Old 08-16-2021, 01:05 PM   #1
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,214
Default v6.35rc1 - August 16 2021

v6.35rc1 - August 16 2021
  • + API: if track VU is metering loudness, API (ReaScript, control surface) peaks functions return loudness as well
  • + Action list: optionally match synonyms of common words when searching for action names ("display" matches "show", etc)
  • + Action list: pull list of synonyms from langpack actionlist_synonyms section
  • + Area selection: support stretch markers in media items that contain empty take lanes, if there is at least one audio take [t=256443]
  • + Automation: obey grid/snap settings when using freehand draw
  • + Automation: restore 6.33 behavior when adding a single point via freehand draw [t=256406]
  • + FX: add clear option to FX pin mapping dialog
  • + FX: add reset button to FX pin mapping dialog
  • + JSFX: support linked stereo channels in channel mapper user mix mode
  • + MIDI: encode linear tempo changes on export as MIDI text messages that REAPER can interpret when reimporting (other applications will ignore these messages)
  • + MP3: fix invalid memory access from unknown ETCO type in ID3v2
  • + Marquee zoom: allow tracks to be sized smaller in order to fit on screen [t=256339]
  • + Master VU: fix LUFS-S metering when readout set to current level rather than max or LRA [p=2471528]
  • + Media item properties: support entering numeric values for take volume/pan
  • + Metadata: fix embedding CART intro/segue markers that occur at the very start of the rendered file
  • + Metadata: support embedding project markers/cues as XMP (for Premiere, After Effects, etc)
  • + Performance: fix potential excessive UI CPU use/hang when closing project when edit cursor is offscreen [t=256285]
  • + Project bay: increase project length if needed when dragging media items from project bay [t=254865]
  • + Razor edits: fix editing envelope point that occurs at the start of an automation item [p=2471931]
  • + ReaScript: add GetSetMediaTrackInfo support for getting/setting track VU mode
  • + ReaSurround / ReaSurroundPan: allow plugin to support higher I/O channel count than the track or media item
  • + ReaSurroundPan: add 9.1.2 surround setup
  • + ReaSurroundPan: label an elevated speaker in the center of the room as "overhead", other elevated speakers as "height"
  • + ReaSurroundPan: when LFE channel is selected, allow changing input faders to gain, but disable the channel text edit box
  • + Render: add options to disable calculating loudness statistics
  • + Render: display up to 512 vu meters, limited to the screen height
  • + Render: iterate for increased precision when normalizing to LUFS-I
  • + Render: more informative error message if target file cannot be created
  • + Render: optimize loudness calculations
  • + Render: separate render statistics header for clearer display when rendering many files
  • + Render: support dithering primary and secondary render format to different bit depths [t=256483]
  • + Render: support enabling LUFS-I/LUFS-M and LRA/LUFS-S statistics separately
  • + Ripple editing: improve behavior of duplicate area selection action [t=256114]
  • + Ripple editing: improve behavior of duplicate selected area of items action
  • + Tempo markers: support tempo basis other than 1/4 note (affects displayed BPM number only, not metronome or tempo envelope display) [t=250880]
  • + Theme: add meter_strip_h_rms image, consistently use loudness meter theme elements for tracks that are set to meter loudness
  • + Track VU: add metering settings submenu to track context menu as well as track VU context menu
  • + Track VU: support RMS stereo metering
  • + Track VU: support metering RMS, LUFS-M, or LUFS-S
  • + Tracks: support mono master/parent send
  • + VST3: fix incorrect handling of IContextMenuItem flags
  • + Windows: avoid potential splash screen hang when caught in an invalidate/postmessage loop [t=256285]
  • # API: functions that return track peak levels (ReaScript, control surfaces, etc) still return peak levels even if the track is set to meter loudness
  • # API: support optionally getting track loudness values (if track VU meters are displaying loudness) via Track_GetPeakInfo and Track_GetPeakHoldDB
  • # Action list: ignore synonyms when using NOT qualifier
  • # Dither: re-use the exact same dither if primary/secondary targets have the same bit depth
  • # FX: don't reset pin connector if reset menu is closed without making a selection
  • # JSFX: fix channel mapper mousewheel edits for linked channels
  • # JSFX: improve stereo linking UI when horizontal scrollbar is showing
  • # Master VU: localize loudness meter settings dropdown
  • # Master/parent send: change .RPP storage of one-channel parent send setting (now warns if loaded in previous versions)
  • # Media item properties: don't auto-update dialog while user is editing take volume or pan
  • # Metadata: fix embedding XMP markers that occur at the very start of the rendered file
  • # Meters: improve readout display on very small sizes
  • # ReaSurroundPan: account for mono parent sends when setting channel display from sending track name/color
  • # ReaSurroundPan: add action to set input channel display to sending track names/colors, option to automatically update if tracks change
  • # ReaSurroundPan: minor labeling change for Auro speaker setups
  • # Render: more optimizations to loudness calculations
  • # Track VU: add option to display current instead of maximum value when track meters set to LUFS-S
  • # Track VU: fix theme color for loudness readout in horizontal mode
  • # Track VU: minor change to internal storage for track metering settings
  • # Track VU: preserve playback peak metering behavior when record-armed and metering track output
  • # Track VU: support post-fader loudness metering
  • # Track meters: correct label tooltips for RMS vs LUFS
  • # vst3: retain midi mapping, note expression controller and keyswitch controllers for lifetime of plug-in
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 01:12 PM   #2
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South, UK
Posts: 14,214
Default

lots of awesome stuff here guys thanks!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 01:17 PM   #3
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 7,568
Default

😍 + Action list: optionally match synonyms of common words when searching for action names ("display" matches "show", etc)

Good to know I'm not the only one that has needed a Thesaurus to make custom actions.

👍 + FX: add clear option to FX pin mapping dialog
👍 + FX: add reset button to FX pin mapping dialog

👍 + Media item properties: support entering numeric values for take volume/pan
👍 + Tracks: support mono master/parent send

This is a great update
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 01:22 PM   #4
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 13,333
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
😍 + Action list: optionally match synonyms of common words when searching for action names ("display" matches "show", etc)

Good to know I'm not the only one that has needed a Thesaurus to make custom actions.
Here is more:
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...5&postcount=22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
The current thought is that eventually the synonyms will be definable within each language pack.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 01:27 PM   #5
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,096
Default

This contradicts, but probably just because as the changelog isn't cleaned up yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.35rc1 - August 16 2021

+ API: if track VU is metering loudness, API (ReaScript, control surface) peaks functions return loudness as well

# API: functions that return track peak levels (ReaScript, control surfaces, etc) still return peak levels even if the track is set to meter loudness
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 01:42 PM   #6
Triode
Human being with feelings
 
Triode's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 1,180
Default

Thank you
__________________
Mixing / Brush and Beater Drums Online: www.outoftheboxsounds.com
Triode is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 01:45 PM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
This contradicts, but probably just because as the changelog isn't cleaned up yet.
Yes, the first line is superseded by the second.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 01:56 PM   #8
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Yes, the first line is superseded by the second.
Ah ok, thanks.
I was confused shortly because usually (often) it's the #... lines which don't end up in the final changelog I think but I vaguely remembered that you eventually ditched loudness metering via API so in this case it's the other way round.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 02:45 PM   #9
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
  • + Action list: optionally match synonyms of common words when searching for action names ("display" matches "show", etc)
Sounds interesting!
How is this handled, respectively will this be handled in localizations?


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 02:52 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
How is this handled, respectively will this be handled in localizations?
It's handled via localization. These are the lines in the sample langpack (available at landoleet.org) that represent the default synonyms, you can add or change whatever you want to:

Code:
[actionlist_synonyms]
;1=display,view,show,hide
;2=delete,clear,remove
;3=insert,add
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 02:58 PM   #11
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,559
Default

Thanks Schwa,

That's really awesome!


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here! ... Donate? Yeah!! | Are you nuts? | Maybe
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben! ... Spenden? Klar! | Spinnst wohl!? | Vielleicht
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2021, 06:36 PM   #12
RovingEye
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Posts: 55
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
v6.35rc1 - August 16 2021
[*]+ JSFX: support linked stereo channels in channel mapper user mix mode
Awesome!
RovingEye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 12:17 AM   #13
amagalma
Human being with feelings
 
amagalma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 3,451
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
It's handled via localization. These are the lines in the sample langpack (available at landoleet.org) that represent the default synonyms, you can add or change whatever you want to:

Code:
[actionlist_synonyms]
;1=display,view,show,hide
;2=delete,clear,remove
;3=insert,add

I have never messed with langpacks, so maybe my question is silly: will the changes get overwritten after a Reaper update?
__________________
Most of my scripts can be found in ReaPack.
If you find them useful, a donation would be greatly appreciated! Thank you! :)
amagalma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 08:39 AM   #14
GonZ
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 132
Default

Still the bug which antomations items can be drag & drop from project bay just on track one, the rest are denied.
GonZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 11:54 AM   #15
Delucci
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 325
Default

Why isn't midi note reorder in the newest releases?
Delucci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 11:56 AM   #16
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 4,812
Default

+ Action list: optionally match synonyms of common words when searching for action names ("display" matches "show", etc)

it's interesting and i think same concept could be applied for searches in Media Browser:
Example:
Drums .. drum .. DR
Kicks .. kick .. Bass drum .. BD
Snares .. snare .. SN ..
vocals .. vocal .. voice .. voices .. VOX
__________________
🙏🏻
deeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 02:18 PM   #17
Javier Robledo
Human being with feelings
 
Javier Robledo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 634
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
It's handled via localization. These are the lines in the sample langpack (available at landoleet.org) that represent the default synonyms, you can add or change whatever you want to:

Code:
[actionlist_synonyms]
;1=display,view,show,hide
;2=delete,clear,remove
;3=insert,add
Really useful.
Thanks
Javier Robledo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 02:19 PM   #18
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 12,096
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delucci View Post
Why isn't midi note reorder in the newest releases?
Probably because it's not release-ready yet.

edit:
For clarity, this is a rc (=release candidate) changelog,
I guess MIDI note reorder will come back in the next +dev cycle, after v6.35 has been released.

Last edited by nofish; 08-17-2021 at 03:01 PM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 03:44 PM   #19
Yanick
Human being with feelings
 
Yanick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 612
Default

It seems to me that already in several + dev versions the multichannel track metering was broken - it is impossible to turn on/off
Yanick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 04:34 PM   #20
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yanick View Post
It seems to me that already in several + dev versions the multichannel track metering was broken - it is impossible to turn on/off
It looks like the action "toggle full multichannel metering" isn't working properly, we'll fix that. But the other non-toggle track metering actions (there are eight of them) and the menu items seem to work as expected.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2021, 08:08 PM   #21
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 538
Default v6.35rc2

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
It looks like the action "toggle full multichannel metering" isn't working properly, we'll fix that. But the other non-toggle track metering actions (there are eight of them) and the menu items seem to work as expected.
Hi schwa, (Posted here, because v6.35rc2 was not yet in the forum)

When opening the window, Batch File/Item Converter, it is correct to appear as 'Normalize ON' and not 'Normalize...'?

Ps. The Render to File window is as 'Normalize...'

Windows 7 64bit

Best regards,
__________________
Together we're more!! - Reaper+SWS [pt-BR] - Windows/Mac/Linux Downloads here
Donate, if you wish

Last edited by Edison; 08-18-2021 at 01:53 AM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 04:18 AM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,746
Default

In both cases the button should read "Normalize ON" only if normalizing is enabled.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 05:15 AM   #23
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
In both cases the button should read "Normalize ON" only if normalizing is enabled.
I know, so I found it strange because every time the Reaper is opened, the Batch File/Item Converter window is enabled to Normalize ON. See Pics


Best regards,
__________________
Together we're more!! - Reaper+SWS [pt-BR] - Windows/Mac/Linux Downloads here
Donate, if you wish

Last edited by Edison; 04-26-2023 at 07:37 PM.
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 05:16 AM   #24
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
In both cases the button should read "Normalize ON" only if normalizing is enabled.
Yeah, but just checked and the difference is really subtle "Normalize" vs "Normalize ON" ... for example checkmarks are much more apparent at first sight when one looks over the dialog window which options are ON or OFF. Try to think about it, please.
Thanks

EDIT: I was referring to Render dialog here.

Last edited by akademie; 08-18-2021 at 05:21 AM.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 05:20 AM   #25
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,978
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
I know, so I found it strange because every time the Reaper is opened, the Batch File/Item Converter window is enabled to Normalize ON. See Pics


Best regards,
I think it's because the setting and status (enabled/disabled) is independent from each other (in Batch versus Render dialogs).
In batch it remembers your last settings (probably you converted files with Normailze enabled). Do some conversion with disabled and since then it will open in disabled state,, well until ...
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 05:38 AM   #26
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,746
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edison View Post
I know, so I found it strange because every time the Reaper is opened, the Batch File/Item Converter window is enabled to Normalize ON. See Pics
The batch converter has a global state, so if you normalized the last time you converted something, normalization will remain on until you disable it.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2021, 08:09 AM   #27
Edison
Human being with feelings
 
Edison's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Brazil
Posts: 538
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
The batch converter has a global state, so if you normalized the last time you converted something, normalization will remain on until you disable it.
@schwa

When you mentioned about 'Global state' to Bath Converter, it helped me in understanding. Now everything is Ok.

Thanks!
__________________
Together we're more!! - Reaper+SWS [pt-BR] - Windows/Mac/Linux Downloads here
Donate, if you wish
Edison is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.