Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Pre-Release Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2017, 06:50 AM   #41
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: on the road
Posts: 646
Default

Thanks, White Tie, for this great piece of work!

Unfortunately I can't get the transport section get to work on my iPhone (iOS 10.2.1).

I tested it with Safari, Dolphin, Chrome and Firefox.

Mute, Solo and Rec-Arm are working fine, though.
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 09:05 AM   #42
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timothys_monster View Post
Thanks, White Tie, for this great piece of work!

Unfortunately I can't get the transport section get to work on my iPhone (iOS 10.2.1).

I tested it with Safari, Dolphin, Chrome and Firefox.

Mute, Solo and Rec-Arm are working fine, though.
Have you updated your browsers?
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 09:13 AM   #43
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: on the road
Posts: 646
Default

Yeah, they are all updated. I noticed that the old index.html is working fine, though!
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 10:02 AM   #44
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleswede View Post
I can't get the jog wheel working on Chrome (v56.0.2924.87) on my Android (v6.01). It responds and I can see red and green values but, when I let go of the jog wheel, the project play cursor is unaffected (whether the project is playing or stopped).
Eeek, that's a new one Is there anything unusual about your Reaper installation?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
weird... doesn't work for me at all in chrome or safari. It shows and reflects changes in reaper, but tapping on things doesn't do anything.
Quote:
Originally Posted by timothys_monster View Post
Unfortunately I can't get the transport section get to work on my iPhone (iOS 10.2.1).
Sorry gents, I had underestimated how badly I had not supported all browsers on all iOS devices. Hopefully fixed now, could you please see post #1 and report back?
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 10:03 AM   #45
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,400
Default

dont you dare apologize you're awesome, thank you for your work!!!!
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 10:13 AM   #46
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 6,254
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Update 1st March 2017
  • Sends! If the destination track has a custom colour, it will be used. I forgot to do hardware sends from non-master tracks, so that is To Do.
  • Play button surround arc is now drawn using a different method (not that you should care.)
  • Fixes for all the awful iOS problems, and Safari compatibility, by none other than our glorious leader himself.
  • Fixes for other stuff.
Looking awesome !
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 11:15 AM   #47
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,400
Default

for some reason, I just cannot get this one to work.

On my laptop, or at home, my iphone will simply not control anything. Now the jog wheel isn't working either.

No idea why, but happy to test any future builds.

Thank you for your work!
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 11:58 AM   #48
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,769
Default

Could not connect on this one anymore,before I've had to change ports back and forward and now it simply does not want to connect. Other interfaces work perfectly.
I cant even connect to it locally (computer browser)

Android

Last edited by Sexan; 03-01-2017 at 04:00 PM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 03:37 PM   #49
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,465
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sexan View Post
Could not connect on this one anymore,before I've had to change ports back and forward and now it simply does not want to connect. Other interfaces work without.
I cant even connect to it locally (computer browser)

Android
Edit: nm, WT is fixing

Last edited by Justin; 03-01-2017 at 03:44 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 03:57 PM   #50
esosotericmetal
Human being with feelings
 
esosotericmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
for some reason, I just cannot get this one to work.

On my laptop, or at home, my iphone will simply not control anything. Now the jog wheel isn't working either.

No idea why, but happy to test any future builds.

Thank you for your work!
I can't get this to work at all either. Tried on my ipad as well as desktop.
esosotericmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 04:32 PM   #51
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,256
Default

Ooops, looks like I did a bad thing, sorry

1/03/17b now in the first post.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 05:39 PM   #52
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Ooops, looks like I did a bad thing, sorry

1/03/17b now in the first post.
seems to be working. It always gives me the warning message about no tracks being armed, though.
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 06:17 PM   #53
esosotericmetal
Human being with feelings
 
esosotericmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 358
Default

Seems to work now. One thing i've noticed though is that receives don't seem to show up in the expanded track. Sends seem to show up fine.
esosotericmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 07:24 PM   #54
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,256
Default

I don't think I'm going to do receives. There's a good argument for an interface that is centred around 'show me everything I'm hearing' (as was made earlier), but this is not, I think, that interface.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 07:25 PM   #55
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Brian Merrill View Post
It always gives me the warning message about no tracks being armed, though.
A pop-up warning, or the number of armed tracks counter?
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 07:29 PM   #56
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,400
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
A pop-up warning, or the number of armed tracks counter?
pop up warning
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 07:29 PM   #57
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,400
Default

wait
!

started new session, didnt happen
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 07:34 PM   #58
dr_pointsman
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Burlington, VT
Posts: 38
Default Wow

This is unbelievably cool. I'm not usually an early adopter of all of REAPER's bells and whistles but just had to try this out, 10 minutes later am controlling REAPER with my iPhone on a beautiful interface. Just another example of how special this software and community are. Thank you WT!!
dr_pointsman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2017, 07:48 PM   #59
Otto Tune
Human being with feelings
 
Otto Tune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mountain
Posts: 122
Default

Great! This version works as expected on current iOS w/Chrome and Safari. Totally happy with the seek action here.

Only request if possible, probably mentioned before, double-tap faders (volume and sends) to reset to 0. This is one of those things that's turned out to be way more useful than I imagined at first
Otto Tune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 02:37 AM   #60
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
I don't think I'm going to do receives. There's a good argument for an interface that is centred around 'show me everything I'm hearing' (as was made earlier), but this is not, I think, that interface.
If I read between the lines it sounds to me that something will happen at some point so thats fine but just wanted to reiterate that it be absolutely amazing at some point to have a mode that is "all about receives" though as for recording studios being able to see all the receives for a track gives everybody in the band a really good headphone mixer.

It's something a lot of people would want and doesn't have to look pretty.

Maybe someone else can do it though at some point though hopefully..
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 04:30 AM   #61
uncleswede
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 433
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uncleswede View Post
Hi.

This is such a time/hassle saver in a solo studio - thank you!

Only one small issue for me...

I can't get the jog wheel working on Chrome (v56.0.2924.87) on my Android (v6.01). It responds and I can see red and green values but, when I let go of the jog wheel, the project play cursor is unaffected (whether the project is playing or stopped).

Thanks again :-)
March 1st version working wonderfully now on Android Chrome (see above) now. Cheers!
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 05:45 AM   #62
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,769
Default

Well some progress, now I can connect to it locally on computer browser but still cannot connect to it from the phone (even with other ports).

The first two initial versions posted worked but I have to switch ports now and then:
1. if port is 8080 and it won't connect
2. change port to something else
3. hit apply
4. restore original port (8080)
5. hit apply
6. some black magic happens and it works

Android Default browser (for the record other build in interfaces work without a problem)

Edit: installed Chrome and it works...

Last edited by Sexan; 03-02-2017 at 05:52 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 05:56 AM   #63
Sexan
Human being with feelings
 
Sexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 1,769
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
I don't think I'm going to do receives. There's a good argument for an interface that is centred around 'show me everything I'm hearing' (as was made earlier), but this is not, I think, that interface.
But but but... headphone mixes ? Maybe a global toggle button "Show all,show sends,show receives,Hide all" if the problem is crowding the space of the interface?

Anyway great work here! Much appreciated!

Last edited by Sexan; 03-02-2017 at 06:02 AM.
Sexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 07:36 AM   #64
esosotericmetal
Human being with feelings
 
esosotericmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 358
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Tune View Post
Only request if possible, probably mentioned before, double-tap faders (volume and sends) to reset to 0. This is one of those things that's turned out to be way more useful than I imagined at first
This would be great.


A few other suggestions:
- Metronome toggle (and maybe even volume control)
- Go to start of project by pressing stop button when transport is not playing (and ideally toggle between last locator position and project start)
- Better visual representation of children tracks

The track expanding animation is also super slow and choppy on my iOS devices. It's very snappy on desktop/laptop web browsers though.
esosotericmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 12:44 PM   #65
timothys_monster
Human being with feelings
 
timothys_monster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: on the road
Posts: 646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Sorry gents, I had underestimated how badly I had not supported all browsers on all iOS devices. Hopefully fixed now, could you please see post #1 and report back?
Nice one, all buttons working fine now after a quick test. Thanks a lot!
timothys_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2017, 06:42 PM   #66
WyattRice
Human being with feelings
 
WyattRice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,778
Default

It Looks great White Tie.

Many Thanks,
Wyatt
WyattRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 02:05 AM   #67
Bod
Human being with feelings
 
Bod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Leicester, UK
Posts: 277
Default

Simply amazing work WT. One thing I miss however is a metronome toggle. When I'm using the interface from behind my drum kit, I often need to toggle it on/off.
Bod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 08:57 AM   #68
hwhalen
Human being with feelings
 
hwhalen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 807
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bod View Post
Simply amazing work WT. One thing I miss however is a metronome toggle. When I'm using the interface from behind my drum kit, I often need to toggle it on/off.
And BPM, doesn't need to feedback to Reaper, just display.
__________________
My Music
Noise From My Head
On The Links
hwhalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 08:29 PM   #69
raiirock
Human being with feelings
 
raiirock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 91
Default

Wow just wow ! This is incredible. One question - is there any possibility to view receives ?
Imagine band tracking , everybody can open web interface , click on their hp mix track and adjust receives - so handy .
raiirock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2017, 08:34 PM   #70
raiirock
Human being with feelings
 
raiirock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 91
Default

And another idea - since web interface is a simple server , can we do some kind of user type system. I'll explain. When somebody connecting to the web interface there can be like username or password graphs. Enter as "admin" and you can see al the tracks , enter as vocalist and you can see vocal hp mix track with all corresponding receives and so on .. please excuse my bad English guys.
raiirock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2017, 06:06 AM   #71
miguelmarques
Human being with feelings
 
miguelmarques's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 10
Default

If anyone's interested I've modified this fancier theme to be handled as an native app in iOS/Android. I've added the Reaper icon plus some meta which will allow you to create an "app" of the webpage.

Just go to the webpage as you normally would and then on mobile Chrome there's an option for "Add to Home screen". On iOS there should be a similar option in Safari. And that's it.

After that if you open the remote through the "app" icon it will launch without address bar.
Attached Files
File Type: zip reaperwebtheme.zip (152.4 KB, 59 views)
miguelmarques is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 05:21 AM   #72
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 4,240
Default

@White Tie
Hi ! Any news about this ? Could it be released in next REAPER build ?
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 02:01 AM   #73
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,256
Default

No sir, there's more to do. Amongst other things, I'm trying to figure out a better and unified way to address markers and regions.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 06:44 AM   #74
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 411
Default

About Markers in fact, would it be possible to have a way to drop markers? That would be great! :-)
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 07:13 AM   #75
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,256
Default

Yes, dropping markers will be in. Unless someone wants to convince me otherwise, however, I'm going to treat naming markers as a complicating overreach. Go and use your computer
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2017, 07:23 AM   #76
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 411
Default

Great!!
Agreed, naming the Markers is of course totally beside the point for a remote/web interface.

When developing such tools, one should never lose site of it's main purpose. And it seems to me the only reason you wouldn't be able to use the computer is because you are physically obliged to be away from it because playing an instrument in another room, checking levels, setting up a PA, etc...
Therefore the tools needed for those tasks should be addressed before any other. Therefore, naming markers, not even a necessity!

In my case, I use it for voiceover work where the PC has to be far from the mic due to noise levels. And while recording, I need to drop markers all the time to mark errors I'll need to edit in post.
Thx in advance!
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2017, 01:01 PM   #77
inarisound
Human being with feelings
 
inarisound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 79
Default

White Tie, that looks awesome!!! great job!


I have a question, is there any Web interface available that can just control faders of tracks? (so it's basically like a mixer view)

I really what to use one for mixing on ipad.... but I haven't found any solution yet.... though technology allows us to do so =P

once again great job!
inarisound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 10:28 AM   #78
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,256
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chumbo View Post
About Markers in fact, would it be possible to have a way to drop markers? That would be great! :-)
Okey dokey, this is now in - see the first post for the new update.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 10:37 AM   #79
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 531
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Okey dokey, this is now in - see the first post for the new update.
Great work! Thank you.
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts twice a week or more.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2017, 02:04 PM   #80
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 411
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Okey dokey, this is now in - see the first post for the new update.
WOW! Awesome, thanks! I'll give it try
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.