Old 07-16-2017, 09:11 PM   #1
upside24
Human being with feelings
 
upside24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 60
Default Windows 8.1 BSOD Reaper <5.40>

EDIT: As far as i can tell, it was the Focusrite Interface. I removed it from my system and reinstalled it and everything is working perfectly now. I hope this helps another user down the road. Thank you Reaper community for your help!

Hello all. Over the last week when I attempt to open Reaper it goes through the initial start up items like "Scanning Vst's" and then when it gets to "Initializing Main Window" I get the BSOD crash and this message:

Your PC ran into a problem and needs to restart.
IRQL_GT_ZERO_AT_SYSTEM_SERVICE

I'm using Reaper 64 bit with a Focusrite 18i8. the Focusrite is the only new hardware I have purchased recently, but the bug didn't start immediately so I think that it's unrelated. I have uninstalled and reinstalled Reaper, scanned for Malware, checked my drivers and even paid for a WinSweep that was advertised to help with these types of errors. None of which have worked.

My system info is on the attachment and here is the latest bug report.

Thank you for taking the time to look this over. I have an IT guy that will look at it for me later this week if he can remote in. Hopefully, I can solve this in the Reaper community and save some money and time.

Log Name: System
Source: Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power
Date: 7/16/2017 10:41:28 PM
Event ID: 41
Task Category: (63)
Level: Critical
Keywords: (2)
User: SYSTEM
Computer: Josh-Asus
Description:
The system has rebooted without cleanly shutting down first. This error could be caused if the system stopped responding, crashed, or lost power unexpectedly.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-Kernel-Power" Guid="{331C3B3A-2005-44C2-AC5E-77220C37D6B4}" />
<EventID>41</EventID>
<Version>3</Version>
<Level>1</Level>
<Task>63</Task>
<Opcode>0</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-07-17T03:41:28.952447500Z" />
<EventRecordID>226742</EventRecordID>
<Correlation />
<Execution ProcessID="4" ThreadID="8" />
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>Josh-Asus</Computer>
<Security UserID="S-1-5-18" />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data Name="BugcheckCode">74</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter1">0x7ffe018c072a</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter2">0x1</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter3">0x0</Data>
<Data Name="BugcheckParameter4">0xffffd0009d74fb00</Data>
<Data Name="SleepInProgress">0</Data>
<Data Name="PowerButtonTimestamp">0</Data>
<Data Name="BootAppStatus">0</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Untitled.jpg (38.4 KB, 17 views)

Last edited by upside24; 07-17-2017 at 07:07 PM. Reason: (fixed)
upside24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2017, 10:03 PM   #2
Pickasso
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 189
Default

What happens if you have your audio interface completely unplugged from the PC?


Reaper loads ok?
Pickasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 05:04 AM   #3
upside24
Human being with feelings
 
upside24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 60
Default

Actually, I haven't tried that until you suggested it. Reaper did load fine with the interface unplugged. So, after it loaded I plugged the interface back in and turned it on and received the same error. Do you think it could be the USB port or something else?

Heading to work now, but I'll try any other suggestions later today when I get back home.

Thanks!
upside24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 10:01 AM   #4
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,896
Default

Focusrite farm their driver development out AFAIK so they DO tend to be a bit variable.
Best bet is to make double sure you have the very latest version of the driver, uninstall everything focusrite and start again clean.

Good luck!
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 10:08 AM   #5
upside24
Human being with feelings
 
upside24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks Ivan. I checked for updates on the Focusrite, but I did not uninstall and reinstall. That could be the magic fix. I researched this issue a bit more today too and found that it could possibly be a "chipset driver." I'm looking forward to getting off work so that I can try to get things rolling. I hate not being able to be productive in the home studio.
upside24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2017, 11:04 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,896
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by upside24 View Post
Thanks Ivan. I checked for updates on the Focusrite, but I did not uninstall and reinstall. That could be the magic fix. I researched this issue a bit more today too and found that it could possibly be a "chipset driver." I'm looking forward to getting off work so that I can try to get things rolling. I hate not being able to be productive in the home studio.
Call me paranoid, but I usually use a specific uninstaller program for this sort of stuff to make sure you get all the sneaky hidden stuff.
Revo Uninstaller or IObit uninstaller both work fine and are free
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.