Old 06-25-2017, 06:05 PM   #1
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default No 'stereo' in monitors

when I pan the Master panning hard lt and rt. - The volume decreases (by 1/2) and doesn't 'go' 'back and forth' between speakers?!?!?!?
Presonus Project studio (L/R Main outs straight to the monitors)
Yamaha HS80's.
So weird.
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 07:45 AM   #2
Ianuarius
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 30
Default

Hey Jim!

I think that for some reason you are getting a mono signal out since the symptoms you describe are exactly what would happen with mono.

One simple explanation is that you might have the "Mono" button active on the Master track (check my attachment). Deactivating it would in that case fix the problem.
Attached Images
File Type: png master mono.PNG (8.0 KB, 38 views)
Ianuarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 08:50 AM   #3
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,286
Default

Why are you reposting this?!?

I tried to help in your other thread. You didn't respond to any of it.

Now you'll get all the same stuff in this thread.

Will you try any of it? Will you respond at all to this one, or just open another thread next week?
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 06:04 PM   #4
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default sorry

Life got in the way for a week or so. No mono buttons are on- including the master. My Yamaha HS80's are connected to the Main Outs on my Presonus interface.
I cannot find any settings with Audio settings in Reaper or my 2010 MacPook Pro that would make the Output "not stereo".
Hmmmmmmm
Again, sorry for the late reply
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 07:12 AM   #5
martifingers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,250
Default

Hi. Are you using the Presonus Universal Driver software? If so I think that may be a place to look.
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 07:37 PM   #6
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default not studio one

thank u
I checked thru those settings also.
still searching
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.

Last edited by JimDrums4Life; 07-15-2017 at 07:57 PM.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 09:13 AM   #7
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,570
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrums4Life View Post
thank u
I checked thru those settings also.
still searching
Can you attach a little .RPP project file to a post, so we can check if anything in the project looks like out of the ordinary?

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=140670
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 10:20 AM   #8
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default proj file attached

rpp file attached.
Not sure if you need it or not, but I couldn't upload the song mp3.

"Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing.
If this occurred unexpectedly, please inform the administrator and describe the action you performed before you received this error."

If you need the song file, but it the 'no stereo problem' happens with any song, so you could plug anything in to the project.

Thank you all for your help! Love Reaper and the people that use it!
Attached Files
File Type: rpp Why no stereo.RPP (2.5 KB, 20 views)
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.

Last edited by JimDrums4Life; 07-16-2017 at 10:26 AM.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 01:17 PM   #9
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,621
Default

Had a quick check on my windows machine with a random imported mp3 file and no apparent issues. I will be unearthing my mac mini later this week for another mac project so I will check that too. Hopefully someone else will have responded before that though
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 02:33 AM   #10
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,570
Default

OK, I also did a quick test on both Windows and OSX. And also no apparent issues here with importing a random stereo file into your project and panning the Master Track hard left or right ...


Just to clarify:

- How exactly do you pan the Master Track?
- And have you already checked if the problem is the same when monitoring through headphones (connected to the Presnus Project Studio)?
solger is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 06:17 PM   #11
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default Tested Headphones

I simply Pan the Master Track fader back n forth.

When I plugged my headphones in to the headphone Out jack on the Interface, the Same result- no panning the master L or R (just cuts volume in 1/2).

I changed my Audio Device to my laptop (MacBP) and plugged in the 1/4" jack to it----- STEREO results (pans like it should)!

So it's either in my presonus Firestudio project interface, or in Reaper.
Trying to look at Presonus' shitty on line help (for an old product).
Will make sure the Interface didn't fizzle by swapping with my other one to see if it does the same thing.
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.

Last edited by JimDrums4Life; 08-14-2017 at 06:24 PM.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2017, 10:39 PM   #12
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 387
Default

Hi, I'm using a FireStudio Project (FSP) with Reaper and have had this issues - pan not working. Make sure that Presonus Univeral control (UA) is set up correctly - open it up and check the pan and levels. If nothing in UA is wonky, try opening a new reaper project (without any templates etc.) and check if it's working there. I've had success just copying the items to a new project - but don't actually know whats been going wrong with the panning/stereo (other than not working as expected).

Out of curiosity and not related to this - what latency are getting with the FSP?

-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2017, 05:20 PM   #13
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 38
Default Fixed!

This is the dumbest thing ever. In Presonuses interface pkg, you download Studio One. I have never used it and, for some reason, it was the cause.
I saw this on a forum and tried it. It worked.

"I also have experienced the same one just yesterday after I checked "Universal Control" for headphone outputs.

Try this

1)Go to Application > Universal Control
2)Turn OFF Main Output(Daw1-2)
Then you can hear STEREO

or

2')Turn ON Main Output(Daw1-2)
3)Change the pan of track 11 to Left(or Right) and Track 12 to Right (or Left)
Then you can hear STEREO

Good luck!
*Computer
iMac ME087J/A(Late2013)
CPU : 2.9GHz Intel Core i5 Quad Core
Memory : 512GB(SSD)
RAM : 16GB, 1,600MHz DDR3
OS : 10.9.5
*DAW
S1 Professional V3
*Audio I/F
Presonus FIRESTUDIO mobile
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 12:42 AM   #14
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,621
Default

Studio One - the gift that just keeps on giving!

I escaped at version 2.6.5 and it isn't even on my hard drives any more. I have a quad core i7-4770 which struggled to run S!-2 without hovering dangerously near 99% cpu on even relatively simple projects.
Shame.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.