Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER General Discussion Forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2021, 02:13 PM   #1
thevisi0nary
Human being with feelings
 
thevisi0nary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 345
Default How can I record from a VST's gui keyboard as step input?

There are certain situations where it would be easier to do something like hit a note on the kontakt keyboard (within kontakt) and have it register as an input, more specifically as step input. How would this be possible?
thevisi0nary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 03:19 PM   #2
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,102
Default

the keyboard in Kontakt doesn't send MIDI so it can't be recorded.

View - virtual MIDI keyboard

that's the closest thing
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 03:36 PM   #3
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,780
Default

^^^
Kontakt can do - there's a setting in the Options dialogue.

Not sure about doing that is step mode, though. I've never tried it.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 04:28 PM   #4
thevisi0nary
Human being with feelings
 
thevisi0nary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
^^^
Kontakt can do - there's a setting in the Options dialogue.

Not sure about doing that is step mode, though. I've never tried it.
I've figured out you can record vsti inputs by setting the record to record midi outputs. What's super inconvenient though is you cant use it for either overdub nor step input. Which seems like a no brainer to me.

(For anyone who might see this in the future and wants a work around) In the mean time I've made two custom actions I can use in the midi editor via pass through. First action sets the record mode, records. Then a separate action that stops recording, switches to record takes in lanes, adds the original item to selection, sets item preferences to always mix, then glues them. So don't even need to close the midi editor.
thevisi0nary is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2021, 05:16 PM   #5
EpicSounds
Human being with feelings
 
EpicSounds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 6,102
Default

over my head
__________________
REAPER Video Tutorials, Tips & Tricks and more at The REAPER Blog
EpicSounds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2021, 02:23 PM   #6
thevisi0nary
Human being with feelings
 
thevisi0nary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
over my head
Records the midi output of kontakt and glues the items together so the notes are on the same track.

Step input from kontakt GUI keyboard (or any vsti) would be really useful though. It helps for instrument key switches I don’t have mapped to reaticulate or if I just want to do it once quickly, without the mental gymnastics of figuring out the note on the midi editor. Also helps with Battery 4 where there are tons of different cells and no names in the midi editor.
thevisi0nary is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.