Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2017, 04:53 PM   #1
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,179
Default Default_5.0_@2x Reaper Theme for HiDPI screens

v5.34pre releases include experimental functionality for the first steps towards Windows 8.1+ HiDPI support, and MacOS Retina support in Reaper.
Here is a rebuild of the Default 5.0 theme, for testing with that functionality.

edit: updated on Feb 15th 2017

Test with 5.34pre7 or later!

http://landoleet.org/dev/Default_5.0...ReaperThemeZip
  • Install the theme.
  • On Windows: Options > Preferences > General > Advanced UI/system tweaks > HiDPI mode. Restart REAPER.
  • Options > Themes > select Default_5.0_hidpi.

Its currently just the standard sized layouts, and has been produced for 200% scaling. Quality of appearance at other scales may or may not appear aggreeable to you. Both theme and the HiDPI functionality are very much a work in progress, but this is a good point to start testing. You'll find many things aren't correct yet, and while its probable that we know about many of them, please don't assume so; if its wrong then please do report it, there will be others

re: macOS Retina support -- note that it is only supporting Retina for the track panels, mixer, transport, toolbars, and tab controls. The arrange view and MIDI editor are still rendered at low resolution.
__________________
The House of White Tie

Last edited by Justin; 02-15-2017 at 06:28 PM.
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2017, 05:23 PM   #2
JHughes
Human being with feelings
 
JHughes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Too close to Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,139
Default

Thanks a million White Tie, this is exciting news.
__________________
You can only Reverse, Switch, Invert or Flip POLARITY, not "PHASE".
JHughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 01:30 AM   #3
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,340
Default

(grin) LOoks kinda silly on my 15" laptop!
WT this is great news. Off to try it on my 2560x1440 monitor...
__________________
The UK EU referendum - nature`s way of saying "your politicians are really dumb and arrogant"
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 03:16 AM   #4
miguelmarques
Human being with feelings
 
miguelmarques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

No HiDPI mode option on Mac?
miguelmarques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2017, 12:24 PM   #5
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,602
Default

I am not on 4K yet but I was also p-l-e-a-s-e-d, trust me! the future needs this so bad.
Curiously tried it on a 1080p eh-hehe must see now, must see now, can't wait to go HiDPI, oh maaaan!-worth it.
__________________
:)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 07:59 AM   #6
gavanbruderer
Human being with feelings
 
gavanbruderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ogden, Utah
Posts: 57
Default

Not seeing this option on macOS. Is it forthcoming?
__________________
Gavan Bruderer
-------------------
www.gavanbruderer.com
gavanbruderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 08:08 AM   #7
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 122
Default

Yes can we have this for Mac as well please.

.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, OSX 10.12.6.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 08:09 AM   #8
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,179
Default

No, I'm afraid this experiment is taking place on Windows only, and only 8.1 or later.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 08:11 AM   #9
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

macOS HiDPIness will likely happen at some point, but I can't say when that will be, sorry!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 08:23 AM   #10
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 122
Default

I'm sad now.. hehe.., but thank you for the reply Justin and White tie.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, OSX 10.12.6.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 10:52 AM   #11
BlackBart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 769
Default

Win10 with 4 HiDPI monitors. With HiDPI aware or MultiMonitor Aware, the splash screen is tiny. Nitpick, but I wanted to mention it.

FYI...I'm using 200% scaling...the recommended setting...on my display drivers.
BlackBart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 11:00 AM   #12
BlackBart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 769
Default

Project Bay text fields at bottom are wonky.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Project Bay.JPG (34.4 KB, 341 views)
BlackBart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 01:03 PM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackBart View Post
Project Bay text fields at bottom are wonky.
thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 02:02 PM   #14
miguelmarques
Human being with feelings
 
miguelmarques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
macOS HiDPIness will likely happen at some point, but I can't say when that will be, sorry!
HiDPI on Macs are more common than on PCs, it's a pity we'll have to wait. Everyone I know that's on PC doesn't have HiDPI displays. Everyone I know that works with Reaper on Mac has them.

Not trying to be rude or anything, I'm just tired of blurry text and graphics with Reaper. It's the only app I own that doesn't support HiDPI.
miguelmarques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 04:07 PM   #15
marcoctn
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 83
Default

sadly true.

(we love you though)

Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelmarques View Post
HiDPI on Macs are more common than on PCs, it's a pity we'll have to wait. Everyone I know that's on PC doesn't have HiDPI displays. Everyone I know that works with Reaper on Mac has them.

Not trying to be rude or anything, I'm just tired of blurry text and graphics with Reaper. It's the only app I own that doesn't support HiDPI.
marcoctn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 05:27 AM   #16
MT_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 54
Default Works including Windows 7

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
No, I'm afraid this experiment is taking place on Windows only, and only 8.1 or later.
Just tested the HiDPI theme with Reaper 5.33pre7, and it works and looks quite good. Thanks.

Update: Looks like there still are some buggy GUI elements at 200% — e.g. in MIDI editor, top toolbar is clipped by default (though fortunately can be revealed entirely by dragging its bottom edge down), and the plus/minus icons to the right of the controller dropdown at the bottom left are apparently unscaled at all. The HiDPI-related progress is impressive anyway though.

Given that it’s possible to run HiDPI-compatible and HiDPI-incompatible plugins side by side in the same Reaper by running HiDPI-compatible plugins like Spire (that supports scaling up to 200%) in the so called Native mode (so that plugin inherits DPI mode of Reaper itself) while running HiDPI-incompatible plugins like Battery (that still doesn’t support scaling) in a separate process (so that Windows automatically applies DPI scaling to those), Reaper is now a really good candidate to switch from hopeless Cubase.

Fwiw, as I said, HiDPI support is actually available in Reaper under Windows 7 either (not just 8.1+), just in a less convenient way: by editing the embedded manifest with a tool like Resource Hacker (separate-file extra manifest is unfortunately ignored by Windows).

Last edited by MT_; 01-31-2017 at 06:11 AM.
MT_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 10:06 AM   #17
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelmarques View Post
HiDPI on Macs are more common than on PCs, it's a pity we'll have to wait. Everyone I know that's on PC doesn't have HiDPI displays. Everyone I know that works with Reaper on Mac has them.

Not trying to be rude or anything, I'm just tired of blurry text and graphics with Reaper. It's the only app I own that doesn't support HiDPI.
Hmm, when the blurriness bothers you, is it more in the track control panel/mixer/etc, or in the arrange view? Or both?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 11:38 AM   #18
miguelmarques
Human being with feelings
 
miguelmarques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm, when the blurriness bothers you, is it more in the track control panel/mixer/etc, or in the arrange view? Or both?
The graphics I think I can handle it, even though it isn't perfect. Even though everything is blurry the buttons/faders/arrange items are not the main problem.

The main problem is definitely text! Whenever there's text it's always blurry, be it the plugin names, track names and numbers, region names, time counter, and so on on..
miguelmarques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 12:47 PM   #19
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Now in 5.33pre8, there's some basic macOS Retina support -- note that it is only supporting Retina for the track panels, mixer, transport, toolbars, and tab controls. The arrange view and MIDI editor are still rendered at low resolution.

Here is the theme to use for macOS with retina displays:

http://landoleet.org/dev/Default_5.0...ReaperThemeZip

and use 5.33pre8 for macOS (which will be up shortly).

Last edited by Justin; 01-31-2017 at 01:04 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 01:25 PM   #20
BPBaker
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks, Justin!

I'm really looking forward to giving this a spin on my Retina machine when I get home tonight!
BPBaker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 02:00 PM   #21
miguelmarques
Human being with feelings
 
miguelmarques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Now in 5.33pre8, there's some basic macOS Retina support -- note that it is only supporting Retina for the track panels, mixer, transport, toolbars, and tab controls. The arrange view and MIDI editor are still rendered at low resolution.

Here is the theme to use for macOS with retina displays:

http://landoleet.org/dev/Default_5.0...ReaperThemeZip

and use 5.33pre8 for macOS (which will be up shortly).
AWESOME! It looks amazing, finally!! It's a huge improvement just to have this basic Retina support.

Is timecode on the toolbar supposed to be retina ready? The BPM section on the toolbar is out of place here.
miguelmarques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:35 PM   #22
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by miguelmarques View Post
AWESOME! It looks amazing, finally!! It's a huge improvement just to have this basic Retina support.

Is timecode on the toolbar supposed to be retina ready? The BPM section on the toolbar is out of place here.
Ah yeah, fixing those
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:36 PM   #23
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Now in 5.33pre8, there's some basic macOS Retina support -- note that it is only supporting Retina for the track panels, mixer, transport, toolbars, and tab controls. The arrange view and MIDI editor are still rendered at low resolution.

Here is the theme to use for macOS with retina displays:

http://landoleet.org/dev/Default_5.0...ReaperThemeZip

and use 5.33pre8 for macOS (which will be up shortly).
Oh my! What an improvement

I seem to have to multiply the font size by 2, but presumably that's already known about.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:42 PM   #24
swiiscompos
Human being with feelings
 
swiiscompos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Boston
Posts: 1,035
Default

Beautiful!, small bug in the TCP:

Default:


Retina:
swiiscompos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:54 PM   #25
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by swiiscompos View Post
Beautiful!, small bug in the TCP:

Default:


Retina:
Hah thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 04:55 PM   #26
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timlloyd View Post
Oh my! What an improvement

I seem to have to multiply the font size by 2, but presumably that's already known about.
macOS or Windows? Which font? The themes should have them adjusted, unless we missed some...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2017, 08:05 PM   #27
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,193
Default

pre9 posted, should fix a bunch of random macOS retina things...
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 01:13 AM   #28
miguelmarques
Human being with feelings
 
miguelmarques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
pre9 posted, should fix a bunch of random macOS retina things...
Perfect! As far as my usage go, pretty much all is great now.

Quick question, all external windows like Region Manager or Render to File and such are not retina. Are those hard to make them retina? It's mostly just text but I have no idea if that's easy to implement or not.

There's a graphic error on the wet/dry knob now, nothing huge but not sure if you noticed. https://sdbmastering.com/download/reaper_McwwdG.png. The non GUI plugin view is also messed up: https://sdbmastering.com/download/reaper2_lD73l8.png

Plugin windows (like Region Manager, Render to File...) are not retina yet, maybe all of these bugs are because of that?
miguelmarques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 12:06 PM   #29
gavanbruderer
Human being with feelings
 
gavanbruderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ogden, Utah
Posts: 57
Default

Any chance someone could modify the MacOS theme a tad to allow me to turn off the TCP tinting? I know that it can be done, I'm just a newbie and when I tried, it definitely didn't work right. I use a lot of color coding, and it's making my entire window look a bit "too" colorful
__________________
Gavan Bruderer
-------------------
www.gavanbruderer.com
gavanbruderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2017, 01:55 PM   #30
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
macOS or Windows? Which font? The themes should have them adjusted, unless we missed some...
macOS 10.12.2
REAPER v5.33pre9/64 rev 1a9270
Source Sans Pro Regular

v5 default theme, 13pt


New 'retina' theme, 26pt
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 03:57 PM   #31
HDWind
Human being with feelings
 
HDWind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 10
Default

I work on 2560x1440 monitor, 200% scaling is too big.
Please make a theme with 130% scaling.
HDWind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 05:12 AM   #32
MT_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 54
Default Vector-based GUI for arbitrary scaling

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDWind View Post
Please make a theme with 130% scaling.
For an application to be scalable to arbitrary ratios with no blur, its GUI should be based on vector graphics. I’m not sure (or even doubt) Reaper’s theming capabilities include this currently.
MT_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 05:15 AM   #33
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,719
Default

@Justin - what does "Multimonitor aware (experimental)" option do (in Advanced UI/System tweaks)?

Quote:
Originally Posted by MT_ View Post
For an application to be scalable to arbitrary ratios with no blur, its GUI should be based on vector graphics. I’m not sure (or even doubt) Reaper’s theming capabilities include this currently.
I think HDWind can get what he wants with the scaling option in Advanced UI/System tweaks, set it to 1.3.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 05:21 AM   #34
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDWind View Post
I work on 2560x1440 monitor, 200% scaling is too big.
Please make a theme with 130% scaling.
Did you try this(for 2x theme of course): https://stash.reaper.fm/v/29709/screen.JPG ?

Last edited by vitalker; 02-05-2017 at 06:09 AM.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 05:23 AM   #35
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,719
Default

You'll want to fix that link
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 05:50 AM   #36
Evan
Human being with feelings
 
Evan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Greece
Posts: 3,518
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HDWind View Post
I work on 2560x1440 monitor, 200% scaling is too big.
Please make a theme with 130% scaling.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT_ View Post
For an application to be scalable to arbitrary ratios with no blur, its GUI should be based on vector graphics. I’m not sure (or even doubt) Reaper’s theming capabilities include this currently.
It should be possible to provide (satisfactory) intermediate scaling options by the devs. Scaling the assets down (200% -> 130%) should be relatively easy to do with good results.
Evan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 06:05 AM   #37
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 18,719
Default

...and is already possible.
EvilDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 06:10 AM   #38
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,724
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
You'll want to fix that link
Yep, you're right. Thanks!
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 06:29 AM   #39
MT_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
@Justin - what does "Multimonitor aware (experimental)" option do (in Advanced UI/System tweaks)?
AFAICT, the entire HiDPI setting in Reaper currently do nothing except just making Reaper to run in corresponding formal DPI mode. So with the “Multimonitor aware” option, Reaper most likely just declares itself as per-monitor DPI-aware while not actually handling the corresponding WM_DPICHANGED event that needs to be handled for the application to be per-monitor DPI-aware. So “Multimonitor aware” is most likely currently effectively identical to just “Aware” that disables OS-powered blurry scaling.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
I think HDWind can get what he wants with the scaling option in Advanced UI/System tweaks, set it to 1.3.
Such scaling is currently buggy and incomplete. Btw, I’m not sure how this option is going to correlate to themes oriented to specific zoom levels like 200%.

Last edited by MT_; 02-05-2017 at 06:55 AM.
MT_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 06:35 AM   #40
MT_
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 54
Default Scaling down might be not seamless

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evan View Post
It should be possible to provide (satisfactory) intermediate scaling options by the devs. Scaling the assets down (200% -> 130%) should be relatively easy to do with good results.
Good point, scaling an image down from higher resolution could look acceptably sharp. Though for themes based on multiple images supposed to interjoin seamlessly, such scaling can potentially result in an image looking not quite seamless (compared with pixel-perfect interjoining of theme parts at 100% scale) depending on how the graphics engine deals with theming and scaling.
MT_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.