Old 09-11-2009, 03:41 AM   #81
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by setvice View Post
Ive got the beta but i cant find the tips? where are they???
In the bottom left corner of the arrange is a new info bar, right click on it for various goodies including tips!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 03:42 AM   #82
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by setvice View Post
Ive got the beta but i cant find the tips? where are they???
In the bottom left corner of the arrange is a new info bar, right click on it for various goodies including tips!

I think this tip info is also editable so you could have some fun with it! Lol
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2009, 07:03 AM   #83
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

1- It is possible to reassign the "esc" (escape key) to only clear the time selection instead of clearing the time and loop selection.

2- Go to general settings / advanced UI/system settings and try out the setting "allow keyboard commands even when mouse-editing". This allows you to do things like cutting whilst still scrubbing the audio amongst other things!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 06:30 AM   #84
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,002
Default

MIDI editing:

- Use a MIDI item's volume and fade handles to control MIDI note velocity of the item's content (add and subtract).

- Use a track's "volume (Pre-FX)" envelope to control MIDI note velocity of all MIDI items on the track (add and subtract).
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 07:32 AM   #85
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
MIDI editing:

- Use a MIDI item's volume and fade handles to control MIDI note velocity of the item's content (add and subtract).

- Use a track's "volume (Pre-FX)" envelope to control MIDI note velocity of all MIDI items on the track (add and subtract).
It's these kind of innovations that make reaper top dog for me!
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 08:02 AM   #86
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,575
Default

EDIT: removed post because I may have found a bug instead of a problem with a tip.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.

Last edited by Kundalinguist; 09-12-2009 at 08:14 AM.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:27 AM   #87
JJ Jetflow
Human being with feelings
 
JJ Jetflow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 83
Default Who needs a tiplist?

With all these tips just listed here, who needs a tip list? I just learned about 100 different things just from reading this thread.

I have 2 suggestions for these great tips. Either:

1. Add these tips and more to the manual in there own
section.

OR

2. Constuct a HELP Menu for Reaper and place them there.

So my vote is the include them in the Help Menu.
JJ Jetflow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 06:35 AM   #88
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,461
Default

Shift-dragging send knobs in mixer allows adjusting pan instead of level, add ctrl to edit in finer adjustments.
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2009, 02:09 AM   #89
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: City
Posts: 9,724
Default

2009 09 14 Added to Midi Editor(Gofer), General (MusicByNumbers) and MCP/TCP Section(Mabian)
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 05:51 AM   #90
sonicbreeze
Human being with feelings
 
sonicbreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 159
Default Pitch Shift Quickly

Pitch Shift Quickly

Select Item> 1. Keep tapping Shift+0 for increment in semitones and Shift+9 for decrement in semitones

2. Keep Tapping Shift+8 for increment in cents and Shift+7 for decrement in cents

Last edited by sonicbreeze; 09-15-2009 at 05:56 AM.
sonicbreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 05:56 AM   #91
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sonicbreeze View Post
Pitch Shift Quickly

Select Item> 1. Keep tapping Shift+0 for increment in semitones and Shift+9 decrement in semitones

2. Keep Tapping Shift+8 for increment in cents and Shift+7 decrement in cents
And 1. works also for transposing non destructively MIDI items!

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel Q9550 @2.8GHz + 4GB RAM + RME Fireface UC + 1TB HD + Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 08:18 AM   #92
Fabian
Human being with feelings
 
Fabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 5,055
Default Toggle Bypass for Selected FX

I haven't seen this here yet, and I searched for "bypass" but could find only one instance of the word. Not about this.

* In the FX window, Ctrl+B toggles bypass for selected FX.

This is very useful for A/B'ing different FX chains for the same track. Bypass one of the chains, select all FX. Ctrl+B now toggles the bypass of the FX chains off/on.

Strange thing... searching for this in the actions list turns up nothing. Ctrl+B is not assigned to anything...
__________________
// MVHMF
I never always did the right thing, but all I did wasn't wrong...
Fabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 01:48 PM   #93
whatsup
Human being with feelings
 
whatsup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
MIDI editing:

- Use a MIDI item's volume and fade handles to control MIDI note velocity of the item's content (add and subtract)
indeed, but it's confusing. the Vol apper in db, so the user assume it works only for AUDIO.

i saw several things like that, that a description's confusing the user.

for example in the quantize tool, in the event list, and this one.
__________________
you can contack me on
whatsup@inn.co.il
whatsup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2009, 01:50 PM   #94
whatsup
Human being with feelings
 
whatsup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,144
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJ Jetflow View Post
With all these tips just listed here, who needs a tip list? I just learned about 100 different things just from reading this thread.

I have 2 suggestions for these great tips. Either:

1. Add these tips and more to the manual in there own
section.

OR

2. Constuct a HELP Menu for Reaper and place them there.

So my vote is the include them in the Help Menu.

agree !!!!
__________________
you can contack me on
whatsup@inn.co.il
whatsup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 12:31 PM   #95
FlanjB
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Default does anyone know how i can get my song i made onto my i-tunes???

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Reaper isn't going to get one of those "tip of the day" windows that exists only in order to give you something extra to click before you can use the program.

But if there were a list of short+sweet Reaper tips, what would you put on it? Brief suggestions for how to use features that many users may not be aware of, etc? Here are a few:

- Alt+drag a media item to slip the content left or right without moving the item itself.

- Right-click on empty space near the main toolbar to customize the toolbar by assigning custom actions and icons to different buttons.

- Shift+drag over existing data in a MIDI CC lane to create linear ramps.

- Press "?" to open the actions menu and a world of possibilities.

... over to you ...
.................................
FlanjB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 12:44 PM   #96
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,575
Default

FlanB, you need to post a helpful tip in this thread and ask questions about iTunes in another.

Thanks.
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2009, 06:00 PM   #97
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

Might be obvious but here goes

In 3.11 there is a new info line and right clicking gives options for cool info (including "tips") but what you may NOT know is that with the track info one selected, LEFT clicking it toggles through even more info related to the track or object which is very cool
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 03:03 PM   #98
nfpotter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 994
Default

Here's a couple neat little things I've added, that I find to be useful CONSTANTLY:

I added the "/" key to move time selection start and end points "around" the selected item(s).

I added the "b" key for "move to and select previous item on selected track", and the "n" key for the same with "next item" (even works with multiple selected tracks!).

Using a combination of the "b" or "n" and "/" makes it VERY fast/easy to set up time selections for loops, automation trim/edits, etc, in an "item-based" method.
__________________
"A fly was very close to being called a land, 'cause that's what they do half the time."

-Mitch Hedberg

Last edited by nfpotter; 09-26-2009 at 03:09 PM.
nfpotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 03:25 PM   #99
nfpotter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 994
Default

Don't know if this one's been mentioned:

If you grab either "edge" of the horizontal scroll bar in the arrangement area, it let's you resize it, and therefore zoom in or out horizontally in the arranger window.

Not sure why it hasn't been added for the vertical one, though.
__________________
"A fly was very close to being called a land, 'cause that's what they do half the time."

-Mitch Hedberg
nfpotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 04:26 PM   #100
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

You can also double click either scroll bar to toggle various zoom states too.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 10:11 PM   #101
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,359
Default

Unsticking this thread. Once again the link to the user-editable tips doc (thanks again nofish): here!
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 10:21 PM   #102
Marah Mag
Human being with feelings
 
Marah Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Here
Posts: 3,000
Default

Tip: When evaluating the usability and sophistication of an application, check first its main properties, preferences, and options dialogs, context menus, and tool-modifier keys. That's where you perform the hard labor.
Marah Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 01:50 AM   #103
nfpotter
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Portland, OR, USA
Posts: 994
Default

Wow...............
__________________
"A fly was very close to being called a land, 'cause that's what they do half the time."

-Mitch Hedberg
nfpotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 02:25 AM   #104
daverich
Human being with feelings
 
daverich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,584
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fabian View Post
I haven't seen this here yet, and I searched for "bypass" but could find only one instance of the word. Not about this.

* In the FX window, Ctrl+B toggles bypass for selected FX.

This is very useful for A/B'ing different FX chains for the same track. Bypass one of the chains, select all FX. Ctrl+B now toggles the bypass of the FX chains off/on.

Strange thing... searching for this in the actions list turns up nothing. Ctrl+B is not assigned to anything...
is this the same as SHIFT + L-Click ?

Kind regards

Dave Rich
__________________
Get access to all my original music as well as videos and free gigs at:-
Patreon.com/daverich
http://www.daverichband.com
daverich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 03:40 AM   #105
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daverich View Post
is this the same as SHIFT + L-Click ?

Kind regards

Dave Rich
You mean on the mixer's insert slots, yes? It's as if you SHIFT+Clicked multiple inserts in one click. So for example you can have EQ A and EQ B on a track, one of them bypassed. CTRL+B in the FX-Chain window can toggle between them after you select both.
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 05:28 AM   #106
henge
Human being with feelings
 
henge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2,153
Default

May as well mention this here. As of 3.11 FX knobs can be controlled by your mousewheel. I have a Kensington pro and the wheel surrounding the track ball is a great controller for soft knobs.Luckily my knob stays hard!
Almost feels like hardware.;-)
__________________
Registered Reaper user.
http://www.villageworkscanada.com/landingpad.cfm
henge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 08:30 AM   #107
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

I use my inner wheel on the shuttle pro for this! great stuff.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 04:33 AM   #108
yhertogh
Human being with feelings
 
yhertogh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Belgium
Posts: 1,461
Default Setting Trim while in read/write/touch/latch

Maybe this is old news, but right clicking the volume fader allows you to set the trim level, regardless off the automation mode

Yves
yhertogh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 05:10 AM   #109
AndyNewton
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 153
Default

On the subject of : Where to put all these fantastic tips and discoveries?

As a new Reaper user I am constantly hopping back and forth between the User Guide pdf (great in parts) and searches in this forum (great).

There are many Reaper items, such as on-screen text from Reaper dialogue boxes etc, that do not appear anywhere in the 3.11 User Guide pdf.

One possible location for tips posted anywhere in the forums could be for some selfless author to collect the key part of all tips and dump them all into an unstructured appendix at the back of the latest Reaper User Guide.
Perhaps a weekly exercise?
Searching for guidance in the User Guide pdf is much quicker than searching the forums, with easier navigation.

If unstructured "tips" were collected in the User Guide, there are two good results:
1) When a user encounters an issue the first reference point would be the latest User Guide, with an increased chance of finding something.
Usage model:
Set Adobe Reader to display page 1 of User Guide. Enter the topic, or dialogue box item, or whatever, in the Adobe Reader search box and hit Enter.
If the search word occurs somewhere in the main body of the User Guide then Adobe will display that page first. But if the search word does not appear in the User Guide then Adobe search will streak on through to the tips appendix and may well display a page there.
2) The unstructured "tips" appendix would already be partly prepared for writers to incorporate into the main body of the User Guide in future updates.
AndyNewton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2009, 07:51 PM   #110
clickonce
Human being with feelings
 
clickonce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
1- It is possible to reassign the "esc" (escape key) to only clear the time selection instead of clearing the time and loop selection.

2- Go to general settings / advanced UI/system settings and try out the setting "allow keyboard commands even when mouse-editing". This allows you to do things like cutting whilst still scrubbing the audio amongst other things!
I couldn't get this to work.. `esc` still cleared loop selection as well as time selection.

Anyone know what other option might be at play? I'm using 3.13... would love to have this ability.

Thanks.
clickonce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 02:54 AM   #111
4.33
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 173
Default

there's this kickass action called 'Split items under mouse cursor'
i've assigned it to \ key and then to a mouse button
chop-chop-chop!
4.33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 04:06 AM   #112
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clickonce View Post
I couldn't get this to work.. `esc` still cleared loop selection as well as time selection.

Anyone know what other option might be at play? I'm using 3.13... would love to have this ability.

Thanks.
search in actions for remove, I'm using a sws/xenakios command to do it but in 3.13 there seems to be a command to do this, the other thing is you might have option in preferences to have them linked on (or this might be in options)

EDIT: it's in options "loop points linked to time selection"
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 04:07 AM   #113
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4.33 View Post
there's this kickass action called 'Split items under mouse cursor'
i've assigned it to \ key and then to a mouse button
chop-chop-chop!
If you also go into prefs / general / advanced UI tweaks you can enable key commands whilst mouse editing which allows you to do things like scrub and hit the split key
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:07 PM   #114
clickonce
Human being with feelings
 
clickonce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 132
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
search in actions for remove, I'm using a sws/xenakios command to do it but in 3.13 there seems to be a command to do this, the other thing is you might have option in preferences to have them linked on (or this might be in options)

EDIT: it's in options "loop points linked to time selection"
That was it.. in 3.13 at least, they had ESC bound to removing them both.. I just changed it there.

Thanks for the tip.
clickonce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 06:57 PM   #115
nofish
Human being with feelings
 
nofish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: home is where the heart is
Posts: 7,235
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyNewton View Post
On the subject of : Where to put all these fantastic tips and discoveries?
Just in case you (or anyone else) should have missed it, here's a start:

http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0AZ...cDJ6M2dt&hl=en

anyone's invited to add useful tips, but please keep it a bit tidy...
nofish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 01:06 AM   #116
Marah Mag
Human being with feelings
 
Marah Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Here
Posts: 3,000
Default

Not sure if this has already been posted here, but I just mentioned this in another thread, and thought I'd put it here too.

By default, Reaper's ini files are kept under Application Data (in Windows).

But it's possible to move them, and everything in the App Data Reaper folder, to the main folder where Reaper is installed.

Doing it that way makes them a bit easier to find and keeps the entire installation in one place.

But it also prevents the most recent ini's from being overwritten if you ever need or want to restore the OS to a previous state.
Marah Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 05:19 PM   #117
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,359
Default

Bump! There have been a lot of new features added in the past couple of months, any new cool tips to contribute?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 05:45 PM   #118
Marah Mag
Human being with feelings
 
Marah Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Here
Posts: 3,000
Default

I would like a tip on how to best keep on top of all the new features (not the behind the scenes performance tweaks so much, but the actual new features, actions, etc.)

I install pretty much every pre-release and look at the release notes. But a lot of the new goodies kind of get away from me and scrolling through older release notes can be messy.

(The changes related to menu customization are stunners!)
Marah Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:05 PM   #119
Kundalinguist
Human being with feelings
 
Kundalinguist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Bump! There have been a lot of new features added in the past couple of months, any new cool tips to contribute?
Brush after every meal?

(Oh, and export your key maps cause you might lose them in the upgrade)
__________________
Success is just one more plugin away! And happiness is as close as your next upgrade.
Kundalinguist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2009, 06:57 PM   #120
Marah Mag
Human being with feelings
 
Marah Mag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Here
Posts: 3,000
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kundalinguist View Post

(Oh, and export your key maps cause you might lose them in the upgrade)
Yea. It would be good if keymaps and other .ReaStuff files (and similar) could be fully protected from upgrade overwrites. Like maybe by being able to specify a user-selected folder for those things to be kept in. I made some custom button pngs that I stopped bothering with cuz they got overwritten all the time. (Not a tip... sorry to go OT.)
Marah Mag is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.