Old 08-01-2017, 02:41 PM   #1
Airal
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 406
Default Bluetooth over midi support in reaper

Would be great! Surely not too hard to add?

Heres some info

https://blogs.windows.com/buildingap...JewZlbjkisQ.99

https://github.com/Microsoft/Windows...r/Samples/MIDI

Last edited by Airal; 08-01-2017 at 02:50 PM.
Airal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2017, 10:27 PM   #2
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,922
Default

In fact I use a TEC BBC that features a rater delicate Midi Cable and enhancing it with a portable battery powered Midi-USB to Bluetooth box would be fantastic. (Unfortunately I am very reluctant to convert my live setup to windows 10...)

While it would be great to be able to use Midi via Bluetooth I don't see how Reaper would be in that game. Supposedly, in fact the Windows Midi via USB driver would provide just another standard Midi device Reaper could attach to.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 06:08 AM   #3
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,612
Default

Quote:
Midi via Bluetooth
Soundbrenner uses BTLE and without it Reaper can't interface with that device on Windows.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 06:40 AM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,922
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by karbomusic View Post
Soundbrenner uses BTLE and without it Reaper can't interface with that device on Windows.
Obviously.

But Win10 is supposed to provide the Midi via BTLE device driver as stated in the first post. Reaper should be able to see and use such a midi device if the compatible hardware and the Windows configuration is in place.

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2017, 06:52 AM   #5
karbomusic
Human being with feelings
 
karbomusic's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 22,612
Default

Correct, Reaper shouldn't have anything to add/code/change in order for this to work.
karbomusic is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2017, 08:47 PM   #6
Airal
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 406
Default

Wrong, that is not true. Read the article. To enumerate and activate the new midi over bluetooth devices, requires new code that reaper has not added, which is why it can't do it.

The article gives the code on how to do this which is why I linked it. I doubt it gets implemented though because it seems the devs are only focused on automation items and other enhancements rather than any real bug fixes or issues. I posted an issue with reaper screwing up certain file formats and that hasn't been addressed for over two months.
Airal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.