Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > newbieland

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2019, 02:13 AM   #1
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 540
Default Can I have 'mute' and 'solo' in fx window?

Hi, is it possible to have mute and solo from the TCP in the fx window?



When mixing I often have lots of fx windows open - say drumbus, kick and bass, and when in need to check a track in solo it's a pain to find the track in the TCP.

Any thoughts on a solution or workaround?

Thanks.
-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J

Last edited by Winfield; 04-24-2019 at 11:40 PM. Reason: Addded picture to clarify
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 02:09 AM   #2
Tuberizer
Human being with feelings
 
Tuberizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winfield View Post
Hi, is it possible to have mute and solo from the TCP in the fx window?

When mixing I often have lots of fx windows open - say drumbus, kick and bass, and when in need to check a track in solo it's a pain to find the track in the TCP.

Any thoughts on a solution or workaround?

Thanks.
-W
Hey man not sure if I understand what you mean but can't you just use shortcuts? Go to the action list and make one for "toggle solo" and "toggle mute" and that should be it, right?
Tuberizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:29 AM   #3
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,404
Default

+1 -- like this idea!

Toggling the mute and the like work on the focused track, as opposed to the track associated with the focused FX window.

I bet scripters could come up with something, if it doesn't already exist? "toggle mute/solo for track associated with focused FX window"?
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 07:56 AM   #4
J Reverb
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 656
Default

There are these scripts by mpl.

Script: mpl_Toggle mute focused FX track.lua
Script: mpl_Toggle solo focused FX track.lua
J Reverb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 08:53 AM   #5
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Reverb View Post
There are these scripts by mpl.
mpl to the rescue!
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 09:11 AM   #6
Tuberizer
Human being with feelings
 
Tuberizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 75
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
+1 -- like this idea!

Toggling the mute and the like work on the focused track, as opposed to the track associated with the focused FX window.

I bet scripters could come up with something, if it doesn't already exist? "toggle mute/solo for track associated with focused FX window"?
What is a "focused track"?
Tuberizer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 09:39 AM   #7
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuberizer View Post
What is a "focused track"?
I should have said "selected"; if you click in the blank space of a track in the arrange view, it is highlighted -- this is the track that will be muted or un-muted when you run the standard mute/solo actions, even if an FX window for a different track has focus, hence the need for the mpl script.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 10:32 PM   #8
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
... "toggle mute/solo for track associated with focused FX window"?
Yeah, this is what I meant - with the mute/solo buttons in the fx-window.

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Reverb View Post
There are these scripts by mpl.

Script: mpl_Toggle mute focused FX track.lua
Script: mpl_Toggle solo focused FX track.lua
Thanks for the suggested workaround and a big hooray for mpl!

It would be awesome to have as buttons (say, next to the notes field) on the fx-window!

Thanks
-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2019, 11:42 PM   #9
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 540
Default

The mpl_toggle scripts don't seem to actually work - at least not as useful as expected - when the fx window is focused it does not work here (it works only when the fx window is *not* in focus). Am I doing something wrong or is this intended?

Also, I updated the first post with a picture of the initial idea.

Thanks
-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J

Last edited by Winfield; 04-25-2019 at 12:02 AM.
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 05:20 AM   #10
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
I bet scripters could come up with something, if it doesn't already exist? "toggle mute/solo for track associated with focused FX window"?
Been wanting this myself, one idea I'm playing with requires latest REAPER pre-release version with the Global Hoykeys feature.

I add these scripts and associate them to 'S' and 'M' keys with new Global option enabled. Then when arrangeview has focus 'S' key splits item and 'M' key adds a Marker, else if focus window has titlebar text that starts with typical FX-window names ('FX: ', 'VST: ', etc) it toggles Solo/Mute for the focused FX track/master track.
Attached Files
File Type: lua Marker Or Mute.lua (1.7 KB, 19 views)
File Type: lua Split Or Solo.lua (1.7 KB, 18 views)

Last edited by Edgemeal; 04-25-2019 at 08:02 PM. Reason: Minor code tweaks to scripts
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 06:00 AM   #11
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,404
Default

Sounds like Edgemeal's script could be modified to add buttons, or OP if you want to pursue getting mpl's scripts to work for you, I'd suggest posting in the scripts forum with his handle in the subject to get his attention (or you could PM him I think.)
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 04:53 PM   #12
hopi
Human being with feelings
 
hopi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Right Hear
Posts: 14,925
Default

if it is such a pain to find it in the tcp.... how about using the track list and doing it there?
__________________
...should be fixed for the next build... http://tinyurl.com/cr7o7yl
https://soundcloud.com/hopikiva/angel-rain
hopi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 10:34 AM   #13
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
I add these scripts...
Thanks a lot Edgemeal! I will check your scripts out when I'm at the DAW.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hopi View Post
how about using the track list and doing it there?
Thanks for the suggested workaround - I'm not currently using the track list so perhaps I'm going about this the wrong way - but it seems like some more clicks than preferable, also the track list does take some screen real estate, that seems hard to justify just for this (opposed to a key/button shortcut).


Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Sounds like Edgemeal's script could be modified to add buttons
How do I add buttons - can the fx window actually be modded?

Thanks
-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 10:39 AM   #14
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,404
Default

Quote:
How do I add buttons - can the fx window actually be modded?
Sorry, I shouldn't have conjectured -- I have no idea if buttons can actually be added, I just assumed, and in retrospect, I have no idea. :-)
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 02:10 PM   #15
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Sorry, I shouldn't have conjectured -- I have no idea if buttons can actually be added, I just assumed, and in retrospect, I have no idea. :-)
Lol - here I was getting my hopes up
Really dig your ABX app by the way! It's also perfect for the crowd of all-too-enthusiastic hi-fi enthusiasts

-W
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2019, 03:07 PM   #16
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,404
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winfield View Post
Really dig your ABX app by the way! It's also perfect for the crowd of all-too-enthusiastic hi-fi enthusiasts
Good to hear. :-)
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 02:00 AM   #17
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 540
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
... Then when arrangeview has focus 'S' key splits item ...
In my workflow with this script I find myself creating unwanted splits unintentionally - could the script be modded to *only* affect the solo of the track of the selected fx-window?

Thanks again.
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 07:38 AM   #18
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winfield View Post
In my workflow with this script I find myself creating unwanted splits unintentionally - could the script be modded to *only* affect the solo of the track of the selected fx-window?

Thanks again.
Yes simple change of one line of code really, I was just trying to kill two birds with one stone.

Since I'm on v5.975rc1 today (without the global hotkey feature) I launch these scripts from fx window using F9 & F10 keys.
HTH.

EDIT: On second thought, you could set scripts like 'mpl_Toggle solo focused FX track.lua' to F10 key and it will do same thing as attached scripts. Note mpl's script doesn't toggle solo for master track, only enables it, which I'm sure he/someone could easily fix.
Attached Files
File Type: lua Toggle track Mute from FX window.lua (1.6 KB, 14 views)
File Type: lua Toggle track Solo from FX window.lua (1.6 KB, 12 views)

Last edited by Edgemeal; 04-29-2019 at 08:08 AM. Reason: Update text for Undo History
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 11:34 AM   #19
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 540
Default

Thanks again Edgemeal - the scripts work perfect for me now!
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 12:19 PM   #20
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,288
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Winfield View Post
Thanks again Edgemeal - the scripts work perfect for me now!
Whatever works but, I think these last 2 scripts my be overkill for just that though. Main reason for my script to begin with was to use same key to run specific actions depending on what I have focus on.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2019, 12:50 PM   #21
Winfield
Human being with feelings
 
Winfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: The Underground Bunker
Posts: 540
Default

Well I was having trouble with the mpl scripts (only working when fx window wast not in focus) and these works fine.

I was using the '½'/'§' key with the mpl-script and that might have been the problem, as it actually works now (on another machine though). Thanks to your scripts - overkill or not - there's something that works, and I have options. Great success, thanks again!
__________________
"if DAWs are religions, REAPER is atheism" - The big J
Winfield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2019, 10:34 PM   #22
mpl
Human being with feelings
 
mpl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 2,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
Note mpl's script doesn't toggle solo for master track, only enables it, which I'm sure he/someone could easily fix.
That seems an API bug. The description of GetMasterMuteSoloFlags() says
Quote:
This is deprecated as you can just query the master track as well.
However this doesn`t work (I remember it did). On the script side it could be fixed by using deprecated function:

Code:
  reaper.Undo_BeginBlock()
  local _, tracknumber = reaper.GetFocusedFX()
  local param = 'B_MUTE'
  if tracknumber >= 0 then tr =  reaper.CSurf_TrackFromID( tracknumber, false )end
  state = reaper.GetMediaTrackInfo_Value( tr, param )
  if tracknumber ==0 then state = reaper.GetMasterMuteSoloFlags()&1 end
  reaper.SetMediaTrackInfo_Value( tr, param, math.abs(state-1) )
  reaper.TrackList_AdjustWindows( false )
  reaper.Undo_EndBlock('Toggle mute focused FX track', 0 )
When using a shortcuts, my scripts don`t seem to work for me except F10 F11 and some other keys. I don`t know the reason of this. These scripts was designed for using with toolbar button so not tested with shortcut, custom/cycle action, MIDI/OSC bindings, or running from another ReaScript.
__________________
SoundCloud | MPL Scripts discussion | ReaPack | Donate

Last edited by mpl; 05-03-2019 at 10:43 PM.
mpl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2019, 05:54 AM   #23
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 1,288
Default

Thanks!
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.