Old 07-16-2017, 02:52 PM   #1
europa_man
Human being with feelings
 
europa_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia
Posts: 208
Default Finding the Song Tempo Video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkqztQsoMNU&t=54s

Kenny just posted a new video on finding the song tempo.
At 5:37 after placing the tempo marker and holding down Control you should be able to the move the tempo marker with the ruler to change tempo.
The ruler is moving but not the tempo marker when I do it.

Using Win 8.1 - 64 bit

Can you give it a try.
I tried many many times with the same results.
I can't get to work as shown in the video.

Thanks
Eric
__________________
Everything I Need to Know about Reaper, I Learned from Kenny Gioia.

Last edited by europa_man; 07-16-2017 at 02:53 PM. Reason: Finding song tempo
europa_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 07:56 AM   #2
Juan D'Fall
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 17
Default

This is brilliant. A bit fiddly but it works a treat. If only I could identify the beat! All the examples Kenny uses have very clearly defined beats. I'm trying to count 'Mad Life' by Dishwalla. A lot of the beat is so buried in the music that I can't tell where it is. This is so much better than Cubase.

I don't know whats happening to Eric, but I put my mouse cursor arrow right on the marker then held control down and it just moved the bar lines to where I wanted them. Just as Kennys video.
Win 10 pro 64.
Juan D'Fall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2017, 01:06 PM   #3
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,470
Default

Excellent !!!

-Michal
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 04:02 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,470
Default

Just an idea:

if you have (e.g.) a bass drum track the beats might be marked by hits. So it might be useful to determine those by dynamic splits.

Is there an action to move the tempo marker to the split nearest to the cursor or something similar ?

-Michael


Edit:

SWS provides "Move closest tempo marker to edit cursor" and "Move closest tempo marker to Mouse cursor"
I'll give those a try...

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de

Last edited by mschnell; 07-21-2017 at 04:22 PM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2017, 04:47 PM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 19,692
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juan D'Fall View Post
This is brilliant. A bit fiddly but it works a treat. If only I could identify the beat! All the examples Kenny uses have very clearly defined beats. I'm trying to count 'Mad Life' by Dishwalla. A lot of the beat is so buried in the music that I can't tell where it is.
104 BPM.

It's a lot quicker to tap it out using Reaper's tap tempo function FWIW unless you have a really explicit, mostly quantized piece of audio. That's a really cool trick in the video but it does assume the material is quantized or tightly clicked for the most part. As far as a defined beat, it's very defined audibly hence the tapping, it isn't defined visually due to limiting and compression.

The point is, be able/prepared to use either method based on the situation.
__________________
Choosing to play the simpler part instead of the fancier one, takes a lot of courage

Last edited by karbomusic; 07-21-2017 at 04:52 PM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2017, 12:48 AM   #6
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 3,470
Default

Trying the method on an existing project I found:

This project features multiple tracks.

The first beat in the bass drum track is a lot later than the start of other tracks.

In this situation to follow the video I would need to temporarily trim the first items in all tracks left to start with the (or later than) the first hit of the bass drum track, and restore the staring point of all tracks later, appropriately. This does not seem "nice".

I worked round this by defining bar 1 later in the project and placing a tempo marker at bar 1. With this the tempo before bar 1 (where some audio does reside) is still at 120. This does not seem "nice", either.

Is there a way to move the start of items beyond the start of the project ?

Or some other tricks ?

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.