Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-30-2021, 04:26 PM   #1
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,889
Default Holy Heck what happened to megababy?

32 bit XP on two different machines. Same preset, same pattern.

In v5.99, everything's cool


In v6.38, yes it is in fact spitting out all of those lighter colored notes. If I try to click to draw a pattern, it will do a very similar thing where it seems like the note I actually click gets full velocity and then every other note gets set to 0.




Is this a known issue? Something I did on my end? If so, what possibly could have done that?


Thanks
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2021, 04:34 PM   #2
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,889
Default

Occurred to me maybe I should check in 6.42. Still no good.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 11:20 AM   #3
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,889
Default

I know this is frustratingly little to go on. I skipped most of v6 so far and just recently took the dive. I did get the chance to test v6.0, which works fine, and searching the old versions page for "megababy" brought me to v6.09, but that also worked. I expected that because I have tried copying the plugin itself from older versions into the newer versions and those didn't work. I have my own version of megababy that I have hacked a little for my own use, and that displays the same behavior as the "stock" version in brand new portable installs.


I don't have time right now, but later I'll try to zero in on exactly which version it starts at.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2021, 12:22 PM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,864
Default

Quote:
I don't have time right now, but later I'll try to zero in on exactly which version it starts at.
That would be helpful! I'll take a look and see if I can duplicate too. (edit: can't duplicate)

Any steps to reproduce? Can I have the preset or project file that loads different on 5.99 vs current?

Last edited by Justin; 12-01-2021 at 05:03 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 10:33 AM   #5
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6,889
Default

Sorry about the delay on this. 6.23 works, 6.24 (and after) doesn't.


Could it be this?:
"JSFX: improve denormal filtering on win32 to match win64/other OSes"


Steps to reproduce: New portable install, new project, new track, add megababy, click to add notes. The pics I posted show presets I have from previous in my default project template, but that is not necessary to break it.

Last edited by ashcat_lt; 12-02-2021 at 10:40 AM.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2021, 02:58 PM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 14,864
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
Sorry about the delay on this. 6.23 works, 6.24 (and after) doesn't.


Could it be this?:
"JSFX: improve denormal filtering on win32 to match win64/other OSes"


Steps to reproduce: New portable install, new project, new track, add megababy, click to add notes. The pics I posted show presets I have from previous in my default project template, but that is not necessary to break it.
What CPU are you on? I finally duplicated running in QEMU (but can't duplicate on a C2D nor i7)... cool, will try to get to the bottom of this!

Last edited by Justin; 12-02-2021 at 03:20 PM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.