Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Dstruct's Casa De Nitpicks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-11-2024, 07:01 AM   #1
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,585
Default Mouse modifier "real copy" does pooled copies (SOLVED)

The mouse modifier "make real copy" always does one
"pooled copy".

We have the mouse modifiers for our Reaper environment
set so that the Arrange window is:

<ctrl> + left mouse drag: make real copy
<alt> + left mouse drag: make pooled copy

However, <ctrl>+ left mouse drag always returns one
pooled copy of the midi item. We always have to afterwards
run the action “unpool midi-item”.

Version Reaper 7.07 portable - Windows 10.

It's not really bad, but it's a bit annoying.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de

Last edited by enroe; 02-03-2024 at 02:23 AM.
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2024, 08:41 AM   #2
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,585
Default

The problem still exists in Reaper version 7.09.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2024, 10:02 AM   #3
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 15,800
Default

The issue is probably that "Preferences/Media/MIDI/Pool MIDI source data when pasting or duplicating items" overrides the mouse modifier. That setting is disabled by default, I am guessing it is enabled in your setup.

The behavior is by design, so that users who always want pooled copies can set the global setting and not have to change the default mouse modifiers. Do you have a use case where you want the global setting enabled but also want to be able to override/disable pooling using mouse modifiers?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2024, 02:22 AM   #4
enroe
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 1,585
Default

Yes, that's exactly it! Thanks for the reply!

I don't have a use case for your suggested scenario.

But mmmhh... it's a bit confusing when the same or a
similar setting can be made in two different places
in the preferences - and as a user you can only
guess what is really happening.
__________________
free mp3s + info: andy-enroe.de songs and weird stuff: enroe.de
enroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2024, 09:50 AM   #5
vxzerg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Udmurtia
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schwa View Post
Do you have a use case where you want the global setting enabled but also want to be able to override/disable pooling using mouse modifiers?
This is my case. I used to have pooling items when duplicate and copy items by default, and special mouse modifier ctrl+alt+drag to "just copy" without pooling. It worked fine before version 7 update, now it doesn't work. Could you bring this option back?
vxzerg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2024, 12:18 PM   #6
Daodan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,177
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vxzerg View Post
This is my case. I used to have pooling items when duplicate and copy items by default, and special mouse modifier ctrl+alt+drag to "just copy" without pooling. It worked fine before version 7 update, now it doesn't work. Could you bring this option back?
+1
Daodan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.