Old 07-14-2017, 11:14 AM   #281
storyteller
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Disclaimer: This may be irrelevant


Is that used for an orange colour on OSX? If so, then the 6 hexadecimal digits are interpreted as BBGGRR. On Windows they will be interpreted as RRGGBB (cyan):



The hex for that orange on Windows would be "0xf2c100".

I have never worked out what happens when you transfer an image from Windows to OSX or vice versa.
Thats what I needed to know! Thanks. The colors are the correct two colors in question, but in reverse on the operating systems. The hex color produces the cyan color in OSX, but produces the orange color in windows. But thanks for the feedback! I should be able to add the fix now in the next update! Much appreciated!

Jonathan
storyteller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 11:59 AM   #282
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 7,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by storyteller View Post
Cool, I see you have a number of VST3i plugins showing up in the list. Are you saying that when you select them, they do not show up as an inserted instrument in Reaper?
Well, they don't show up in OTR so there is nothing to select ... by contrast, they do show up in the regular Reaper, and work fine there (except for Play, but that is a different story).

I really don't understand this, because I think you didn't change anything to alter the way Reaper reads VSTs, did you?
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 01:57 PM   #283
storyteller
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by peter5992 View Post
Well, they don't show up in OTR so there is nothing to select ... by contrast, they do show up in the regular Reaper, and work fine there (except for Play, but that is a different story).

I really don't understand this, because I think you didn't change anything to alter the way Reaper reads VSTs, did you?
Nothing has been modified in Reaper at all... OTR is just a work environment created for everyone to use. Have you tried copying/pasting your VST folder list from the install of Reaper that they appear correctly back into your OTR installation of Reaper and refreshing your VST list?

Also, when your plugins are scanned, the list is stored in your parent Reaper folder's reaper-vstplugins64.ini file. If you tried the above step and it is not working, can you see if they are showing up in the list there?
storyteller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 05:07 PM   #284
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 7,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by storyteller View Post
Nothing has been modified in Reaper at all... OTR is just a work environment created for everyone to use. Have you tried copying/pasting your VST folder list from the install of Reaper that they appear correctly back into your OTR installation of Reaper and refreshing your VST list?

Also, when your plugins are scanned, the list is stored in your parent Reaper folder's reaper-vstplugins64.ini file. If you tried the above step and it is not working, can you see if they are showing up in the list there?
1. Yes, I copied and pasted my VST path folder from my regular Reaper, to OTR.

2. I searched for reaper-vstplugins64.ini file, and I found three different versions on my computer.

There's a complicating factor here: one of the Reaper forum members, Hopi, sent me a modified version of OTR with a workaround for the track coloring issues. I now have 3 versions of Reaper: the original Reaper, OTR, and OTR Hopi.

It could be that that is causing all kinds of conflicts and errors ... including some weird shit involving Play crashing.
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 01:12 AM   #285
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,598
Default

Just to double-check: are these enabled?



PS The interior of that arrow is Red "00" (0), Green "F2" (242), Blue "C1" (193) here on Windows - it is a cyan colour. What do you see on OSX?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 07:07 AM   #286
storyteller
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Just to double-check: are these enabled?



PS The interior of that arrow is Red "00" (0), Green "F2" (242), Blue "C1" (193) here on Windows - it is a cyan colour. What do you see on OSX?
I see cyan as well in your pic. Images will be the same color across platforms. In theory, hex colors should be as well (like when you program a website and use HEX colors) which is why i used HEX colors in the OTR color defaults palette. Even in Reaper, themes, saved track templates, etc all save colors uniformly across the different OS versions. It seems to be only when calling the SetTrackColor() function in reascript that it wants to take a hex color and do as you described by flipping around the RGB colors. That's why I wonder if it is a bug of some sort. Is it reading it correctly? Probably. But the question for me is should Reaper know the differences in OS and read the colors uniformly when the function is called. The color *should be* cyan. That is a universal HEX color. But, the reascript function on Windows reads it as you describe it and colors it orange.
storyteller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 11:54 AM   #287
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 16,598
Default

I've just seen this in the API Doc
Quote:
SetTrackColor(MediaTrack track, int color)
Set the custom track color, color is OS dependent (i.e. ColorToNative(r,g,b).
I'll guess that settrackcolor() uses RRGGBB and on OSX it needs to be converted the the native format first. Or something similar.

PS Have you got those 2 VST3 menu items ticked?
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. Inspired by ...

My top 40 FRs, as voted by you (updated for August 2016)
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 01:33 PM   #288
peter5992
Human being with feelings
 
peter5992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 7,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Just to double-check: are these enabled?


Thanks ... yes, everything is checked, including VST3 and VST3i. Only thing not checked is VST folders.
peter5992 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 09:52 PM   #289
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,317
Default

I have found over time that now and then I have go into the pref's for vst and use Add and point directly at the plugin in question...

usually reaper will pick up whatever is in my several vst folders [VST 32, VST 64, VST 3, VST] ...but not always...

so try pointing directly at the pluging and see what ya get
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 10:30 AM   #290
storyteller
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 120
Default

For those following this post on the color issue, changes have been made and were sent to hopi and peter for follow-up testing. If all looks good, it will be included in the next update for everyone. Thanks to Darkstar for pointing out the issue.

For those curious about the technical fix, the solution was to wrap each HEX color from the OTR Defaults file in a function that checked the user's operating system, and if it was windows, it would reorganize the order of the hex string before coloring the track to the way the operating system decodes the order of the colors (e.g. RRGGBB vs BBGGRR).

Thanks again to all that helped identify the issue!

Jonathan
storyteller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2017, 01:59 PM   #291
storyteller
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 120
Default

Just wanted to place an update here that v1.04 was just emailed out to all OTR users. It contains the fix for the color issue in the Windows version of OTR that has been touched upon in this thread.
storyteller is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.