Old 09-11-2018, 08:52 AM   #1
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 774
Default v5.96pre1 - September 11 2018

v5.96pre1 - September 11 2018
+ API: [Take|Track]FX_SetParamNormalized() always sets touch state, even if value did not change
+ API: fix [Take|Track]FX_EndParamEdit() when called immediately following parameter set
+ Actions: add meta-action to toggle following action armed (rather than always arm)
+ Automation items: improve selection tracking in undo state
+ MIDI: fix glitches when editing the left edges of looped MIDI items
+ MIDI: fix negative start offset peak drawing issue around tempo changes
+ MIDI: fix peak drawing bug with non-1.0 takerate, looping, tempo changes
+ Notation: set armed cursor when using armed toolbar action
+ OSC: fix FX parameter change notifications for last track in bank
+ OSC: send FX parameter state for new plug-ins/loaded project
+ OSC: send an integer value of -1 to fx/@/param in order to end touch state
+ OSC: setting FX parameters always sets touch state, even if value did not change
+ Video: allowing bypassing DirectShow video output on Windows

Full changelog - Latest pre-releases

Other additions...
+ API: add get_config_var_string() for ReaScript
+ ARA: ask plugins to respect tempo when stretching only if the project/track/item timebase is set to beats/position/length
+ ARA: don't commit suicide when user preference enabled to set media items offline when application is not active
+ ARA: fix importing notes and tempo at once
+ ARA: fix model updates from plugin
+ ARA: fix rendering short fades with large buffer sizes
+ ARA: if one instance of an ARA FX UI is already open, focus that UI when inserting a new instance of the same type of FX
+ ARA: load copied tracks even if the ARA plugin context is no longer available [p=2022675]
+ ARA: mirror edits in looped media
+ ARA: support for ARA2-compatible plugins (note: there are no publicly available ARA2-compatible plugins)
+ ASIO: permit buffer sizes that are not a power of 2 if the device does not very specifically request otherwise [t=200746]
+ Elastique: improve timing of timestretch ramps [t=204269]
+ Fade editor: fixed an obscure possible bug
+ MIDI editor: 14-bit registered parameter/non-registered parameter CC editing
+ Misc: fixed a few minor memory leaks
+ Rubberband: improve timing of timestretch ramps [t=204269]
+ Stretch markers: add new "transient-optimized" and "no pre-echo reduction" stretch marker modes
+ Stretch markers: add project setting for stretch marker mode
+ Tempo map: fix importing initial time signature from MIDI tempo map
+ Track wiring diagram view
+ VST: inform plugins of project loop selection regardless of playback state
+ VST3: always apply latent VST3 parameter changes before saving state
+ VST3: do not deactivate plugin before changing IO buffer information
+ VST3: flush buffers on stop without resetting other plugin state
+ WALTER: support complex rules for mcp.size and mcp.master.size
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 10:19 AM   #2
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,894
Default

They are on fire, apparently!
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 10:53 AM   #3
mccrabney
Human being with feelings
 
mccrabney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Dunth, NC
Posts: 1,640
Default

Quote:
+ Stretch markers: add project setting for stretch marker mode
nice.

i often wish there were quicker ways to apply stretch marker param presets to different tracks. this will let us set more a more appropriate baseline.
__________________
check out MPL's amazing RS5K manager
FR: select midi recorded in most recent engagement of record/overdub.
mccrabney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 12:49 PM   #4
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 1,307
Default

@Justin since OSC got some love with this pre:
could we have a mute send command for OSC that gives feedback about the mute send status, similar to the insert fx bypass?
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub | Stephan Römer - film composer
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 01:10 PM   #5
Arthur
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 24
Default

Also it would be useful to have such a function:
Add stretch markers to items at time selection on selected tracks (at grid divisions).
Arthur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 03:16 PM   #6
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 5,232
Default

@Arthur
This sounds more like a request for the ReaScript forum.


I personally already did Script: X-Raym_Add stretch markers to selected items at grid divisions.eel you could use in a custom action.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 07:43 AM   #7
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 775
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mccrabney View Post
Quote:
+ Stretch markers: add project setting for stretch marker mode
nice.
This was in release builds for at least one version already, and it was removed.
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts every weekend.
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 06:51 PM   #8
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: ASU`ogacihC
Posts: 774
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Randolph View Post
This was in release builds for at least one version already, and it was removed.
I don't think so, AFAIK all those other additions were only available in pre-releases, and were removed from RCs and final releases.

BTW, that feature was originally added in v5.79pre3 - March 29 2018.
Edgemeal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 06:21 PM   #9
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,104
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Edgemeal View Post
+ MIDI: fix glitches when editing the left edges of looped MIDI items
+ MIDI: fix negative start offset peak drawing issue around tempo changes
+ MIDI: fix peak drawing bug with non-1.0 takerate, looping, tempo changes
Thanks for working on this area!

A bug.
Seems dependent on where the source start is.

If the tempo changes in the following gif were lower in value, the stuff will move left, rather than right:

FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 06:50 PM   #10
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,104
Default

Something I noticed during testing all this. It may not be new. It is NOT new between 5.95(RCs) and 5.96pre1.

MIDI note off snapped to same grid as left trim of item is visible, selectable, and editable. I cut the notes at 0:04.



I actually managed before making the gif to draw a small note before the left trim/ending on it, but this seems very hard to reproduce.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 07:19 PM   #11
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FnA View Post
Thanks for working on this area!

A bug.
Seems dependent on where the source start is.

Thanks, fixing
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 07:46 PM   #12
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,104
Default

Thank you, Justin.

Weird split and time selection cut of looped item:



Split doesn't have to be on tempo change point exactly, for similar things to happen.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 07:56 PM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,689
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FnA View Post
Thank you, Justin.

Weird split and time selection cut of looped item:



Split doesn't have to be on tempo change point exactly, for similar things to happen.
Yep, got that one too (it was related to the previous). I don't quite follow the one you mentioned as "MIDI note off snapped to same grid as left trim of item is visible, selectable, and editable. I cut the notes at 0:04."
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2018, 08:32 PM   #14
FnA
Human being with feelings
 
FnA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 2,104
Default

I don't know if it is viewed as proper...

The second orange item is a copy of time selection area of first orange item on track. Done with mouse drag copy. Everything was made with snap to grid turned on.

In the beginning of gif, I circle the note off with the mouse. Then I marquee select all visible notes in item and that note that ends at the left trim gets included too, while others concealed by the trimmed edge do not. I personally think it should not get selected. And probably not be visible even. It stays the same apparent size at max zoom, but it's hard to tell how much of note is exposed (none, really, except note off) when at normal zoom level until you zoom in, but you can see a little line there.

The cut of notes was just to emphasize that that note would be affected too. Maybe I should have just left them all selected without cutting them.

This is not as big of an issue as the other things I suppose.
FnA is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.