Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Feature Requests

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2013, 03:54 PM   #41
drakeblood
Human being with feelings
 
drakeblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 309
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LETO View Post
Yes, definitely yes.

What about the way FL Studio handles this?
- Basically it is a simple formula editor which converts the input value to some output.
This is quite an extreme example, but you also just choose "Input/2", or work with booleans to have multiple ranges such as "(Input>(3/5) and (Input<(4/5)))*(8/10)". The result is a switch that opens for 80% within a range between 3/5 and 4/5. Endless possibilities..
Would be too good to be real, i loved this part of FL.
drakeblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 01:15 AM   #42
cjaxis
Human being with feelings
 
cjaxis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 128
Default

+10000

sometimes learning an controller become useless without that option
cjaxis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 02:36 AM   #43
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Thanks for the support all! The more votes the merrier. We're on course now for REAPER Ver.92 (due out in the first quarter of 3005!)

Any more takers?!
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 01:16 PM   #44
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Wow.

1 year old.

It brings a tear to your eye.

They grow up so fast. :*)
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 08:37 AM   #45
MCCY
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 287
Default

Searching exactly for this feature. Being very sad to find, that reaper cannot do that.
I play EWI through reaper & want to use a Midi controller along with the EWI midi control signals. EWI needs to be set up very carefully for subtle sound-changes (breath, bite & pitch sensors) on other parameters & I need such a feature to controll exactly the range around the sweetspot. I want to use a foot controller in addition, but it reacts not very sensitive...

Martin
MCCY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 03:25 PM   #46
drakeblood
Human being with feelings
 
drakeblood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 309
Default

We need this like bread&butter, please let's not make it sink like all other seriously useful (and forgotten) FR...
drakeblood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:53 PM   #47
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Thanks for the support guys.

It's been over a year and a half since I made this request - but no movement whatsoever.

http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4127

39 votes so far. I'm not sure if that's a small number or a big number as I don't really follow other feature requests.

How many votes do you need to get noticed?
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 03:43 AM   #48
n0rd
Human being with feelings
 
n0rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Down Under
Posts: 396
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chopstickkk View Post
There should be...

- A 'Low' value between 0-127 (default being 0)
- A 'High' value between 0-127 (default being 127)

...left to the default values things behave as normal.

But if you set "Low 64" and "127 High" you can for example allow the full sweep of a mod wheel controller to send only values 64-127 to the parameter.

Or if you wanted to invert the control you would just enter "Low 127" and "High 0".
Yes please!
__________________
Subconscious Inclination...
n0rd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 04:15 AM   #49
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Thanks N0rd!
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 05:02 PM   #50
assid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 20
Default

got my vote
assid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 02:29 AM   #51
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Thanks Assid.

Every little helps.
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 03:24 AM   #52
BrufordRules
Human being with feelings
 
BrufordRules's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 40
Default

__________________
Bill Bruford on King Crimson: This is a band where you get to play in weird time signatures and still stay in nice hotels.
BrufordRules is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2013, 04:48 AM   #53
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BrufordRules View Post
Living up to his name, Bruford does indeed rule.
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 02:24 PM   #54
milosh
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 43
Default

Voted YES

I use macro knobs in Ableton live all the time... They just work and make everything simpler and faster. You can assign unlimited number of parameters to one knob with min and max values for each. You can even turn on and off effects in ableton with knobs and automate it..
I miss this feature in Reaper a lot!
milosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 11:24 PM   #55
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by milosh View Post
Voted YES

I use macro knobs in Ableton live all the time... They just work and make everything simpler and faster. You can assign unlimited number of parameters to one knob with min and max values for each. You can even turn on and off effects in ableton with knobs and automate it..
I miss this feature in Reaper a lot!
Thanks Milosh!

Yes I too really feel Ableton's system is much better for MIDI learn than REAPER's. Macro knobs would be amazing but first a simple min max control for the MIDI learn would take us miles closer!
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2013, 11:55 PM   #56
Chad Stockart
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 11
Default

Would be nice to scale the cc lane in midi editor also.
Chad Stockart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2013, 07:28 PM   #57
TheBestMeICanBe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The Universe
Posts: 37
Default

Added one more emphatic yes vote!

Reaper's MIDI learn is a constant source of frustration for me. It's obviously capable of doing just about anything but the poor interface and lack of ability to fine tune mappings has always been so off-putting for me. I once even tried to convince Hermann Seib to make a VST-wrapper version of his SaviHost that one could load in Reaper and other hosts because of its far more usable midi-learn capabilities. Sadly it never came to be, and that was three years ago or so! And Reaper's MIDI learn hasn't seen much (any?) improvement in all that time, so any attention paid to this sorely-lacking area of an otherwise great DAW is very welcome as far as I am concerned.
TheBestMeICanBe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 01:19 AM   #58
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Thank you Mel!
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:49 AM   #59
Michael_DK
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 15
Default

Duly voted.

ReaComp threshold and other controls are next to useless without this. EXTREMELY slow moving in the upper ranges, and waaaay to large jumps in the lower ranges. Haven't gotten this to work, if there are any other means of obtaining a more reasonable scale I'm all ears. What's the point of midi control if the increments are hard-wired to be unworkable?

How many votes so far?
Michael_DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 08:58 AM   #60
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,414
Default

I almost hate to post usable workarounds in Feature Request threads, lol

but...

You can link Parameter Modulation to some "dummy" control knob to limit the range

see;
http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.p...ter+modulation
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 09:00 AM   #61
chopstickkk
Human being with feelings
 
chopstickkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 120
Default

Thanks Michael!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael_DK View Post
How many votes so far?
Evidently not enough so far, but seeing as editing multiple midi items was just implemented after being an FR for 4 years, perhaps there's hope for the future!
__________________
Please consider voting - MIDI Learn - Scale / Range / Baseline Value + Offset + Percentage
chopstickkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2013, 11:42 AM   #62
Studiostriver
Human being with feelings
 
Studiostriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Bosnia/Belltown
Posts: 71
Default

I voted!
Studiostriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2014, 07:12 AM   #63
obstgegenrechz
Human being with feelings
 
obstgegenrechz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 88
Default

surprised that this isn`t integrated yet


+1 (million)
obstgegenrechz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2014, 06:26 AM   #64
horneusz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 19
Default

+1 !!!!
I voted
horneusz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2014, 01:16 PM   #65
Taika-Kim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 29
Default

Voted, NEED!
Taika-Kim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 10:18 AM   #66
mucknog
Human being with feelings
 
mucknog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 89
Default

Voted!

This should also be applicable for actions like "Adjust playrate" etc.
mucknog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2015, 12:20 PM   #67
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,428
Default

BPP handled this stuff sublimely well with a MIDI plugin.
And it was far more versatile than what is suggested here, even. in 1991.

I know - I'll shut up now....
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 07:07 AM   #68
audiocan
Human being with feelings
 
audiocan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 66
Default

Anyone still wanting this feature in 2018? I certainly do!

I hope I see the day where I can fine tune my compressors ratio with my MIDI controller without values jumping all over the place before I die.
audiocan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 07:28 AM   #69
deeb
Human being with feelings
 
deeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1,800
Default

+1 i have asked something related some time ago:
https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=205206
deeb is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 08:48 AM   #70
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,214
Default

Reg: Jumping around...

I have seen some jumping issues but I'm not sure this request is the underlying problem. For example, 0-127 constitutes the entire "throw" of a knob/fader, that's all that's there to be had and is usually handled via absolute mode - but IIRC I see a different behavior from some controllers compared to a controller I built myself.

IOW, the controller I built when set to absolute in Reaper, is perfectly stable and resolution is a perfect one to one match between the real and virtual fader. Meaning jumping around should be a different problem then "I want it to take three turns of a relative controller to = 1 full turn of the virtual knob". It's possible this is a problem where we want a true relative/endless hardware controller to act like a true hardware absolute controller. The difference there is a true absolute potentiometer just has a 220 degree rotation and converts resistance changes into CC values - where a relative controller is a completely different animal.

Actually I fixed this in my controller (which has one true absolute and two relative encoders). When I wanted the relative to behave as absolute, I had to write code that always reset the relative value when the direction changed (I think). I was never able to make this behavior work with a brand name controller.

Hmm....

TLDR but did you guys try adjusting for some of this (jumping et al) by customizing the settings for the knobs in the hardware? Seems like I remember doing this in the past to fix similar issues.

Last edited by karbomusic; 07-12-2018 at 05:28 PM.
karbomusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2018, 11:37 PM   #71
audiocan
Human being with feelings
 
audiocan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 66
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Reg: Jumping around...
I used the wrong term, my bad (not a native speaker, apologies). I should have said "increasing/decreasing in coarse, rather random looking steps." It happens due to the midi range (0-127) not being optimally scaled to a given parameter (eg. compressor's ratio).
audiocan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.