Old 06-16-2017, 06:22 AM   #1
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,722
Default v5.50rc1 - June 15 2017

v5.50rc1 - June 15 2017
+ Actions: add action to reduce number of envelope points by half
+ Automation items: add automation item properties dialog
+ Automation items: add automation item support
+ Automation items: items mask the baseline envelope, but overlapping items all affect playback
+ Automation items: items may be pooled or unpooled, looped, and stretched
+ Automation items: properly glue overlapping automation items
+ Automation items: support separate baseline, amplitude, and looping for individual instances of pooled automation items
+ Envelopes menu: fix a few non-working send envelope menu items [t=190902]
+ Envelopes: add action to reverse envelope points
+ Envelopes: add mouse modifier to freehand draw envelope points respecting snap
+ Envelopes: add option to prevent mouse edits of single envelope points from moving past other envelope points
+ Envelopes: preserve envelope curvature during "move envelope segment preserving edge points" edit
+ Envelopes: preserve envelope curvature when moving points with media items, or within time selection
+ Envelopes: render curved segments at time selection edges when initiating envelope segment edit within time selection
+ FX: better support wet/bypass/VST3 parameter IDs for MIDI learn
+ FX: better support wet/bypass/VST3 parameter IDs for TCP knobs
+ FX: fix initial value when auto-adding envelope [t=192204]
+ FX: fix potential bugs relating to bypass/wet envelopes when loading automation and FX parameter counts changed
+ FX: fix undo behavior when reordering with automation [t=191588]
+ FX: fix undo behavior with TCP parameters and learn [p=1845984]
+ FX: fix undo point adding for parameter modulation settings
+ FX: use VST3 parameter IDs for tracking envelopes/parameter modulation across sessions
+ Grid: sanitize grid values on project load/entry [t=190108]
+ JSFX/ReaScript: improve display updates for some scripts
+ MIDI editor: restore keyboard focus to piano roll after changing CC lane via dropdown
+ MIDI: fix action to explode MIDI by pitch (and some related behaviors) [t=190905]
+ Metronome: support triplets in metronome pattern [t=192992]
+ Mouse modifiers: add actions to insert envelope point ignoring snap
+ Mouse modifiers: add envelope lane context, deprecate preference to respect envelope segment modifiers in envelope lane
+ Mouse modifiers: remove envelope lane click context, add envelope lane double-click context
+ Notation editor: fix PDF export when "bracket tracks by folder" option enabled [p=1844292]
+ Notation editor: handle click on track title exactly like a click on the activate icon in the MIDI track list
+ Spectrogram: preliminary spectral editing support, action to insert new edit regions
+ Transport: new option to flash transport status yellow on possible audio device underrun
+ VST3: IContextInfoHandler2/IContextInfoProvider2 support
+ VST3: improve call of bundleExit on macOS
+ VST: return correct return value on VST3 resizeView()
+ Windows: support receiving ASIO overload notifications
+ macOS: flash transport yellow when CoreAudio detects processor overload
+ mixer: improve drag and drop behavior on macOS [t=190761]


Full changelog - Latest pre-releases

Last edited by vitalker; 06-16-2017 at 06:49 AM.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 07:20 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,718
Default

Anything new compared to the last pre?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 07:31 AM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,156
Default

Only this I think:

Code:
+ Metronome: support triplets in metronome pattern [t=192992]
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 07:45 AM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,718
Default

Cool. Here's your first bug then: click source item doesn't show the triplets at all in its waveform. Just a regular, single tick
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 08:04 AM   #5
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 295
Default

Quick question: Will the spectral editing feature be part of 5.50?
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 08:12 AM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,718
Default

Spectral editing is already implemented in Reaper?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 08:27 AM   #7
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 295
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Spectral editing is already implemented in Reaper?
Editing not viewing? In 5.40?
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 08:31 AM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,718
Default

Well at least in this latest RC I see it available in the media item context menu... Sorry, yeah. I meant this RC.

+ Spectrogram: preliminary spectral editing support, action to insert new edit regions
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 08:36 AM   #9
Luster
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 295
Default

Ah yeah. Thanks. Was reading to fast. :-)
Luster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 08:36 AM   #10
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,718
Default

@schwa: If I have actions for changing the peak waveform view assigned to 4 toolbar buttons, let's say I'm in regular peaks mode... now I add a spectral edit to an item, it goes to combined peaks/spectrum view, but the toolbar buttons don't refresh their state.

I assume this is because those buttons change the peaks view for ALL items. Is there any way to make a second set of actions that would do this for currently selected items? Or make these actions update their state on toolbars DEPENDING on selected items?
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 08:51 AM   #11
Embass
Human being with feelings
 
Embass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 292
Default

Reaper crashes when i try to move first underlying envelope point.

https://goo.gl/XAVMQa

Reaper crashes when i try to move first AI point.

https://goo.gl/4dUMVg

Sometimes reaper crashes when i use 'reduce number of points' action.

https://goo.gl/nXHgTP

Reaper project: https://goo.gl/cpN8bn

Overlapping lines when i use these actions..

Envelopes: Move selected points left/right a little bit
Envelopes: Move selected points left/right by grid
Item edit: Move items/envelope points left/right
Item edit: Move items/envelope points left/right by grid size

https://goo.gl/AkN2yr
Embass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 10:05 AM   #12
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 421
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Embass View Post
Reaper crashes when i try to move first underlying envelope point.

https://goo.gl/XAVMQa

Reaper crashes when i try to move first AI point.

https://goo.gl/4dUMVg

Sometimes reaper crashes when i use 'reduce number of points' action.

https://goo.gl/nXHgTP

Reaper project: https://goo.gl/cpN8bn

Overlapping lines when i use these actions..

Envelopes: Move selected points left/right a little bit
Envelopes: Move selected points left/right by grid
Item edit: Move items/envelope points left/right
Item edit: Move items/envelope points left/right by grid size

https://goo.gl/AkN2yr
Can confirm all of these, and was just writing up the crash ones. Too slow
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts twice a week or more.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2017, 11:03 AM   #13
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,156
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Embass View Post
Reaper crashes
Sorry about that! The bug was introduced in the last pre. Fixing!

.. crash bugs should be fixed in rc2, which is now up.

Last edited by schwa; 06-16-2017 at 01:51 PM.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2017, 07:08 AM   #14
reapercurious
Human being with feelings
 
reapercurious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,617
Default

could automation items have their own FX chain windows? i want them to basically behave like DC audio clips. that way you could use ReaEq to run a low pass filter over modulations, or generate automation using a ring modulator.

FX for automation items is inevitable. So, rather than go into the territory where you're stuck with a proprietary method of filtering automation values, maybe it would be advantageous to build in a little rectifying converter so the user can either straight up generate automation or filter their modulation using ReaComp, ReaEq, or any other third party vst.

So instead of zillions of LUA scripts, just toss in a rectifying algorithm and let people use any plugin they want to freak with their automation items the same way they freak with the much more complex audio waveforms. automation is a dumbed down, rectified audio signal. (basically CV, albeit "MSEG"'d aka vectored)

thanks awesome.
__________________
a legitimate question is one that the asker does not know the answer to.
reapercurious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.