Old 07-10-2017, 07:59 AM   #1
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default Item envelope action not the same as automation action?

I'm trying so when I click an items envelope it deselect the points, but isn't working as item envelopes don't seem to work the same as automation envelopes. I'm having trouble deselecting item envelope points without a workaround of using a shift+click action and adding a point and deleting it. Any ideas how to force reaper to treat the automation envelopes and the item envelopes with the same actions/modifiers?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 08:30 AM   #2
brynolf
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 71
Default

You probably have to manually give them the same settings in Mouse modifiers
brynolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 08:48 AM   #3
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 6,917
Default

Not sure if it helps, but for unselection all points of an automation envelope I mainly use the 'draw a tiny empty rectangle trick' (with right-click drag).

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...51&postcount=9

This also works for item envelopes (the envelope needs to be 'in focus' for this though).

nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 09:00 AM   #4
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nofish View Post
Not sure if it helps, but for unselection all points of an automation envelope I mainly use the 'draw a tiny empty rectangle trick' (with right-click drag).

https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...51&postcount=9

This also works for item envelopes (the envelope needs to be 'in focus' for this though).

Here's an example of me selecting points, clicking the envelope twice and it not deselecting the points, then using my mouse modifier to add a point, deleting it and thus deselecting the points:

And yet, this is my mouse modifier:
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 09:01 AM   #5
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brynolf View Post
You probably have to manually give them the same settings in Mouse modifiers
Yeah, but where are the item envelope modifiers? As you can see in the second image I posted, I have this set up:
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2017, 01:38 PM   #6
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Is there a different section I'm missing for the envelope actions/modifiers related to items instead of lanes?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 10:18 AM   #7
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Any suggestions from the ReapMmunity?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 10:30 AM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

There are no separate mouse modifier settings for item envelopes. They are all based of regular envelope modifiers, however since these are on an item, some areas of the item bleed through instead. Can't really have it both ways.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2017, 11:59 AM   #9
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
There are no separate mouse modifier settings for item envelopes. They are all based of regular envelope modifiers, however since these are on an item, some areas of the item bleed through instead. Can't really have it both ways.
So, when I click on the envelope and it doesn't deselect the points as stipulated in my setup, what does it think it's doing instead?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2017, 03:48 AM   #10
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Has anyone else manages to get this working?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 01:16 AM   #11
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
There are no separate mouse modifier settings for item envelopes. They are all based of regular envelope modifiers, however since these are on an item, some areas of the item bleed through instead. Can't really have it both ways.
Which part would be "bleeding through" in this case?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 01:39 AM   #12
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

Anything that is not the envelope line itself bleeds through to item context, I think - so in that case Envelope lane context doesn't apply for item envelopes, at all. Not 100% sure.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 12:22 AM   #13
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Anything that is not the envelope line itself bleeds through to item context, I think - so in that case Envelope lane context doesn't apply for item envelopes, at all. Not 100% sure.
As you see in my example ( sorry the cursor is offset, licecap doesn't like hidpi) there's nothin else on the items besides a volume envelope, so does that mean that we kinda really do need seperate item envelope modifiers?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 04:48 AM   #14
Macc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 31
Default

Best I've found is 'Envelope: unselect all points'. I've set it to double click on envelope segment in the mouse mods, and to U on the keyboard. Does the job. Sometimes I want the envelope selection retained while doing something with the item, so it does.
Macc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 08:41 AM   #15
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Macc View Post
Best I've found is 'Envelope: unselect all points'. I've set it to double click on envelope segment in the mouse mods, and to U on the keyboard. Does the job. Sometimes I want the envelope selection retained while doing something with the item, so it does.
Which settings are these? Can you show me a screenshot?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 05:34 AM   #16
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Okay, how about if I click ANYWHERE that isn't an envelope point with shift held, it deselects all points. That's all I really want.
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 06:13 AM   #17
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
Which settings are these? Can you show me a screenshot?
Just search for that action in the Actions list, then bind that action to the keyboard letter of your choice. Easy. Also you can assign it to double-click in mouse modifiers, as Macc explained - choose Envelope segment context, and double click. Then you can assign that same action there.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 06:15 AM   #18
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
As you see in my example ( sorry the cursor is offset, licecap doesn't like hidpi) there's nothin else on the items besides a volume envelope, so does that mean that we kinda really do need seperate item envelope modifiers?
No, we don't, because the item can contain other things that can get in the way: fade in/out handles, stretch markers, for example. So no matter that those things aren't seen/used in your screenshot, that doesn't mean that area is not reserved to ensure proper functionality of those same things.

Item envelope really can only be influenced by mouse when you click directly on it - either a point or a segment. Outside of it is all reserved for item itself and other objects that can be on it, as mentioned above. I would take this as a fact and live with it.


What you could do, for example, is make a custom action that has these two in it:

Item: Select item under mouse cursor
Envelope: unselect all points

Then use that custom action as default action for Media item left click mouse modifier.


This way every time you click on the item itself you will have envelope points deselected.



What I actually use is this action:

SWS: Unselect all items/tracks/env points (depending on focus)

bound to Shift+A. Works just fine.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:00 AM   #19
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
No, we don't, because the item can contain other things that can get in the way: fade in/out handles, stretch markers, for example. So no matter that those things aren't seen/used in your screenshot, that doesn't mean that area is not reserved to ensure proper functionality of those same things.

Item envelope really can only be influenced by mouse when you click directly on it - either a point or a segment. Outside of it is all reserved for item itself and other objects that can be on it, as mentioned above. I would take this as a fact and live with it.


What you could do, for example, is make a custom action that has these two in it:

Item: Select item under mouse cursor
Envelope: unselect all points

Then use that custom action as default action for Media item left click mouse modifier.


This way every time you click on the item itself you will have envelope points deselected.



What I actually use is this action:

SWS: Unselect all items/tracks/env points (depending on focus)

bound to Shift+A. Works just fine.
Okay, I'm playing with the custom action script. Seems like that'll work, but is there no simple action for "if points become unfocused"? So, no matter when you click in reaper, if it isn't on an envelope point, all points will be deselected? That would be a much cleaner way of having all envelope points deselected without having to specify each and every mouse click to deactivate them (not that you can select a custom action for every mouse click type)
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:06 AM   #20
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
No, we don't, because the item can contain other things that can get in the way: fade in/out handles, stretch markers, for example. So no matter that those things aren't seen/used in your screenshot, that doesn't mean that area is not reserved to ensure proper functionality of those same things.

Item envelope really can only be influenced by mouse when you click directly on it - either a point or a segment. Outside of it is all reserved for item itself and other objects that can be on it, as mentioned above. I would take this as a fact and live with it.


What you could do, for example, is make a custom action that has these two in it:

Item: Select item under mouse cursor
Envelope: unselect all points

Then use that custom action as default action for Media item left click mouse modifier.


This way every time you click on the item itself you will have envelope points deselected.



What I actually use is this action:

SWS: Unselect all items/tracks/env points (depending on focus)

bound to Shift+A. Works just fine.
This might have worked if deselect envelope points was an action, not a reset mouse modifier:
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:07 AM   #21
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

You're in the wrong context for mouse modifiers. You need to be at Item, not Track. You also used wrong actions in the custom action. I gave you the exact action names you need to use!

Quote:
Originally Posted by StuhRAH View Post
Okay, I'm playing with the custom action script. Seems like that'll work, but is there no simple action for "if points become unfocused"? So, no matter when you click in reaper, if it isn't on an envelope point, all points will be deselected? That would be a much cleaner way of having all envelope points deselected without having to specify each and every mouse click to deactivate them (not that you can select a custom action for every mouse click type)
The actions I mentioned WILL always deselect envelope points whenever you click on an item. But only when you click on an item. It doesn't have to be a regular click, you can put it on Ctrl+click, or whatever else.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:10 AM   #22
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
You're in the wrong context for mouse modifiers. You need to be at Item, not Track. You also used wrong actions in the custom action. I gave you the exact action names you need to use!
This doesn't deselect item envelope points, as I've said:
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:13 AM   #23
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
You're in the wrong context for mouse modifiers. You need to be at Item, not Track. You also used wrong actions in the custom action. I gave you the exact action names you need to use!
Yes, I can do this too:
but I still want to deselect the points when clicking outside of a media item.
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:16 AM   #24
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

This works, except it deselects the track too:
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:20 AM   #25
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

What I really need is this:

without the track being unselected.
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:21 AM   #26
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

Easy, use SWS actions to save/restore track selection. You can do the same with item selection. First use the save actions, before these ones, then add restore actions at the end.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:29 AM   #27
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Easy, use SWS actions to save/restore track selection. You can do the same with item selection. First use the save actions, before these ones, then add restore actions at the end.
Okay, these seem to work! Not sure why it's still moving the edit cursor now, even though I took it out of both actions:


StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 03:41 AM   #28
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Easy, use SWS actions to save/restore track selection. You can do the same with item selection. First use the save actions, before these ones, then add restore actions at the end.
Why does this move my edit cursor?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 04:12 AM   #29
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

Some actions move it, some don't. SWS also has actions to save/restore edit cursor position, so use them!

You should also add save/restore item selection actions to that custom action.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 05:11 AM   #30
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Some actions move it, some don't. SWS also has actions to save/restore edit cursor position, so use them!

You should also add save/restore item selection actions to that custom action.
I actually tried to use SWS save restore but it didnt seem to work.
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 05:49 AM   #31
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

Try SWS/BR variant of the action instead.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 06:16 AM   #32
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Try SWS/BR variant of the action instead.
'fraid not:
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 06:41 AM   #33
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,730
Default

Not much else there can be done there, then.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 07:13 AM   #34
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Not much else there can be done there, then.
Why isn't it recalling the cursor position?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 07:35 AM   #35
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,522
Default

The SWS actions might have had their functionality broken by recent updates, though I didn't notice this last I used actions that relied on them.

You need the store actions right at the beginning of your script/ custom action and the recall/restore right at the end. It won't work if you can't "sandwich" the business part of the process with these action pairs. You might want to use a simple example to eliminate other factors first, or solicit help specifically on your scripts/actions. Don't forget there is an "undo edit cursor move" action, too...



>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 08:01 AM   #36
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
The SWS actions might have had their functionality broken by recent updates, though I didn't notice this last I used actions that relied on them.

You need the store actions right at the beginning of your script/ custom action and the recall/restore right at the end. It won't work if you can't "sandwich" the business part of the process with these action pairs. You might want to use a simple example to eliminate other factors first, or solicit help specifically on your scripts/actions. Don't forget there is an "undo edit cursor move" action, too...



>
Thanks, I tried this and it didn't work, and undo was quite good, but caused a bit of a jitter and it did a double undo depending on if I clicked an item or not. Is this done wrong?


StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 01:25 PM   #37
StuhRAH
Human being with feelings
 
StuhRAH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 98
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
The SWS actions might have had their functionality broken by recent updates, though I didn't notice this last I used actions that relied on them.

You need the store actions right at the beginning of your script/ custom action and the recall/restore right at the end. It won't work if you can't "sandwich" the business part of the process with these action pairs. You might want to use a simple example to eliminate other factors first, or solicit help specifically on your scripts/actions. Don't forget there is an "undo edit cursor move" action, too...



>
Can you confirm you've been able to use save/load edit cursor position in an action with a mouse modifier?
StuhRAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.