Old 01-24-2019, 10:02 PM   #1
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 640
Default Crossfade disappears on media duplicate

Mac 10.12.6
Reaper 5.965/64

This has been in Reaper for several versions and has bitten me many times. I constantly have to re-edit to recreate the crossfade that gets removed when duplicating media items.

Please see the example GIF linked below.

2 media items are crossfaded, and then the latest media item is duplicated (Command D). The original crossfade disappears. I don't mean that on the new duplicated location there is no crossfade, but rather the crossfade EARLIER gets removed.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9cy8h74tt0...rror3.gif?dl=0
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 02:05 PM   #2
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice View Post
Mac 10.12.6
Reaper 5.965/64

This has been in Reaper for several versions and has bitten me many times. I constantly have to re-edit to recreate the crossfade that gets removed when duplicating media items.

Please see the example GIF linked below.

2 media items are crossfaded, and then the latest media item is duplicated (Command D). The original crossfade disappears. I don't mean that on the new duplicated location there is no crossfade, but rather the crossfade EARLIER gets removed.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/9cy8h74tt0...rror3.gif?dl=0
Hi David, Can you pls try disabling the autocross fade and then duplicating ?
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 08:44 PM   #3
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 640
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svijayrathinam View Post
Hi David, Can you pls try disabling the autocross fade and then duplicating ?
Thats a good thought. With auto-crossfade off it doesn't do it.

This behavior shouldn't be in place with auto-crossfade on though. The auto-crossfade should stay in place. There wouldn't be any reason for a duplicated item to remove a fade between 2 items (that its not replacing on the timeline).
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2019, 08:57 PM   #4
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,833
Default

I can confirm this behaviour, definitely a bug. Good find!

Only does this when you use Item: duplicate items, not when dragging a duplicate using CMD/CTRL.
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2019, 01:51 PM   #5
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 414
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ice View Post
Thats a good thought. With auto-crossfade off it doesn't do it.

This behavior shouldn't be in place with auto-crossfade on though. The auto-crossfade should stay in place. There wouldn't be any reason for a duplicated item to remove a fade between 2 items (that its not replacing on the timeline).
Totally!! I agree. This definitely need fixing 😂
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 12:30 PM   #6
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 640
Default 5.971/64 Still happening

5.971/64
Mac 10.12.6

I'm not sure if this bug was addressed but its still happening, as shown in this linked GIF.

As before this is using the action "Item: Duplicate items". Watch how after the duplicate, the preceding crossfade turns into a clip fade in only.

https://app.box.com/s/geggat7t682dx6lu975uxn2q7yzaxdrz

This is not a graphical bug but the crossfade is actually lost and you can hear the pop at the outgoing edge of the clip.

Please look into this one. For me this is a basic editing feature and the bug has a very negative result.
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2019, 06:47 PM   #7
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 640
Default

5.972/64
Mac 10.12.6

This is still happening.

https://app.box.com/s/geggat7t682dx6lu975uxn2q7yzaxdrz
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2019, 05:05 PM   #8
Ice
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 640
Default

5.973/64
Mac 10.12.6

This is still happening. 100% repeatable.

https://app.box.com/s/geggat7t682dx6lu975uxn2q7yzaxdrz
Ice is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.