Old 06-21-2018, 04:44 PM   #1
dimbow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 170
Default cassette portastudio and reaper

Hello gang
Iíve done some internetting and couldnít find a recent post about this, so thought it ok to ask...
Putting aside peopleís thoughts on cassettes, I would like as cheaply as possible (I stupidly gave away a phil rees tape sync unit years ago which I used in analogue studios) to see if I can sync up reaper and a portastudio.
Iím hoping that reaper being the demon it is, by now has a built in plug or feature, which can stripe a tape and then read that back on an input of your soundcard to sync to.
Make my desire be true...?
__________________
VOTE for temporary automation bypass in READ mode while touching a parameter.
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4924
dimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2018, 07:00 PM   #2
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,414
Default

Sure, you can stripe timecode to tape. Been there since V1 or v2 i think...

I've never worked with this, hopefully your knowledge fills in the gaps

Step 1: INSERT > timecode generator.

this will insert a time code item, then I think you'll need to extend that item and bounce it to the cassette using a hardware out.

Step 2: Right click on the play button, and there are some options there. Probably just want to select LTC: whatever input you are feeding the timecode from the cassette back into.

Step 3: Profit???


I actually don't have a clue here, just showing you where to look I guess.


I mess with cassettes a bit still. I just use it like I would a sampler or something.
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 04:43 AM   #3
europa_man
Human being with feelings
 
europa_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Musquodoboit Harbour, Nova Scotia
Posts: 276
Default Tascam Porta-Potty

Quote:
Originally Posted by dimbow View Post
Hello gang
Iíve done some internetting and couldnít find a recent post about this, so thought it ok to ask...
Putting aside peopleís thoughts on cassettes, I would like as cheaply as possible (I stupidly gave away a phil rees tape sync unit years ago which I used in analogue studios) to see if I can sync up reaper and a portastudio.
Iím hoping that reaper being the demon it is, by now has a built in plug or feature, which can stripe a tape and then read that back on an input of your soundcard to sync to.
Make my desire be true...?
I have a Tascam 488 Port a Studio which I had used this way too back in the day with striping the tape. Always required additional hardware to do this as I recall.

Now a days I simply record the tracks directly into Reaper - 4 tracks at a time.
Two passes required to get all 8 tracks recorded and work with the tracks in Reaper to edit.

You can't edit with a cassette tape deck!

I do all my editing and mixing in Reaper from there.
__________________
Everything I Need to Know about Reaper, I Learned from Kenny Gioia.
europa_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 09:31 AM   #4
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 547
Default

with reaper you don't need hardware . reaper can slave to a ltc feed in one input. with reaper playing it may run well. recording rather not

i have to try it myself when my hardware is back at my hands
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2018, 08:36 PM   #5
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 547
Default

i get it to run.

not with real hardware (i'm too lazy to get my old tascam688
of the shell) but i faked it.

prep:
inserted a timecode from reaper (insert SMTPE LTC..
and checked the settings (properties) for frame rate)
i rendered this as a mono wav for 17 bars

prep:
i installed VB virtual audio cable (one cable)

i found an installation of tracktion 6 on my computer.
run it and played the rendered track, setting the output
to the VB cable input

In reaper i set the input to the VB cable and set sync
to the LTC1 (right click on play button)

playing around with those options there (offset and )
and reaper follows the cursor from tracktion while playing
(even start/stop) and in recording state (recording only
reapers output internally, because of the virtual approach)
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 06:29 PM   #6
dimbow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 170
Default

Ooh lovely, thanks folks. I will try these suggestions and get back to you. Maybe a while as I need to get hold of a new portastudio. All sounds very do-able though. Looking forward to some yummy cassette sound
__________________
VOTE for temporary automation bypass in READ mode while touching a parameter.
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4924
dimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2018, 09:03 PM   #7
famous beagle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 214
Default

I did it with a JL Cooper PPS-1, and it worked like a charm. I didn't realize you could do it in Reaper without hardware!
famous beagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2018, 12:09 PM   #8
dimbow
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 170
Default

[QUOTE=famous beagle;2004680]I did it with a JL Cooper PPS-1, and it worked like a charm. I didn't realize you could do it in Reaper without hardware![/

Love the reaper!
__________________
VOTE for temporary automation bypass in READ mode while touching a parameter.
http://forum.cockos.com/project.php?issueid=4924
dimbow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.