Old 01-29-2013, 06:43 AM   #241
rex1000
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Gronau, Germany
Posts: 13
Default

I dont know if its in here already, but specially for users with a small screen its very useful:

Alt+D shows/hides the docker, gives more room to arrange
rex1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2013, 02:18 PM   #242
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,314
Default

When recording takes remember to save your active take as a comp and LOCK IT. It will prevent to be changed if you accidentally click on another take to do something with the item or just by mistake. You can have a toolbar button or keystroke assigned to Lock to active take and Unlock takes. (I know many won't do this until they render a final master with the wrong take one or two times

Also to see more clearly which take is active one you can change to add a color line bar in the active take easily in the theme configuration.
Options / Preferences / Appearance / Theme Editor: Theme color/font controls: Draw colored bar on active media item take. And Active media item take bar color
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2013, 03:05 PM   #243
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,314
Default

Read tips.txt?


for the new stretch markers, depending on the situation but it can be a good idea to start adding some stretch markers at transients using the dynamic split item. Then it is easier to manually remove or add more if needed. But it will create a starting point with many stretch markers at the current position and you have less chances to move all the audio and work only between two relatively close stretch markers.

Last edited by heda; 05-07-2013 at 04:05 PM.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 01:35 AM   #244
Coachz
Human being with feelings
 
Coachz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Charleston, SC USA
Posts: 4,799
Default

Tip: Number AND name your devices in prefs so you can easily see what's what in your TCP and MCP.

Coachz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 04:58 PM   #245
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayyJayyTheSinger View Post
Bubba just a lil Correction.....Ctrl+S is shortcut for Save
Hi-

Bubba didn't say "Ctrl+S" though, just "S," which is in fact the default for "Split."

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:05 PM   #246
JayyJayyTheSinger
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Susan G View Post
Hi-

Bubba didn't say "Ctrl+S" though, just "S," which is in fact the default for "Split."

-Susan
lol i noticed it 10 seconds after i posted the comment cause i reread it.
lolol thanks tho
JayyJayyTheSinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 06:24 PM   #247
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,591
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayyJayyTheSinger View Post
lol i noticed it 10 seconds after i posted the comment cause i reread it.
lolol thanks tho
How did you get back to just one post ?

Anyway, welcome to REAPER and the forums, and of course you're welcome !

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2013, 09:12 AM   #248
@non
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 133
Default must read

heres the 411

norburybrook on basic technical myths
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=63121

Yep on producing yrself
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=32580

the arguing about guitars thread
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=68574

net production resources thread
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...ght=production

My lame attempt to update this thread for new users
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=128154
__________________
legal notice(07/2/14)- all posts are personal & ment for reaper.fm members; information collected/disseminated to 3rd partys is in violation of privacy laws;post such (here)Immediately so appropriate penality may be negotiated

Last edited by @non; 06-01-2014 at 10:23 AM.
@non is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 09:16 PM   #249
tomtom185
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Default

You can set a zoom preset for the track height/horizontal zoom (or both) using shift + f4 through f9, then recalling them with f4 - f9. It's my favorite thing.

I love using the Shift + Middle Mouse to be able to grab around the arrange window, that was an awesome tip!

Also, Ctrl + Alt + Right drag creates a resizable box that's edges will become you new whole Arrange view, might sound annoying, but I use it a lot to get in really close, then use my f4 to jump back out It can be used across tracks, too.

To center your horizontal zoom around you mouse cursor, just click Ctrl + P to open up preferences, go to "Editing Behavior" on the left and change "Horizontal Zoom Center" to 'Mouse cursor.' Then every time you want to zoom in the MIDI Editor it won't randomly take you somewhere in you arrange window
tomtom185 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2014, 02:11 PM   #250
heda
Human being with feelings
 
heda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Spain
Posts: 4,314
Default

here is a simple tip that I usually use.
When working on a track it is recommended to disable media buffering to have quicker feedback when changing parameters or changing active takes for example. Then after the work is done on that track you can enable media buffering for that track again for better overall performance.

to disable buffering and have quicker response:
Right click on track, select Track performance options > prevent media buffering.

to enable buffering again:
Right click on track, select Track performance options > Allow media buffering.
heda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2014, 01:37 PM   #251
Diegoelmagnifico
Human being with feelings
 
Diegoelmagnifico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Llucmajor, Islas Baleares, España
Posts: 1
Default for the tips

a have read it all, sorry, nothing to add so far!
This is an incredible thread, I preffer a pdf with all the tips, as the manual, included updated in any update.
__________________
Silence speaks louder than words.
Diegoelmagnifico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 09:41 AM   #252
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 12,396
Default

this is really dumb but for me it is handy:

say you have several wav files and you want to be able to clearly see wav form on them all [zoom in] but ONLY want to actually hear one of them...

ah Mute you say? but then the wav form turns dark or black and is not easily seen.. you see? [or rather, no, you can't see! ]

OK silly as can be... just pull the volume down to zero... the track will not be heard but the wav form will look just the same.

Don't want to upset the Vol slider? OK, make an envelope and don't add points, just pull that first point down to zero... later remove the envelope to hear the track
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 06:15 PM   #253
Reaperto
Human being with feelings
 
Reaperto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Buenos Aires - Argentina
Posts: 456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
... just pull the volume down to zero... the track will not be heard but the wav form will look just the same.

Don't want to upset the Vol slider? OK, make an envelope and don't add points, just pull that first point down to zero... later remove the envelope to hear the track
Also you can disable Master/parent send: Alt click on I/O
__________________
ReaLoaded!
Reaperto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:54 PM   #254
David Perry
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 270
Default

I discovered today you can click/drag and split multiple times along the grid in the arrange window if you have either a mouse mod or a smart button to click an item and split it. I have yet to experiment but this click/drag thing may work for other actions that are ostensibly single click actions.

Click/drag multi-split might be useful if you want to chop up an item for looping or something like that. I like to chop up MIDI drum loops and rearrange the bits so I'll use it for that.
David Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 03:17 PM   #255
flusheddata
Human being with feelings
 
flusheddata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Leon, Spain
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Subz View Post
Ctrl+Alt+Drag media items from the arraignment window to render them to where you drag them (desktop, folder, or a sampler that supports drag & drop samples to it)

also

Ctrl+Alt+Shift+Drag will render the hole source file (not just the clip)

works with Midi & Audio


& don't eat yellow snow!

Subz
I really love this feature!!!
__________________
There are 10 types of people.
Those who understand binary and those who do not
flusheddata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2014, 04:43 PM   #256
David Perry
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 270
Default

Not sure if this has been posted, but there's a lot of good stuff in here:

http://reaperblog.net/2011/10/reaper...-using-reaper/
David Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2014, 03:37 AM   #257
Zang
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 18
Default

Where can the whole list of non editable tips be downloaded?
Zang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2014, 01:49 PM   #258
Jacos
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 227
Default

removing post as I now realise it was an inappropriate use of thread-sorry

Last edited by Jacos; 09-15-2014 at 06:06 PM.
Jacos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2014, 04:46 AM   #259
Tim Ragnur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 112
Default Punch in with pre-recording ala Quick Punch Mode

I recently had a job involving a lot of punch in recording vocal dubs. When I do it the basic way - that is pressing Play, then Rec on punch in spot - the key is to start plenty in advance, since I don't want to miss the breath leading to the beginning note.
What I found myself missing was the ability to let the recording musician hear the few first notes of the previous recording - while at the same time recording the new overdub (plenty in advance).
And I really don't want to create a new track pr dub...

1 Set a short cut for "Time Selection: Set start point"
2 Right click rec button, choose "Recording mode: time selection auto punch"
3 Set the time selection very late
4 Begin recording.
5 Punch in with "Time Selection: Set start point"
6 Pull left side of the item to reveal all the recorded content and make a pretty transition.

The cool thing is you can just leave the time selection if doing more takes.
Also, punch out with "Time Selection: Set end point".

Screenshot recording:
https://stash.reaper.fm/21793/punch%20in%20trick.gif

Last edited by Tim Ragnur; 09-22-2014 at 12:17 PM.
Tim Ragnur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 03:53 AM   #260
t.querens
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 1
Default

Envelopes:
- shift+click creates a point, alt+click removes it. That's probably well known, but:
- alt+drag 'stresses' a straight slope into an arc. You can drag the apex to left or right as you wish. Easier and more exact than drawing a line by hand.

FX:
- you can drag a plugin as copy, including all adjustments, from one box to another.
- with the surround plugin that comes standard, you can designate input as quadrophonic or more, even when it isn't. Handy for 3d placing of background sounds in a mix.
t.querens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2015, 11:26 AM   #261
Studio Tan
Human being with feelings
 
Studio Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 206
Default On Dynamic Split

If you split your audio file into smaller sections and then run the dynamic split, you will save mucho time!
This way, the computer doesn't have to compute the whole file, and it is much easier to find the correct threshold.

Last edited by Studio Tan; 02-12-2016 at 01:31 PM.
Studio Tan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 04:53 PM   #262
2Tone
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 2
Default Bit rate controls in Reaper

Hi folks,
New to Forums of any sort so I apologize if i'm in the wrong place.

I'm also new to Reaper (coming from Cubase) and can't find bit rate settings to adjust my new RME Fireface UFX unit. In Cubase both bit rate and sampling rate could be controlled within the DAW. I can only find sampling rate within Reaper.

Also how to set latency rate within Reaper that meshes with the hardware? My PC hardware is good enough with a 3+ GHZ processor and 12 gig of RAM. Just don't know how to align these settings.

My usual setup is 24 bit 48,000 sampling rate and I'd like to maintain this with the new setup. Any advice would be appreciated.
2Tone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 10:38 PM   #263
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 15,906
Default

Its in the project settings menu under media.
Although as far as I know/can remember Reaper defaults to 24bit and the rest you can set in several places, including, but not limited to, the media menu per above.
I know the Reaper documentation is really massive, but at least it is free!

Welcome to the forum and have fun.
Right click everything and ask questions as much as you like.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2016, 02:54 AM   #264
jjinvegas
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 15
Default Stretch Markers and Dynamic Splits on Real Drums

I don't know how many use this feature, but it is the bomb for getting drums performed by messy humans like me to sound like we can count to at least four. I have found that to avoid false and untimely triggers, put the VST "turn audio into a midi trigger" on the kick, follow that with ReaSamplematic, and load a cross-stick snare in, render that, and use it as the track for dynamic splitting. As it is a constant volume, and only has the pulse of the kick, setting the threshold is far simpler. Same trick with snare. To really make life easier, don't group the items until you see how close the splits are to the actual signals, and then slide the track around. Now split it again while sharing it with the grouped kit. If you snap that to the grid, the hats and ride and toms still free range a bit, while the kick and snare get on time. Try various grid resolutions, sometimes eight notes work better, sometimes you need 32nd note, depending on the syncopation of kick and snare. If a track has lots of swing, dynamic splits are probably more hassle than useful. I manually just put a marker on the kick that hits the one, and just make at least the measure start on time. This also works if too many markers make things mechanical.
jjinvegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2016, 04:30 PM   #265
FAR OUT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: California
Posts: 1
Default

Sidebar Layout in the Mixer Panel
FAR OUT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 04:41 PM   #266
bolgwrad
Human being with feelings
 
bolgwrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On my arse
Posts: 93
Default Miss this massive MIDI editing feature?

I don't know how long it's been available (no doubt forever) but I've only just discovered by accident that you can select and edit multiple MIDI tracks (eg a drum kit, or bass and kick drum, or multiple soft synths) at once. Shift+click or Ctrl+click on your MIDI tracks and then double-click to edit. The multi-track MIDI data just appears in the one grid, though you will probably need to zoom out. Wish I'd known this ages ago, it's something that might not have occurred to you either!
bolgwrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2016, 03:25 PM   #267
JeffreyET
Human being with feelings
 
JeffreyET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Posts: 253
Default

[Re: USB keypad as a remote control - QUOTE=Amazed;881191]Make a note to get a wireless one [/QUOTE]
I want to try this. Assuming Reaper will remember all custom actions between sessions (when it is unplugged then reinstalled)?
__________________
JET Guitars Website http://www.jetguitars.com
Jeffrey's REAPER tracks http://soundcloud.com/jeffreyet
JeffreyET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2016, 03:06 PM   #268
Johanai
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Studio Tan View Post
If you split your audio file into smaller sections and then run the dynamic split, you will save mucho time!
This way, the computer doesn't have to compute the whole file, and it is much easier to find the correct threshold.
Very useful tip. Thank you!
Johanai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2016, 03:42 AM   #269
atza
Human being with feelings
 
atza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 135
Default

Shift-Up increases height of waveform as if they were louder. Useful when you have weak waveform(as electric guitar recorded directly).
Or is it Ctrl-Up
atza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2017, 06:04 PM   #270
jesussaddle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 127
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dub3000 View Post
i think right-click drag [edit: to marquee select items] should be the first one. that took me a while to figure out and it's pretty fundamental.
I second that. Its one of the most important things to know, after Ctrl-Click & Drag to drag a copy of your selection.
jesussaddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2017, 02:39 PM   #271
jmgweb01
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Kitsap County, Washington
Posts: 35
Default Colors for the Colorblind!

I'm colorblind so I had a hard time consistently picking colors for my tracks. So I made a little gouge based on the track color matrix in Reaper (attached).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Track Color Guide.jpg (45.5 KB, 120 views)
jmgweb01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 02:39 AM   #272
Beastmode Beats
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 14
Default

My favorite one is, hold Shift + 9 to pitch down one semitone, and hold Shift + 0 to pitch up one semitone.
Beastmode Beats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2017, 08:13 AM   #273
gpunk_w
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3,142
Default

seriously, you have to request access to download the shared tips of the day in the first post ???
Is this 1997 hahahaha
__________________
Reaper scripters, that is all !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
gpunk_w is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.