Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-25-2017, 12:31 PM   #681
funkcity
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 32
Default Playtime Question

What I'm looking for is an all-in-one-box editor and play-on play-off button-actuated clip player. I may have as many as 40 play-on/off live cues for live awards presentations. A hardware box that works is called Instant Replay.
But the editing in no way rivals a DAW like Reaper.

Function would be simply: import audio to the reaper track, edit, eq and level adjust. Then assign this clip to a button on the screen. (Also, assigning to hardware buttons for live is always better if possible.)

Any Thoughts?
Thanks
Jay
funkcity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2017, 03:31 PM   #682
themixtape
Human being with feelings
 
themixtape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 409
Default

VID clips question....

How to trigger them so they lock and loop? When I trigger a 20 second clip, unless i hold the midi key, it stops to the beat.... any help would be greatly appreciated!
themixtape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2017, 09:19 PM   #683
RustyP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 4
Default Help for visually impaired Reapers

Hi Ben,
First of all, thanks so much for your hard work on this project!
As a blind creator, I would love to be able to use Playtime.
I use Reaper with the addition of an extension called Osara and it gives blind users access with a screen reader, and the ability to use most functions in Reaper.
I know that there are many of us who would like the ability to launch clips ETC.
I would personally love to use reaper and PlayTime as a live looper and play clips and loops along with my live playing.

anyway, I just wanted to mention that there are a few of us interested, and exploring PlayTime to see what suggestions we can make to make it possible for us to use PlayTime.

thanks so much!
Rusty
RustyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2017, 08:24 PM   #684
RustyP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Southern California
Posts: 4
Default interacting with PlayTime from outside the playtime window

Hi folks,
@PitchSlap and @Helgoboss,

@PitchSlap, I would really love to use Playtime as a live looper. How are you efforts coming on this front?

I happen to be blind. I can use Reaper just fine with my screen reader, but the Playtime window is unaccessible with the extention that makes Reaper accessible.
However, since so many aspects of PT are able to be controlled by midi, I think it could be possible to use without interacting with the interface at this point.

Pitchslap, have you been able to improve the midi learn functions for Playtime from outside of Playtime? How is this done? Can i set up a button to select and activate a slot, record in to that slot, play and stop that slot?



I am really excited about using Playtime because I love using Reaper.

thanks all!
Rusty
RustyP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2017, 10:27 PM   #685
jesussaddle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 127
Default

Wow, I didn't know this plugin existed. Once I learn Reaper better I would like to try it; thanks for your work!
jesussaddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017, 06:15 PM   #686
JoeMadBro
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 15
Default

I'm looking at options to get the most out of my novation launchpad and this is recommended as the best option from what I've seen.

I am a pretty big noob when it comes to any of this, so please bare with me.

I'm not quite sure if this application really fits what I am trying to do with it. My goal is to use my launch pad as more or less, a soundboard. When I press a pad, I want it to play a sound and be done, and if I press the same pad before the clip finishes I'd like it to start over right when I press the pad. I want to be able to play multiple at the same time, and I would ideally like to be able to stop them all at the push of a button on the launchpad.

I am filling the slots(?) with one track that contains all the sound clips I want to use that are all loaded into a ReaSamplOmatic. When I double click the slot I can assign the specific sound clip i want in the Midi Take menu that opens up. Once I do this and assign the slot to a pad, when I press the pad It'll keep looping. I can turn Midi toggle mode to off, then it will not loop, but then it won't reset the track when I press the pad again.

Am I able to assign functions like stop all active sounds? Or go to next page of sound clips?

I hope I am making sense in this post, I would love for this application to be what I am looking for, because the interface is more user friendly than the ReaSamplOmatic for assigning the pads.

Thanks
JoeMadBro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2017, 03:48 AM   #687
alanofoz
Human being with feelings
 
alanofoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oz - Blue Mountains NSW, formerly Geelong
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeMadBro View Post
...so please bare with me...
But I hardly know you!!

But bear up, I'm sure someone will provide a sensible answer soon!




(Sorry - I couldn't resist, especially when such a little typo provides a whole new meaning )
__________________
bunyipmusic.com
alanofoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 11:58 PM   #688
Cloudswim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 53
Default

Anyone having trouble downloading the software??
Cloudswim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 11:45 AM   #689
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 14
Default

I bought Playtime this past May and have been enjoying it, but I would strongly recommend you add the follow actions to the clips.

It would make a good program significantly better!

(Ableton users know how useful those follow actions are!)
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2017, 10:05 PM   #690
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael AD View Post
I would strongly recommend you add the follow actions

(Ableton users know how useful those follow actions are!)
What "follow actions" ??? (Non-Ableton users don't know what you are talking about.)

-Michael (just lurking right now)
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2017, 06:26 AM   #691
Michael AD
Human being with feelings
 
Michael AD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Hackensack
Posts: 14
Default

Here's a good explanation of follow actions:
https://ask.audio/articles/ableton-l...ow-action-tips
Michael AD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2017, 04:31 AM   #692
boonier
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 6
Default OSX 64 bit or 32 bit?

Hi, just trying this out in OSX.

Am I right in thinking that it only works in Reaper 64 bit, as the 32 bit wants to open the Playtime plugin in bridged mode?

Is there a 32 bit version of the Playtime VST?

thanks
boonier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2017, 07:20 AM   #693
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 204
Default portable version ?

Hi helgoboss,
what about a portable version of Playtime?
I would like to pay for Playtime, but it is not suitable for my workflow as it is now (installed in system).

akademie
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2017, 09:16 AM   #694
rcl
Human being with feelings
 
rcl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Bahia,Brazil
Posts: 587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Hi helgoboss,
what about a portable version of Playtime?
I would like to pay for Playtime, but it is not suitable for my workflow as it is now (installed in system).

akademie
I have a licence but simply adding it to my portable reaper would be awesome.
__________________
We didnt jump the fence because the grass was greener. We jumped it because it was a fence.
https://scrubbingmonkeys.bandcamp.com/
rcl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2017, 03:16 PM   #695
helgoboss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 198
Default

Released Playtime 1.13.0

Changes:
#277 Added support for controller Launchpad MK2
#276 Added support for controller APC40 MK2
#205 Added support for controller APC mini
#275 Added support for controller Launchpad Mini (very similar to Launchpad mode but upper buttons are used as group stop buttons - can also be used as alternate mode for Launchpad)
#268 Added support for surround recordings (maximum 16 channels, recording track input and output supported)
#228 Improved support for controller APC40 by using bank select buttons for scrolling
#271 Fixed non-working note-off messages when triggering from MIDI channels > 1
#270 Fixed non-working 'Play clips with arrangement' if REAPER option 'VST > Don't flush synthesizer plug-ins on stop/reset' enabled
#265 Fixed bug that caused Playtime to record audio clip instead of MIDI clip if the very first MIDI input was chosen

Note: From today, Playtime licenses will be sold by my reseller Share-it® instead of by myself. This means you will have more payment methods than just PayPal.

Last edited by helgoboss; 09-20-2017 at 03:18 PM. Reason: Fixed version number
helgoboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:02 PM   #696
Piszpan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helgoboss View Post
Released
Changes:
#277 Added support for controller Launchpad MK2
Does this mean matching colours between Playtime clips and Launchpad Mk2 pads?
Piszpan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 03:31 PM   #697
helgoboss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Piszpan View Post
Does this mean matching colours between Playtime clips and Launchpad Mk2 pads?
No, just correct pad, light and navigation button mapping.
helgoboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 04:52 PM   #698
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 143
Default

Thanks for the update Benjamin!!

I've found a weird problem. Your new APC mini support is missing the group stop buttons, so I tried to MIDI learn them, but notes 64,65,66 and 67 are not recognised. Playtime continues to show the red button with the 'L'. Selecting 'Generic' or any other Connected Controller allows these notes to be learned.

Also, Playtime can cause Reaper to crash. Add Playtime to an empty track, add any other plugin before Playtime to the same track, then remove it. Reaper crashes.

Last edited by ThrashJazzAssassin; 09-21-2017 at 04:59 PM.
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 02:35 AM   #699
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrashJazzAssassin View Post
Also, Playtime can cause Reaper to crash. Add Playtime to an empty track, add any other plugin before Playtime to the same track, then remove it. Reaper crashes.
Ok so this isn't happening with a fresh install of the latest beta, but happens every time with my very customised 5.50c/x64. Must be a setting somewhere...

Last edited by ThrashJazzAssassin; 09-22-2017 at 03:27 AM.
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 02:44 AM   #700
helgoboss
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 198
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrashJazzAssassin View Post
Thanks for the update Benjamin!!

I've found a weird problem. Your new APC mini support is missing the group stop buttons, so I tried to MIDI learn them, but notes 64,65,66 and 67 are not recognised. Playtime continues to show the red button with the 'L'. Selecting 'Generic' or any other Connected Controller allows these notes to be learned.

Also, Playtime can cause Reaper to crash. Add Playtime to an empty track, add any other plugin before Playtime to the same track, then remove it. Reaper crashes.
I haven't assigned those round buttons as group stop buttons because they don't look like they are supposed to stop groups. The first 4 buttons have arrow symbols so I assigned them to act as navigation buttons. That's also the reason why they are not available for MIDI learn. The last 4 buttons are not assigned.

That means group stopping works like on the Launchpad: Press another unassigned pad in the column and it will stop the group.

I could offer an alternative template where the round buttons act as group stop buttons - but then you would lose the ability to navigate (in case you have more than 8x8 slots).

Quote:
Originally Posted by ThrashJazzAssassin View Post
Ok so this isn't happening with a fresh install of the latest beta, but happens every time with my very customised 5.50c/x64. Must be a setting somewhere...
Could you send me the REAPER.ini (info@helgoboss.org)? I've already fixed a bunch of non-working things with non-default REAPER settings, I'm happy to fix another one

Cheers
Ben
helgoboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2017, 03:46 AM   #701
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by helgoboss View Post
The first 4 buttons have arrow symbols so I assigned them to act as navigation buttons.
Oh... OOooh I didn't realise it could do that. I love it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by helgoboss View Post
Could you send me the REAPER.ini (info@helgoboss.org)? I've already fixed a bunch of non-working things with non-default REAPER settings, I'm happy to fix another one
So to test some more, I installed a fresh 550c and copied my reaper.ini to it. No crashing. I'll try copying over some more ini's and see what happens.

Thanks

EDIT: It's my reaper-menu.ini :/ Email sent
EDIT2: I fixed it by removing the toolbar button 'show playtime'. It used to be an action in the actions list.

Last edited by ThrashJazzAssassin; 09-22-2017 at 04:33 AM.
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.