Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Old 12-02-2017, 09:12 AM   #1
johnss
Human being with feelings

Default Creating FX Sends & Returns in REAPER ?

Hi

Im new to reaper (came from sonar) and i already have question (haha) :-)

I have followed kenny´s great tutorials on youtube, and still do

Can i use the same way kenny do this in his great tutorials "Creating FX Sends & Returns in REAPER":
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KhK8UGYRXXc

I want to use my uvi falcon on several miditracks - just one instance of falcon that "controls" the other tracks...isnt it called multitrack?

Or how do i set it up...
johnss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 10:54 AM   #2
uncleswede

Welcome.

I don't own UVI Falcon but, *IF* it is multitimbral and you can set up patches that respond individually to midi channels 1-16, you would probably need to do the following:

This reads a bit long-winded but, if it's something you do regularly, you can select all the tracks and save them as a track template for later use.

- create a track, name it "Falcon" and add the Falcon VST to it's FX list

- in the Falcon VST create three, different patches/instruments that respond to MIDI channels 1, 2 and 3 respectively

- create a few MIDI tracks called MIDI 1, MIDI 2, MIDI 3 and set the MIDI input as Virtual MIDI keyboard, omni

- open up the routing for the Falcon track and add the following 'receives;

- From track "MIDI 1", no audio, MIDI All to MIDI channel 1
- From track "MIDI 2", no audio, MIDI All to MIDI channel 2
- From track "MIDI 3", no audio, MIDI All to MIDI channel 3

- Bring up the virtual MIDI keyboard (Alt-B)

- Now for track MIDI 1, record arm it, turn monitoring on and play the virtual keyboard. You should hear whatever Falcon 'patch' you set to respond on MIDI channel 1

- Repeat for tracks MIDI 2 and MIDI 3.

Hope that helps
uncleswede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2017, 11:25 AM   #3
DarkStar