click on that, and then select "Scale UI elements of track/mixer panels ..." and enter a value. Try 1.5, and restart REAPER to see the effect. Increase the font size to match.
Fantastic! I'll check out that scaling tonight when I get home Thanks

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 11:26 AM   #28
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregHolmes View Post
Windows 7 includes a magnifier. While holding the Windows logo key, type the "+" or "-" key. Move the mouse around.
Indeed it does. I've used it a few times. Not really what I'm looking for, though sometimes it does come in handy (outside Reaper)

I'll check out the scaling for sure.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 04:00 PM   #29
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Not Lowell
Posts: 2,704
Default

That scaling feature is awesome!!

One last question:

How can I enlarge the tabbed docking tabs? (Mixer, Media Explorer, etc?

That font size is not fitting in the tabs either even on default size...I've noticed some themes don't have that problem though....not all do...

Ben
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 02:00 PM   #30
Publicradio
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 153
Default

Does Reaper not have the theme editor anymore? I have a HiDPI screen and I can't read the track names, or some of the text in the UI. I tried scaling the UI and it doesn't scale these for me.

I also tried to use the Reaper 5 HiDPi theme and it's way too big for me. When I select this, going to advanced UI tweaks and scaling down doesn't do anything.

Is there a way to edit the theme files, or do something, to get those track name fonts bigger? also the UV meters etc.
Publicradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2017, 02:48 AM   #31
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 484
Default

Hi. It's still there but, for some reason, it's been removed from the menus. Bring up the ACTIONS dialog and search for 'tweak' ("Theme development: Show theme tweak/configuration window")
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 04:37 PM   #32
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,754
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowellben View Post
....As a bonus it would be awesome if the FX windows, text etc could be enlarged too.
This is the one that gets me, say Generic UI description text. I found the color in OS (Windows 7) but not the size. Changing to high contrast colors helped but made other windows that use the same color garish. Seems like bolding it would be enough, but might make things not fit? Any one ever figure this out?

Last edited by FnA; 11-11-2017 at 04:43 PM.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.