Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-15-2017, 08:22 PM   #321
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

The error might be, that you have the entry 336560F6444C4D2 twice in this block.

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 12:11 AM   #322
ecl
Human being with feelings
 
ecl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 268
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
The error might be, that you have the entry 336560F6444C4D2 twice in this block.

-Data
Hi Mr. Data, I have already deleted the line but it's still in english once I open Reaper

Do you have also problems with that dialog in your langpack ?

I thinks so, I have already tried it with your langpack and happens the same

Thanks
ecl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 02:10 AM   #323
ecl
Human being with feelings
 
ecl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 268
Default

This particular String is also in Common Section and appears in English in that Dialog even been trasnlated:

BAC64C1B2E060EE5=Cerrar
ecl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2017, 06:35 PM   #324
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

The string for hashcode BAC64C1B2E060EE5 appears 35 times in the langpack.
And yes, I have the same issue with that particular dialog.
Code:
[DLG_576] ; IDD_DEVICE_ERRORS
The strings won't translate, but strings shown in the text area of the dialog, that are not in that block of the langpack, translate.

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!

Last edited by Mr. Data; 01-17-2017 at 01:13 PM.
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 05:25 AM   #325
Phroneris
Human being with feelings
 
Phroneris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
Default Error installing LangPack when the resource path contains multibyte characters

Hello. I'm posting on REAPER forum for the first time... (getting nervous)

I make a Japanese LangPack and research how it's used.
Major matters for beginners seem that they meet an "Error installing language pack!" alert, and I find that it sometimes result from the above subject matter.
An username of PC can have multibyte characters because he/she is a Japanese, then the resource path becomes multibyted like "C:\Users\花子\AppData\Roaming\REAPER" and it causes errors.
This issue also occurs in portable installation mode. If the portable path has multibyte characters (e.g. "H:\リーパー"), the same error appears when d&d a LangPack file to apply.
I'm happy as a Japanese REAPER user if it's fixed.

Then, is this an "issue with localizing" to post here?
__________________
日本語化パッチ (森) / Japanese LangPack by Phroneris: https://github.com/Phroneris/ReaperJPN-Phroneris
Phroneris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 12:08 PM   #326
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phroneris View Post
Hello. I'm posting on REAPER forum for the first time... (getting nervous)

I make a Japanese LangPack and research how it's used.
Major matters for beginners seem that they meet an "Error installing language pack!" alert, and I find that it sometimes result from the above subject matter.
An username of PC can have multibyte characters because he/she is a Japanese, then the resource path becomes multibyted like "C:\Users\花子\AppData\Roaming\REAPER" and it causes errors.
This issue also occurs in portable installation mode. If the portable path has multibyte characters (e.g. "H:\リーパー"), the same error appears when d&d a LangPack file to apply.
I'm happy as a Japanese REAPER user if it's fixed.

Then, is this an "issue with localizing" to post here?
Hi Phroneris,

welcome to the Reaper forums!
There's absolutely no reason to get nervous!
Most of the people here are very kind and willing to help whenever they can.

I really don't know whether it's a Windows or a Reaper problem, but I reckon it might be the latter, 'cos inside the language packs themselves these problems occur in other languages like German, French or Polish as well, where special characters only used in these languages appear and these are shown faulty in some cases, although installation of the langpacks is no problem in these languages.

I'd propose to emphasize this problem as often as you can, so it gets resolved at some point. But regrettably localization isn't really high on the developers' agenda at the moment, so be patient!

However: great you're here!


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!

Last edited by Mr. Data; 08-31-2017 at 12:24 PM.
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 02:21 PM   #327
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phroneris View Post
Hello. I'm posting on REAPER forum for the first time... (getting nervous)

I make a Japanese LangPack and research how it's used.
Major matters for beginners seem that they meet an "Error installing language pack!" alert, and I find that it sometimes result from the above subject matter.
An username of PC can have multibyte characters because he/she is a Japanese, then the resource path becomes multibyted like "C:\Users\花子\AppData\Roaming\REAPER" and it causes errors.
This issue also occurs in portable installation mode. If the portable path has multibyte characters (e.g. "H:\リーパー"), the same error appears when d&d a LangPack file to apply.
I'm happy as a Japanese REAPER user if it's fixed.

Then, is this an "issue with localizing" to post here?
Thanks! we will improve support for installing to paths that contain non-latin characters, as well as for AppData paths with such characters.

This will come in 5.51pre1, hopefully sometime in September!

Cheers,

Justin
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 04:15 PM   #328
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Well, Justin, that's good news for users like Phroneris in the far east and such contries using non-latin characters.

Thanks for that!

@ Phroneris:

As you can see, responses can be very quick here and not only most users, but the developers as well, are very kind and helpful. So once again: no need to get nervous. In fact you're welcome to state criticism and proposals.

It won't take long to discover how powerful and versatile Reaper is, if you haven't already.


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 04:40 PM   #329
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Oh I forgot, Justin.

Maybe you could have a look at my postings 285-287, 289 and 302.
There are strings (I have to admit, I don't know witch in particular right now) that won't translate and not in all cases the hashcode tool helps.

Possibly even my proposal in posting 301, concerning alignment of elements might be worth to have 3 or 11 thoughts about.


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!

Last edited by Mr. Data; 08-31-2017 at 04:46 PM.
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 06:04 PM   #330
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
Oh I forgot, Justin.

Maybe you could have a look at my postings 285-287, 289 and 302.
There are strings (I have to admit, I don't know witch in particular right now) that won't translate and not in all cases the hashcode tool helps.

Possibly even my proposal in posting 301, concerning alignment of elements might be worth to have 3 or 11 thoughts about.


-Data
Maybe we need to just update the templates, then you can list which strings aren't working?

BTW I skimmed those posts, and for one: the description of HSV adjustment using R/G/B is correct -- the red value adjusts hue, green saturation, blue variance (since you define the theme color as RGB)...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 06:45 PM   #331
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Maybe we need to just update the templates, then you can list which strings aren't working?
Yes, some strings, however work when using the hashcode tool, others don't. So an update could help.

Still a big problem remains: We (the ones who translate) always have to search for strings that don't translate and with each new version we have to go through the whole thing, because it sometimes happens that strings, translated in earlier versions won't translate in newer ones anymore.
It would be nice if we could at least rely on our work we've already done.

And what about the alignment thingy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
BTW I skimmed those posts, and for one: the description of HSV adjustment using R/G/B is correct -- the red value adjusts hue, green saturation, blue variance (since you define the theme color as RGB)...
Aah yes, that makes things clearer.
Especially the strings in this dialog (the ones with a smaller font if I recall properly) aren't present in the template.

However: Thank you for having a look!

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 07:26 PM   #332
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,326
Default

There is the lang pack merge tool which will add and mark the new entries, but maybe it's not obvious enough how to use it...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2017, 08:23 PM   #333
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
There is the lang pack merge tool which will add and mark the new entries, but maybe it's not obvious enough how to use it...
Yes, I know and I've used it, but as I mentioned, some strings simply won't work in new versions anymore that have done in older ones, but most do and I haven't found a reason for that. Sorry, I can't give you explicit examples right now and I still haven't found a pattern in which cases it works and in which it doesn't yet.

I also had cases, where strings were marked as 'possibly obsolete' that actually weren't obsolete at all and did work properly when deleting the preceding semicolon.

In other cases again, I had to change strings in the [common] section and they work, where as they didn't in their explicit section. But then it would be necessary to check, whether and if at all the string appears in other sections properly.
It's quite a hassle sometimes.

As I said, ever since this localization topic is running, we are faced with strings that are translated (and work) with earlier versions, but sometimes won't with newer ones and we have to check every menu, rolldown menu, dialog, action string and whatnot, whether things are as they were before.

Sometimes it even happens, that translated strings in the langpack file won't show translated and when using the online tool it gives the same hashcode, already present in the langpack file, so no way of showing translation. In other cases for some reason another hashcode comes up when using the tool and it suddenly works.

I know, that there has to be taken good care of copying the string into the tool properly, but in some cases I'm standing there quite baffled and, no matter what I try, I won't get the desired result.

If I had an idea of a reliable way to do it, i'd be more pleased.
Also, as I mentioned before, it would be nice to be able to align things.

Anyway: I'm confident we get all this working at some point and then we just have to take care of new or changed strings.

Sorry for appearing a bit confused, but it's late (i.e. very early) here in good ol' Germany and maybe I had one or four beer too much.

-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!

Last edited by Mr. Data; 09-01-2017 at 09:27 AM.
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2017, 03:59 PM   #334
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,326
Default

Data, I'm not sure what the problem you're having is, but I'm sure it's probably a result of us not updating the template package enough.

Some strings that used to work will no longer work because we changed the english text, causing you to have to add another entry for that edit.

As a refresher on the merge_langpacks tool:

I've just uploaded a 5.50rc21 template.

Then, I took (as an example) the Deutsch.ReaperLangPack linked from reaper.fm, download it, and ran:
Code:
merge_langpacks template_reaper550rc21.ReaperLangPack Deutsch.ReaperLangPack > Deutsch-new.ReaperLangPack
Once I did that, I loaded Deutsch-new.ReaperLangPack, which is functionally the same as Deutsch.ReaperLangPack, but organized with comments as to what are now obsolete vs newly added.

When doing this, it's safe (and preferable!) to leave the possibly-obsolete entries in, as older REAPER versions will still use them!

To update, you can either:
  • Look for the '######## added in template' lines in Deutsch-new.ReaperLangPack and uncomment+translate them
  • If you notice an english string in REAPER, search for that string in Deutsch-new.ReaperLangPack, and uncomment+translate.

Sorry if this is too verbose, just giving an example for reference:


If I search for "# added", an obvious and early instance of something new that needs to be translated is:
Code:
;FAFEDF2AD7647CED=Beat pattern:
This is in the metronome window, among other places... replace it with:
Code:
FAFEDF2AD7647CED=Schlagmuster:
(note removal of ; and apologies for my google translate use)

Save, restart REAPER, and boom.

The other route, if I go to prefs, Pfade, I see "Default path to save new projects:" is untranslated... so I look in Deutsch-new.ReaperLangPack and there it is, edit, uncomment, done.

Hope this helps!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 05:25 PM   #335
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Thanks Justin,

I have to say, that it's very kind of you to take the time to explain to me how translation works. But this wouldn't have been necessary, 'cos what you did describe is what I'm doing all the time.
I think we've misunderstood each other and I have to admit, I probably had 243 beer too much or so the other day in addition to the fact that English isn't my native language.

So I'll try to make things clearer, depicting some of the issues.

For instance, in the notation editor, there is no way to translate the menu items in submenu 'Default clef' that appears when clicking on the clef. When entering "Treble+bass" into the online string-calculator it results "1493D83730821EE9=Treble+bass". Since there are other submenus in this menu, it seems logical to me, to put the result of the online tool into the [midi] section of the langpack, where other submenu items of that menu reside, but to no avail. (BTW, same goes for submenu of 'Change clef' of course - it won't work either.)



Another issue is, that there is no way to change notations of notes.

Code:
[tag_note]
D8700B186B534A3B=B
;D86983186B4DF775=C#
;D865DB186B4AA426=D#
;D85BAA186B41FC5E=Gb
;D86FCA186B52DBC8=Ab
;08324707B4EB017A=A
08324607B4EAFFC7=H
;08324507B4EAFE14=C
;08324407B4EAFC61=D
;08324307B4EAFAAE=E
;08324207B4EAF8FB=F
;08324107B4EAF748=G
;08325B07B4EB2376=m
D86CA4186B50655F=Hb
;^D8659C186B4A3919=Db
;^D862B2186B4828A4=Eb
;^D85F0B186B44D708=F#
;^D85BEB186B426AD1=G#
As you can see, there are three notations that need to be changed for German: B -> H, Bb -> Hb and A# -> B. The hashcodes for untranslated entries are correct, But the submenu of the submenu 'Root' of menu item 'Change key signature' still show 'B', 'Bb' and 'A#' as second to fourth menu item, instead of 'H', 'Hb' and 'B'.



This also affects three menu items of the submenu 'Accidental' in [midi_MENU_140], where the entries of the [tag_note] block seem to be used in "69F0934C971CF9E0=Notate as %c%s".



The arrow-marked menu item should show 'H#' instead of 'B#'.
Also, it would be better for a translation into German to be able to exchange '%c' and '%s' in string 'Notate as %c%s', which should result in the string "Als natürliches C notieren (standard)" in the menu, but we get this:



Furthermore, I haven't a clue how to get the following submenu translated:



When, for example, you enter
Code:
+12 C     Piccolo, Xylophone
into the online calculator, it gives back
Code:
1445AE563B25A58D=+12 C Piccolo, Xylophone
(Note, that 4 of the 5 space chars between 'C' and 'Piccolo' are gone in the result!)
Using this result again in the calculator won't help (as I expected anyway).
I suspect, the whole submenu has to go into the [midi] block as well, so I tried to put it there; maybe that's wrong.

I did all this with langpack template 550rc21 and REAPER 5.50rc22, btw.


I hope, that makes some problems that I have with translating a bit clearer, but these aren't the only ones.

Anyway, thank you once again, Justin, for your time dealing with this!
It would be great to have a complete translation at some point.


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!

Last edited by Mr. Data; 09-07-2017 at 07:28 PM.
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 08:29 PM   #336
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,326
Default

Thanks Mr. Data, I will look through these (many of the strings above do need to be localized, which is why they are not in the template!).

Also I hope my explanation wasn't taken as condescending, I just wanted to make sure the use of the langpack merge tool was clear...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2017, 08:46 PM   #337
Mr. Data
Human being with feelings
 
Mr. Data's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Location
Posts: 5,211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Also I hope my explanation wasn't taken as condescending, I just wanted to make sure the use of the langpack merge tool was clear...
Not to worry, Justin. It wasn't.
I know, you just wanted to lend a helping hand.
And that's what I took it for.


-Data
__________________
German Language Pack for REAPER? Get it here!
Deutsche Sprachdatei für REAPER? Hier zu haben!
Mr. Data is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2017, 10:00 AM   #338
Phroneris
Human being with feelings
 
Phroneris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Data View Post
Hi Phroneris,

welcome to the Reaper forums!
There's absolutely no reason to get nervous!
Most of the people here are very kind and willing to help whenever they can.

I really don't know whether it's a Windows or a Reaper problem, but I reckon it might be the latter, 'cos inside the language packs themselves these problems occur in other languages like German, French or Polish as well, where special characters only used in these languages appear and these are shown faulty in some cases, although installation of the langpacks is no problem in these languages.

I'd propose to emphasize this problem as often as you can, so it gets resolved at some point. But regrettably localization isn't really high on the developers' agenda at the moment, so be patient!

However: great you're here!


-Data
I'm very happy to be welcomed!
Your kind response have really removed my concern.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Thanks! we will improve support for installing to paths that contain non-latin characters, as well as for AppData paths with such characters.

This will come in 5.51pre1, hopefully sometime in September!

Cheers,

Justin
OK, I'm looking forward that new version!
It's a really nice news for us. Thanks a lot.
__________________
日本語化パッチ (森) / Japanese LangPack by Phroneris: https://github.com/Phroneris/ReaperJPN-Phroneris
Phroneris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 02:06 AM   #339
ecl
Human being with feelings
 
ecl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 268
Default

Congratulations for All About 5.50 ¡¡¡¡¡

Do we start working translation using this template or is there going to be soon any other Update ?

THANKS ¡¡¡¡

https://www.landoleet.org/i8n/templa...ReaperLangPack
ecl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2017, 08:30 AM   #340
Phroneris
Human being with feelings
 
Phroneris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Japan
Posts: 3
Default

By the way, how does everyone compare one's langpack and the template when translating?
I had developed this Perl tool and have used it to arrange my Japanese langpack.
https://github.com/Phroneris/ReaperJ...ee/master/tool
This makes a langpack up-to-date and line-to-line with the newest template file... in exchange for backward compatibility and anticipated translations by the string calculator.
"Line-to-line" means it becomes easy to compare translated words with original strings by using suitable function of some text editor (e.g. Notepad++'s multiple view mode and scroll sync).
__________________
日本語化パッチ (森) / Japanese LangPack by Phroneris: https://github.com/Phroneris/ReaperJPN-Phroneris
Phroneris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.