Old 02-04-2017, 11:25 AM   #1
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,842
Default swing grid is happening!

http://1014.org/_/a_long_way_to_go.gif

I know he said not to get too excited, but... yeahhhhhh!
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 11:27 AM   #2
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,521
Default

EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 11:55 AM   #3
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,254
Default

AV block the link, but.. hurray!
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 12:33 PM   #4
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,521
Default

So, temporarily disable AV.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 01:03 PM   #5
NextLevel
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 362
Default

I hope we don't have to open a MIDI editor to use it. There should be a sperate swing for the arrange view and the one in the MIDI editor should only influence the arrange if the sync option is enabled.

Just encase Justin reads this, here is a FR:

How about making it a completely flexible grid? There could be tick boxes for each value (1/128, 1/164, 1/32, etc). We could then select multiple values that we want the swing to influence. Also a user input field with a tick box next to it encase the user has some weird grid division such as (1/5, 1/6, etc).
NextLevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 01:10 PM   #6
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,882
Default

Thank you, man! It's a really nice peace of news.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 01:51 PM   #7
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,400
Default

if the grid can move like THAT, why not be able to align the grid to natural tempos?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 01:51 PM   #8
Mordi
Human being with feelings
 
Mordi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 310
Default

Cool!
Mordi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 02:03 PM   #9
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,842
Default

Since we're starting the FR parade at 8.5% complete :-), I'll hop on: my pie-in-the-sky asking-too-much hope is that the major coup of a DAW that can natively map the tempo of a recorded track or tracks may finally be nigh. (Unless it's already done in one of the major ones and I missed it.)

I know, I'm dreaming. But you gotta dream. And if 91.5% remains after that gif, that's a lot of room for some serious features.

Doesn't it seem simple (to those of us that don't have to program it)? Find transients, do some kind of best-fit statistical regression between 60 and 240 bpm grids, and then slide the measures to the nearest transient, with a few weighting factors thrown in? And if the user can give a few hints (say, 5 or 10 markers that show measure starts), that makes it that much easier and more accurate?

I mean, obviously it's not simple, or it'd be everywhere for free, but man, I'm continually surprised it isn't standard with DAWs these days, especially compared to all the other magic they can work.

Ok. That's the last I'll mention it, promise.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 02:05 PM   #10
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
if the grid can move like THAT, why not be able to align the grid to natural tempos?
I can see there being a big difference between modifying a regular grid vs. a grid that is flexible all over the place, plus you have to interface it with tempo change markers and everything else, but yeah, you know I'm in full support. :-)
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 02:39 PM   #11
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,769
Default

With this tempo "," area selection is comming in 2-3 weeks.All aboard to hype chuchu!

Last edited by Sexan; 02-05-2017 at 07:48 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 03:12 PM   #12
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,803
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
http://1014.org/_/a_long_way_to_go.gif

I know he said not to get too excited, but... yeahhhhhh!
Sorry if i am being negative but it seems that you still have to have MIDI Editor opened for this feature.
Wouldn't it be just way more "Major" to have a Swing Slider directly available in Main View ?

Or am i totally missing the point here ?!
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 03:29 PM   #13
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vanhaze View Post
Or am i totally missing the point here ?!
Quote:
Since we're starting the FR parade at 8.5% complete
Or read the gif title
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 04:25 PM   #14
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
With this tempo area selection is comming in 2-3 weeks.All aboard to hype chuchu!
what is tempo area selection?
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 04:35 PM   #15
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,521
Default

Try reading it like this: "With this tempo, area selection is coming in 2-3 weeks".
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 04:42 PM   #16
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Try reading it like this: "With this tempo, area selection is coming in 2-3 weeks".
No, some more time. Now we are waiting for automation items and articulation maps.

Oh, I see. Schwa works on these two features, so Justin can attend to area selection.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 04:50 PM   #17
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vitalker View Post
No, some more time. Now we are waiting for automation items and articulation maps.

Oh, I see. Schwa works on these two features, so Justin can attend to area selection.
Justin is busy with the Linux port (top priority, obviously), vocalign, and melodyne-like note editing. The secret underground team of superhackers is working on area selection, ARA, subproject enhancements, video editing, a windows-to-linux VST bridge, and the 3d holographic VR interface.

I reckon it'll take a few weeks, but I can be patient.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 05:11 PM   #18
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1,704
Default

This is great.

I would like to mention early, in case it matters to development, that currently swing grid in the MIDI editor does not completely use the project grid in Project beats or Sync mode. It appears to refer to the item source. Easy to see with stretched items. Dotted behaves similarly, but straight and triplet appear to use the project grid. Makes writing a grid based script difficult/impossible.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 05:15 PM   #19
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post

I reckon it'll take a few weeks, but I can be patient.
Me too.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 07:20 PM   #20
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Justin is busy with the Linux port (top priority, obviously), vocalign, and melodyne-like note editing. The secret underground team of superhackers is working on area selection, ARA, subproject enhancements, video editing, a windows-to-linux VST bridge, and the 3d holographic VR interface.

I reckon it'll take a few weeks, but I can be patient.
I'm with you on all of that but the massive time suck that linux convert would probably be

Politics hey!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 07:30 PM   #21
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,842
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
I'm with you on all of that but the massive time suck that linux convert would probably be

Politics hey!
Hey, that was my fantasy, not yours! :-) One man's time suck is another man's dream! I'd just as soon have the whole OS X version thrown out to cut the dead weight! :-)
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 09:22 PM   #22
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,465
Default

ignoring the FRs for now

Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 09:41 PM   #23
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1,842
Default

Yeah!
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 02:58 AM   #24
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,882
Default

Yay! Such a nice thing...
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 03:02 AM   #25
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
ignoring the FRs for now
Looking very good Justin!
I don't know if swing-grid should be much more advanced than that.

Now, for custom grid,
I could see myself using that,
but it would very typical vary across the project,
so then it would go more in the groove-tool-direction.
Now, that would be something, wouldn't it
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 03:04 AM   #26
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,521
Default

Swing amount slider and toggle should be WALTERable into the transport...
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 03:07 AM   #27
vanhaze
Human being with feelings
 
vanhaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 3,803
Default

Errr..Agree Ed !

But to be honest, the fact that we will have a swing grid in Arrange View will be amazingly enough for me :0)
vanhaze is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 03:40 AM   #28
sinkmusic
Human being with feelings
 
sinkmusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: decepticon mothership in a hidden place inside a mountain
Posts: 3,251
Default

This will be great !
sinkmusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 03:47 AM   #29
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Swing amount slider and toggle should be WALTERable into the transport...
Definitely. Now(on Justin's gif) it's a bit useless for real purposes.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 06:29 AM   #30
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by memyselfandus View Post
How so?
Read EvilDragon's last comment.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:00 AM   #31
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,882
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by memyselfandus View Post
Regarding Justin's gif
"Now(on Justin's gif) it's a bit useless for real purposes."

What part is useless for real purposes?
I mean it's a bit inconvenient to open snap/grid setting every time you need to change swing settings. It's a waste of time.
vitalker is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:02 AM   #32
memyselfandus
Human being with feelings
 
memyselfandus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,598
Default

Oh! Gotcha
memyselfandus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:09 AM   #33
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,400
Default

I still want "tempo area selection" and I dont give a fuck what it actually it
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:19 AM   #34
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by memyselfandus View Post
How bout per track?
I'd like to see that done at some point but it could be done by adding 2 options to the already super cool (but quite hidden) options for metronome items;

1 An Option that allows you to make these items have vertical grid lines come out of them and end either at the bottom of the arrange or enclosed within a folder track's last track.

2 The actual swing options and also type of grid.

These would be so useful for things like linear media (films/TV etc) where you might want to have a song with it's own "snappable" music grid but still keeping the overall master grid as smpte/time etc.

Similar to this idea for items to have marker/region vertical guide lines as an option but with a grid instead of just a start and end line!
https://stash.reaper.fm/8284/empty%20...%20ideajpg.jpg
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:21 AM   #35
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,404
Default

Sorry to bring this up but I'm just too curious to let it go...

Devs... What happened to this amazing idea from the past?

If we had this as a definable grid system between each measure for both arrange and midi, this would be insanely amazing! I hope it's not forever dead!


__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:26 AM   #36
memyselfandus
Human being with feelings
 
memyselfandus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
I'd like to see that done at some point but it could be done by adding 2 options to the already super cool (but quite hidden) options for metronome items;

1 An Option that allows you to make these items have vertical grid lines come out of them and end either at the bottom of the arrange or enclosed within a folder track's last track.

2 The actual swing options and also type of grid.

These would be so useful for things like linear media (films/TV etc) where you might want to have a song with it's own "snappable" music grid but still keeping the overall master grid as smpte/time etc.

Similar to this idea for items to have marker/region vertical guide lines as an option but with a grid instead of just a start and end line!
https://stash.reaper.fm/8284/empty%20...%20ideajpg.jpg
Yes!!
memyselfandus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:27 AM   #37
memyselfandus
Human being with feelings
 
memyselfandus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Sorry to bring this up but I'm just too curious to let it go...

Devs... What happened to this amazing idea from the past?

If we had this as a definable grid system between each measure for both arrange and midi, this would be insanely amazing! I hope it's not forever dead!


I am also wondering about this!
memyselfandus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:47 AM   #38
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Sorry to bring this up but I'm just too curious to let it go...

Devs... What happened to this amazing idea from the past?

If we had this as a definable grid system between each measure for both arrange and midi, this would be insanely amazing! I hope it's not forever dead!


Only the chosen ones remember this glorious picture! You really saved it !?
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 07:58 AM   #39
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
Sorry to bring this up but I'm just too curious to let it go...

Devs... What happened to this amazing idea from the past?

If we had this as a definable grid system between each measure for both arrange and midi, this would be insanely amazing! I hope it's not forever dead!


I'm glad someone brings this up again.
Also hoping it comes back one day.

Last edited by nofish; 02-05-2017 at 08:38 AM.
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2017, 08:15 AM   #40
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Only the chosen ones remember this glorious picture! You really saved it !?
I did yes. I found it lying about

I'm also just curious from a developer side of things whether it was just not worth doing or would take a lot of code changes underneath etc to make it work with everything.

I'm hoping we'll see it again as there been loads of glorious additions recently! It's the 2nd coming of the golden age it seems!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.