Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER for macOS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2018, 03:08 AM   #161
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreiko View Post
Hey guys, hope you're well. Any other ways of solving the problem? Thanks!

No not until the developers update Reapers GUI code to run smoother on macOS.., as has been said already is that if FL Studio can all move and look sharp on macOS then Reaper can be made to run smoother and look better on macOS also.

.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.14.2.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2018, 07:32 AM   #162
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 778
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur8me View Post
No not until the developers update Reapers GUI code to run smoother on macOS.., as has been said already is that if FL Studio can all move and look sharp on macOS then Reaper can be made to run smoother and look better on macOS also.

.

.
Even FLStudio benefits from this 'fix' though.

FLStudio also has a much simpler GUI and begins to lag very badly when you have many things open.

I own the best machine you can buy from Apple, and I can make FLStudio's GUI crawl to a snails pace without too much effort. Put the same project on a 2013 iMac and it runs fine.

That said, FLStudio does work nicely with basic workflows. Reaper is pretty sluggish and ugly in those scenarios. The comparison is definitely valid.
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more...
Robert Randolph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 03:35 PM   #163
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 79
Default A solution in the works yet?

I experience exactly the same laggyness when plugin GUIs are open. It's unworkable unfortunately.

I'm new to Reaper (trialing it currently) and I absolutely love it, but for this one (not small) plugin GUI slow down issue.

Has anyone heard more about a potential fix?
talustalus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2019, 11:37 PM   #164
Aymara
Human being with feelings
 
Aymara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Ruhr Area, Germany
Posts: 923
Default

I fear, that Cockos is more interested in Linux support, than optimizing Mac performance

That‘s one of the reasons, why Studio One is now my number one DAW and Reaper only number two. But the main reason are S1‘s songwriting capabilities, especially the new chord and arranger tracks.
__________________
Greetings from Germany

Chris
Aymara is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.