Old 06-25-2017, 06:05 PM   #1
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 36
Default No 'stereo' in monitors

when I pan the Master panning hard lt and rt. - The volume decreases (by 1/2) and doesn't 'go' 'back and forth' between speakers?!?!?!?
Presonus Project studio (L/R Main outs straight to the monitors)
Yamaha HS80's.
So weird.
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 07:45 AM   #2
Ianuarius
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 30
Default

Hey Jim!

I think that for some reason you are getting a mono signal out since the symptoms you describe are exactly what would happen with mono.

One simple explanation is that you might have the "Mono" button active on the Master track (check my attachment). Deactivating it would in that case fix the problem.
Attached Images
File Type: png master mono.PNG (8.0 KB, 23 views)
Ianuarius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2017, 08:50 AM   #3
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,140
Default

Why are you reposting this?!?

I tried to help in your other thread. You didn't respond to any of it.

Now you'll get all the same stuff in this thread.

Will you try any of it? Will you respond at all to this one, or just open another thread next week?
ashcat_lt is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2017, 06:04 PM   #4
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 36
Default sorry

Life got in the way for a week or so. No mono buttons are on- including the master. My Yamaha HS80's are connected to the Main Outs on my Presonus interface.
I cannot find any settings with Audio settings in Reaper or my 2010 MacPook Pro that would make the Output "not stereo".
Hmmmmmmm
Again, sorry for the late reply
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2017, 07:12 AM   #5
martifingers
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 1,209
Default

Hi. Are you using the Presonus Universal Driver software? If so I think that may be a place to look.
martifingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2017, 07:37 PM   #6
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 36
Default not studio one

thank u
I checked thru those settings also.
still searching
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.

Last edited by JimDrums4Life; 07-15-2017 at 07:57 PM.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 09:13 AM   #7
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrums4Life View Post
thank u
I checked thru those settings also.
still searching
Can you attach a little .RPP project file to a post, so we can check if anything in the project looks like out of the ordinary?

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=140670
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 10:20 AM   #8
JimDrums4Life
Human being with feelings
 
JimDrums4Life's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 36
Default proj file attached

rpp file attached.
Not sure if you need it or not, but I couldn't upload the song mp3.

"Your submission could not be processed because a security token was missing.
If this occurred unexpectedly, please inform the administrator and describe the action you performed before you received this error."

If you need the song file, but it the 'no stereo problem' happens with any song, so you could plug anything in to the project.

Thank you all for your help! Love Reaper and the people that use it!
Attached Files
File Type: rpp Why no stereo.RPP (2.5 KB, 9 views)
__________________
JimDrums4Life
Presonus Firestudio; MacBook Pro OSX 10.6
SM57's, B52A, Oktava MK-012, Audix D2's, Audix D4.

Last edited by JimDrums4Life; 07-16-2017 at 10:26 AM.
JimDrums4Life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 01:17 PM   #9
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,329
Default

Had a quick check on my windows machine with a random imported mp3 file and no apparent issues. I will be unearthing my mac mini later this week for another mac project so I will check that too. Hopefully someone else will have responded before that though
__________________
The UK EU referendum - nature`s way of saying "your politicians are really dumb and arrogant"
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 02:33 AM   #10
solger
Human being with feelings
 
solger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1,350
Default

OK, I also did a quick test on both Windows and OSX. And also no apparent issues here with importing a random stereo file into your project and panning the Master Track hard left or right ...


Just to clarify:

- How exactly do you pan the Master Track?
- And have you already checked if the problem is the same when monitoring through headphones (connected to the Presnus Project Studio)?
solger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.