Old 09-05-2019, 02:47 AM   #1
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default Crash report - Opened MIDI editor

I'm getting quite a few crashes recently on simple actions like opening the midi editor.

I also get crashes very often when editing dialog boxes - particularly when I use alt+arrow to skip a word.
Attached Files
File Type: zip 190905 Reaper Crash Report.zip (35.6 KB, 24 views)
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 07:03 AM   #2
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,474
Default

Thanks! Can you post a copy of your reaper.ini and reaper-menu.ini files too?

Can you tell me, how are you opening the MIDI editor (via mouse, bound-action, menu item, etc)?

When editing dialog boxes -- can you be more specific (maybe show a LICEcap of it too?)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 07:56 AM   #3
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default

Thanks, Justin

To open the MIDI editor I use CMD+Opt+Ctrl+Shift+Left which is triggered by my mouse. Logitech Options software version 7.12.82 firmware version 11.05.0018. It crashed first thing today after booting but hasn't done so since. It's crashed on a few simple edits recently but I've not noticed any pattern.

The text editing crash goes back some time but I've not been able to replicate it now. Typically only happens while renaming tracks, but it has happened in places like the render dialogue box before.
Attached Files
File Type: zip inis.zip (36.5 KB, 12 views)
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2019, 10:47 AM   #4
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,474
Default

Hmm can you reproduce any of these crashes if you uninstall the Logitech software?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 03:16 AM   #5
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Hmm can you reproduce any of these crashes if you uninstall the Logitech software?
Sorry I'm just coming back to this now - been busy at work.

The crashing on text editing is a real problem for me. In the LICEap you can see that I type opt+arrow to navigate to the beginning of the word - this causes the crash and happens 40-50% of the time when using Reaper only. It also happens if the project is loaded with plugins offline.

In the project file, I've attached, this crash is happening 100% of the time. Either by renaming tracks, items (using F2 - items properties) or the render window - what I've found.

Where it doesn't happen is in text boxes like the actions window, or if I rename a track using "Xenakios/SWS: Rename selected tracks..." Maybe this is telling?

To replicate:
- I imagine my .ini is important?
- Load the .RPP-BAK.
- Double click a track name
- Type opt+Left Arrow and then opt+Right Arrow

In this test, I disabled Logitech by denying its privileges in System Preferences. I also disabled a few other input related apps.


Download the Reaper File.

Download the Crash Report.


I couldn't upload the attachments - said I had an invalid token :/
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 06:34 AM   #6
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,474
Default

Sorry, one more request! Can I have your reaper-kb.ini? Thanks!
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 07:30 AM   #7
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Sorry, one more request! Can I have your reaper-kb.ini? Thanks!
No worries - attached
Attached Files
File Type: zip reaper-kb.ini.zip (126.6 KB, 6 views)
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2019, 09:56 AM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,474
Default

Thanks! Duplicated and looking into this now.

As a side note: you can probably workaround this problem for now by enabling REAPER's splash screen, or by showing the "View" menu before doing anything else when loading (both of these seem to fix the issue here, though I'm trying to figure out the root of it now).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 02:43 AM   #9
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default

Wow. Thanks and also, thanks for ruling out 'computer programmer' as an alternative career for me; I wouldn't have made a link between splash screen/View menu and that issue.
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 04:51 AM   #10
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stroudy View Post
Wow. Thanks and also, thanks for ruling out 'computer programmer' as an alternative career for me; I wouldn't have made a link between splash screen/View menu and that issue.
Nor would I! That's just where the testing took me...

This is looking a lot like a bug in Mojave; I'll see if I can figure out a workaround (and a minimal demonstration of it to send to Apple).
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2019, 03:39 AM   #11
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
This is looking a lot like a bug in Mojave.
Ah man. BTW, the splash screen isn't doing its thing as a workaround here. Showing "View" seems to beworking out just fine though. Cheers
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2019, 12:46 PM   #12
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stroudy View Post
Ah man. BTW, the splash screen isn't doing its thing as a workaround here. Showing "View" seems to beworking out just fine though. Cheers
Thanks, I think I have a workaround fix for this (the view menu one) here, should be in a build soon.

Have you been able to reproduce a similar crash via the MIDI editor?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 02:29 AM   #13
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Have you been able to reproduce a similar crash via the MIDI editor?
Not exactly, BUT... I did just use the same key command (CMD+Opt+Ctrl+Shift+Left)* to take me out of my Media Explorer Window screenset and it crashed.

*It doesn't actually take me back to my main arrange window view, but I habitually press my thumb mouse button - often in error.

Clearly an issue with the arrow keys, not the MIDI editor.
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 02:50 AM   #14
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Have you been able to reproduce a similar crash via the MIDI editor?
Yes... AND.... I did just use the same key command (CMD+Opt+Ctrl+Shift+Left)* to take me out of my Media Explorer Window screenset and it crashed.

*It doesn't actually do this, but I pressed it habitually.
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2019, 06:41 AM   #15
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,474
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stroudy View Post
Not exactly, BUT... I did just use the same key command (CMD+Opt+Ctrl+Shift+Left)* to take me out of my Media Explorer Window screenset and it crashed.

*It doesn't actually take me back to my main arrange window view, but I habitually press my thumb mouse button - often in error.

Clearly an issue with the arrow keys, not the MIDI editor.
Was the MIDI editor or Media explorer focused when this happened? Or rather -- which main menu was being shown (the main window's, the media explorer's, or the midi editor's?)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2019, 06:33 AM   #16
Stroudy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Was the MIDI editor or Media explorer focused when this happened? Or rather -- which main menu was being shown (the main window's, the media explorer's, or the midi editor's?)


I'm certain that the Explorer window had focus when it crashed.

CMD+Opt+Ctrl+Shift+Left fumctioned as "Back" in the explorer window

Last edited by Stroudy; 10-08-2019 at 06:35 AM. Reason: Used a more sensible image size
Stroudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.