Old 05-16-2015, 12:39 AM   #81
syntetic
Human being with feelings
 
syntetic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 160
Default

or it would be quite good to have option to hide effect types/vendors,
when there are many plug-ins, me confuses a few such amount of text in plugin list for add fx.

Last edited by syntetic; 08-10-2015 at 03:14 AM.
syntetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2016, 07:04 PM   #82
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,821
Default

This is EASILY one of the most unattractive, annoying, and redundant oversights in Reaper today. I am so tired of not being able to just type a letter and jump to a plugin, nope! They are all "V" as in VSTs!!!!!!!!! So much text in the FX window, ugh. How many more years until it gets cleaned up? LOL
It makes reaper look so immature and childish imho. But I'm sure people will say "uh it's no big deal bro just deal with it it's not broken".

Because, Reaper.

SEVEN YEARS and counting....seriously?
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 07:03 AM   #83
OPI
Human being with feelings
 
OPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,860
Default

Is there a poll for this?
OPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 12:47 AM   #84
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,606
Default

Couldn't we have some sortable columns for plugin type, vendor, comments, rating etc instead of these mandatory prefixes?

These annoying prefixes have really been bothering me lately; often hard to find a plugin when large lists are not completely alphabetical.

Please, Cockos, remove these cumbersome name prefixes from the fx browser and fx add menus, etc...
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 06:18 AM   #85
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,821
Default

I wish we could just type a letter and have search jump to the plugins of that letter. You know, like every other program out there

They are all "V" lol for VST oh brother
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 07:38 AM   #86
Jason Brian Merrill
Human being with feelings
 
Jason Brian Merrill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Northeastern PA, USA
Posts: 20,602
Default

I still find the customization options a bit limiting in this window. The only way I get to plugins is by typing them...

and that's annoying because I already need to know what im looking for - no browsing for options
__________________
Beliefs do not require respect. People do.
Jason Brian Merrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2016, 12:26 PM   #87
OPI
Human being with feelings
 
OPI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1,860
Default

Please... I feel like I'm looking at DOS everytime I open the fx browser
OPI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2016, 03:51 PM   #88
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OPI View Post
Please... I feel like I'm looking at DOS everytime I open the fx browser
going on 7 years now totally ignored. ugly and foolish looking.

clinging to xp and vegas 1.0. le sigh.

literally one of the easiest things to program is an option to make this prefix visible or not.
(if it was a priority i mean)
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 03:18 PM   #89
Vagalume
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 339
Default

Bump for this.

2017 and prefixes are still there. They are redundant and annoying ... anyway WyattRice's approach might be the best solution #38

Evildragon, why isn't this in Feature Request?

Last edited by Vagalume; 01-19-2017 at 03:38 PM.
Vagalume is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 07:29 PM   #90
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Axis Mundi
Posts: 4,606
Default

Fer fuck's sake yes, yes and GODDAMMIT YESSSS!! Can't even rely on alphabetical order to find plugs because of this obligatory categorical nonsense!

But since this is clearly not getting any of the devs' limited love supply, why don't we just come up with a new system that could potentially waken the excitement of the sleeping giants?

My suggestion would be: Plugin thumbnail view. Would be so much quicker to just find a pic of the plug you've looked at a thousand times. Would also love to see them sorted by use count. And it's even in line with the OP title...
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2017, 09:00 PM   #91
dea-man
Human being with feelings
 
dea-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 6,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Fer fuck's sake yes, yes and GODDAMMIT YESSSS!! Can't even rely on alphabetical order to find plugs because of this obligatory categorical nonsense!

But since this is clearly not getting any of the devs' limited love supply, why don't we just come up with a new system that could potentially waken the excitement of the sleeping giants?

My suggestion would be: Plugin thumbnail view. Would be so much quicker to just find a pic of the plug you've looked at a thousand times. Would also love to see them sorted by use count. And it's even in line with the OP title...
That would be "Sofa King" awesome!
__________________
Please check out my REAPER produced music here: http://soundcloud.com/dea-man
dea-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 12:44 AM   #92
morgon
Human being with feelings
 
morgon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: 'straya
Posts: 7,652
Default

The fx browser totally ruined my last hit record. I tried opening it at 192 samples but no improvement [though several others present at the time of testing were adamant they could discern a difference]

Is there a plugin to fix this? I asked an audio guy and he told me to get REA-AL but I haven't been able to find it anywhere...
morgon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 12:48 AM   #93
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,555
Default

Morgon: Nail on head.
Lowellbein: At the risk of repeating myself, STOP repeating yourself.


__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2017, 05:55 AM   #94
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Morgon: Nail on head.
Lowellbein: At the risk of repeating myself, STOP repeating yourself.


ok
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2018, 07:00 PM   #95
DarkFlameSquirrel
Human being with feelings
 
DarkFlameSquirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Texas
Posts: 34
Default

Whenever I vote yes on this FR it just throws an error 500. Ummmm?
Edit: I tried voting yes on another FR and it did the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by foxAsteria View Post
Couldn't we have some sortable columns for plugin type, vendor, comments, rating etc instead of these mandatory prefixes?
I'm a recent FL convert and as thrilled as I am with everything else in Reaper, the plugin manager is most definitely one of the low points of this DAW in comparison to the DAW I came from.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OPI View Post
Please... I feel like I'm looking at DOS everytime I open the fx browser
Lmao ^ this
__________________
VSTi Metal | Vocal Synths | Shreddage 2 Fanboy

DarkFlameSquirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2018, 08:27 AM   #96
lowellben
Human being with feelings
 
lowellben's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: In a home
Posts: 2,821
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkFlameSquirrel View Post
Whenever I vote yes on this FR it just throws an error 500. Ummmm?
Edit: I tried voting yes on another FR and it did the same thing.



I'm a recent FL convert and as thrilled as I am with everything else in Reaper, the plugin manager is most definitely one of the low points of this DAW in comparison to the DAW I came from.



Lmao ^ this
Yup. Try right clicking on the FX button on a track from the TCP and go to a folder with lots of entries in it. You can't even type the first letter of the plugin to "jump" down to it ffs. Because, all plugins of course begin with V for VST. So you have to scroll hover wait and wait to get to the letter you want. Lame. Other programs, just type a letter, boom jump to letter.

Winning.
__________________
47.8% of statistics are made up.
lowellben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 02:25 PM   #97
Reflected
Human being with feelings
 
Reflected's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,988
Default

wow...still no attention from the devs on this?
seriously :X
Reflected is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2018, 08:11 AM   #98
_jon
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 18
Default

+1 please give us the option to disable it!
_jon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2018, 11:17 PM   #99
earforce
Human being with feelings
 
earforce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 85
Default

+1 from me, it bothers me every day I work with REAPER
no attention on this very hot and long time requested feature from the devs. A lot nonsense features have been realised in the meanwhile. Why not this, can't be a big thing.
__________________
prima-audio.de
earforce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 07:55 AM   #100
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by earforce View Post
Why not this, can't be a big thing.
That's a dangerous phrase to say to a developer.

Sometimes the most innocuous front-facing changes can be a ridiculously complex undertaking on the backend.

Then again... this shouldn't be that hard
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts every weekend.
Robert Randolph is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 08:26 AM   #101
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Randolph View Post
That's a dangerous phrase to say to a developer.

Sometimes the most innocuous front-facing changes can be a ridiculously complex undertaking on the backend.
Absolutely. However, I think this is spending a lot of time on a tiny nitpick that could be time better served elsewhere. Secondly, the way my docking is setup, the left pane is often scrolled in such away that having these here are helpful.

karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 08:27 AM   #102
Robert Randolph
Human being with feelings
 
Robert Randolph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 759
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Absolutely. However, I think this is spending a lot of time on a tiny nitpick that could be time better served elsewhere. Secondly, the way my docking is setup, the left pane is often scrolled in such away that having these here are helpful.

Surely it'll end up being an option...

Everything in REAPER is an option
__________________
http://www.admiralbumblebee.com
Audio/DAW stuff, Woodworking, Programming and more... new posts every weekend.
Robert Randolph is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2018, 08:33 AM   #103
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,478
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robert Randolph View Post
Surely it'll end up being an option...

Everything in REAPER is an option
Yea, that's a never-ending always growing family tree problem too IMHO. There are options for stuff few or no one ever uses because the original passionate users who demanded are long gone. I can't tell what they are off hand but my point is I've been here long enough to see multiple, very passionate users present, discuss, demand, get features as options, then disappear, then years later we are explaining why that poorly named, wtf choice is what it is. IOW, by the time we get to some saturation point of nitpicks being options the returns diminish.

At some point so many things will be optional you might as well compile reaper yourself.

/embellished rant

Last edited by karbomusic; 10-19-2018 at 08:41 AM.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.