Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Q&A, Tips, Tricks and Howto

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2018, 12:43 AM   #41
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shosty View Post
Excellent, thanks for letting me know. Do you know which java package is needed?
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...s-2133151.html

One of those should be fine:

Linux x64 167.14 MB jdk-8u171-linux-x64.rpm
Linux x64 182.05 MB jdk-8u171-linux-x64.tar.gz
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 11:42 AM   #42
transistor
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
Default

Please return access to the transformator. DrivenByMoss has good functionality, but the delay kills all the advantages.
transistor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2018, 12:46 PM   #43
shosty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
http://www.oracle.com/technetwork/ja...s-2133151.html

One of those should be fine:

Linux x64 167.14 MB jdk-8u171-linux-x64.rpm
Linux x64 182.05 MB jdk-8u171-linux-x64.tar.gz
Thank you, I've managed to get it running and it's amazing!!

I used this PPA and https://launchpad.net/~webupd8team/+archive/ubuntu/java
and installed oracle-java8-installer.

I ran in to a problem with running the DrivenByMoss4Reaper script, I kept getting 'Permission denied' error. Chmod would not set it to be executable either, no errors but the permissions just stayed the same as they were. It turns out that I didn't need it to be executable, just running 'sh DrivenByMoss4Reaper' made it run. I'm not sure why that happened, I haven't come across that issue before but it works.

Thanks so much for this, I can't wait to learn how to use it and make some music.
shosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 04:12 AM   #44
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shosty View Post
I ran in to a problem with running the DrivenByMoss4Reaper script, I kept getting 'Permission denied' error. Chmod would not set it to be executable either, no errors but the permissions just stayed the same as they were. It turns out that I didn't need it to be executable, just running 'sh DrivenByMoss4Reaper' made it run. I'm not sure why that happened, I haven't come across that issue before but it works.

Thanks so much for this, I can't wait to learn how to use it and make some music.
Did you try "./DrivenByMoss4Reaper"?
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2018, 05:15 AM   #45
shosty
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 140
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
Did you try "./DrivenByMoss4Reaper"?
Yes, that was trying. Perhaps it is an environment issue on my side but I run a version of ubuntu so there shouldn't be anything out of the ordinary in that respect.

Might be worth mentioning if you create any instructions specific to linux.
shosty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2018, 06:43 AM   #46
TonyPels
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by barbaroja View Post
Thanks, Jürgen. As you know, I am following this project closely and I'll report back!

Thanks for this... We needed it!

Hi Jürgen! Thanks again for your contact&help on my thread. I received a report from Brian ( from Icon's support) saying that they're " very excited to hear that Jürgen has ported his Bitwig extension to Reaper..." and that they'll be adding these improvements to their downloads section for Pro X"...
All I can say is that is that the world needs more people like you. Thanks
TonyPels is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 09:34 AM   #47
Tiggerdyret
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 178
Default

This looks great. I just got a Beatstep, so the timing is just right.

Have you considered adding Playtime functionality, so we can use these controllers with it's session view?

If you don't know what Playtime is: https://www.helgoboss.org/projects/playtime/
Tiggerdyret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2018, 09:49 AM   #48
puddi
Human being with feelings
 
puddi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by transistor View Post
Please return access to the transformator. DrivenByMoss has good functionality, but the delay kills all the advantages.
This! Not only is the latency pretty bad but quick, short notes doesn't get registered either. The Bitwig equivalent of the script works so much better, not sure why.

Hopefully the playability can get improved in the future. That would make this perfect.
puddi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 02:02 AM   #49
k-nizm
Human being with feelings
 
k-nizm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 23
Default

hey.how do i get this to open a portable install of reaper??
the batch file opens the normal installed version of reaper..
where do i change the path?
__________________
https://soundcloud.com/k-nizm
k-nizm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 04:40 AM   #50
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k-nizm View Post
hey.how do i get this to open a portable install of reaper??
the batch file opens the normal installed version of reaper..
where do i change the path?
The batch file opens the DrivenByMoss Utility program (which might be minized to the task bar). In this program you can select the path of Reaper to open.
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2018, 04:41 AM   #51
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

BTW New version will be ready soon (no more lagging)! Just waiting for the official Reaper 5.95 release...
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2018, 02:23 PM   #52
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 215
Default

If you've sorted the lag then this will be simply fantastic, i really can't wait. And thank you for your hard work in pursuing this project further, it's really appreciated.
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2018, 04:44 AM   #53
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,764
Default

Ordering more popcorn! Between you & Mr waddington, I have high hopes.
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2018, 02:57 PM   #54
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 282
Default

Hi, does anyone have a little more detail to how we install this?

I got as far as downloading and placing the script, and loading the script. After that there's something about Java C++, I don't know but that's as far as I got.

I did add the script to startup, but beyond I have no idea what I'm doing, any help greatly appreciated.

cheers,
dave
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 04:39 AM   #55
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by poetnprophet View Post
Hi, does anyone have a little more detail to how we install this?
You just need to follow the instructions and get the latest Java Runtime version specified for your OS. Do you have SWS extensions installed to REAPER too?

Which device are you planning on using this with? If it's something like the push then I would recommend waiting for the upcoming (new) version as it looks as though the latency has been reduced, which is a real bonus!
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 02:34 PM   #56
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

I am getting closer, implementation is nearly done. This will be crazy: sequencers, clips and scenes!
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2018, 04:35 PM   #57
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 282
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skijumptoes View Post
You just need to follow the instructions and get the latest Java Runtime version specified for your OS. Do you have SWS extensions installed to REAPER too?

Which device are you planning on using this with? If it's something like the push then I would recommend waiting for the upcoming (new) version as it looks as though the latency has been reduced, which is a real bonus!
Thanks. I do have SWS installed, and planned to use with Icon Qcon ProX and XS. I don't know anything about java or whatever so I'll just wait for the next iteration and maybe try again.
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 01:59 AM   #58
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
I am getting closer, implementation is nearly done. This will be crazy: sequencers, clips and scenes!
Can't wait! :-)

Do you think installation will be the same as it is currently?
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 11:18 AM   #59
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skijumptoes View Post
Can't wait! :-)

Do you think installation will be the same as it is currently?
Will be much simpler:
1) Copy library files
2) Install Java
3) Have fun :-)
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 03:26 PM   #60
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

DrivenByMoss4Reaper 3.00 is online!

Get it from http://www.mossgrabers.de/Software/Reaper/Reaper.html

- New: Replaced the Reaper EEL backend with a C++ implementation (no more lag when playing).

Here is a tutorial video for the installation (and uninstall of the previous version):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yKrASqhFvvQ

Since I did the video (and was waiting for the release of Reaper 5.95) I implemented also all the limitations noted at the start of the video :-)

- New: Support for clips, scenes, markers
- New: Support for sequencers
- New: Support for controllers with different bank pages than 8 (MCU with extenders, NI Kontrol mkII)

A video about all these things (and how clips and scenes are mapped to Reaper) will follow soon.
To give you some hints:
- Clips are media items, the session slots simply display the media items in their order on a track, all spaces or lengths are ignored. If you start a clip, the playback is started at the beginning of the respective media item.
- Scenes are regions. If you start a scene, the region the loop is set to the region and playback is started at the beginning of the loop.
- To use a sequencer a midi clip must be selected (and should be looped).

Enjoy!
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2018, 05:01 PM   #61
ThrashJazzAssassin
Human being with feelings
 
ThrashJazzAssassin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Scotland
Posts: 299
Default

Fantastic! Thanks Moss!

Got it working with a Novation SL mkI and an APCmini. No problems once I'd set JAVA_HOME. It feels a lot like the Bitwig version you made. Great!

Much faster than the lua version

No crashes or errors. Some weirdness navigating around, but this early it's hard to tell what is user error.
__________________
REAPER-OSC-panels
erthoide
ThrashJazzAssassin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2018, 03:09 PM   #62
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

The tutorial video, which explains Clips, Scenes and Sequencers is online:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47exKwGwHko

By filming it, I noticed some bugs, which are already fixed in 3.01:
http://www.mossgrabers.de/Software/Reaper/Reaper.html

- Fixed: Tracks without a name did not show up.
- Fixed: New clip did sometimes not work.
- Fixed: Notes in Sequencer were not updated when clip was deselected and selected again.

Enjoy!
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 03:02 AM   #63
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,764
Default

In mid - project right now, but cant wait to try it!

Thanks.
__________________
We are in a rudderless ship with a fool at the wheel who doesnt even realise it ain`t working any more
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2018, 06:00 AM   #64
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,002
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
The tutorial video, which explains Clips, Scenes and Sequencers is online:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=47exKwGwHko
Awesome !!!!

(Who still does need Ableton ? )

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 07:37 AM   #65
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 215
Default

.....And, In walks the Mac 10.13 user lol!

I'm having a hard time getting the JAVA_HOME environmental variable to work with MacOS 10.13.6, running jdk-10.0.2.jdk. I've added the required info.plist lines, restart my mac multiple times but it failed to show up within the REAPER config screens - just says JAVA_HOME not set.

So, i then tried adding the JAVA_HOME variable into my .bash_profile via terminal, and it returns when i 'echo $JAVA_HOME' in MacOS, but still fails to show up in the REAPER dialogs for DrivenByMoss.

Running REAPER64 v5.95

Any ideas?
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 07:47 AM   #66
emirpasic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default problem with drivenbymoss4reaper

I tried to install drivenbymoss4reaper, but i get a window hanging in reaper when i try to set up the controller.
you can see it in attachment.
i run reaper version 5.95 on macpro 2012 and osx 10.11.6
Attached Images
File Type: jpg reaper hanging.jpg (13.0 KB, 25 views)
emirpasic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 08:14 AM   #67
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 215
Default

Ok, i can get my issue running by starting REAPER from terminal, i.e.:-

open /Applications/REAPER64.app

So i need to find out how to get it to run from shortcut/finder/spotlight now, i'll post back if i get a solution.
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2018, 01:58 PM   #68
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 6,002
Default

I understand it's a Reaper extension. Hence a DLL in Windows.

Why exactly is this using Java ?

-Michael
__________________
www.boa-sorte.de
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 12:19 AM   #69
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
I understand it's a Reaper extension. Hence a DLL in Windows.

Why exactly is this using Java ?

-Michael
All the controller code is written in Java. It is identical to the DrivenByMoss extension for Bitwig. Therefore, all changes/new features I implement will be directly available for Reaper as well.
The C++ library "simply" sends the necessary data to the Java VM and takes the commands to execute in Reaper.
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 12:24 AM   #70
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emirpasic View Post
I tried to install drivenbymoss4reaper, but i get a window hanging in reaper when i try to set up the controller.
you can see it in attachment.
i run reaper version 5.95 on macpro 2012 and osx 10.11.6
Hmm, that's weird that there is no error printed. You could try to run it as superuser to see if this is a kind access right problem. Have you checked if the printed directory is correct? Does it contain the Reaper INI files?
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 01:56 AM   #71
Skijumptoes
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 215
Default

Ok, so on MacOS 10.13.6 - REAPER 5.95/64 - JAVA JDK 10.0.2

The change to the info.plist file inside REAPER64.app doesn't work, the JAVA_HOME environmental variable is still not found.

My solution, if anyone gets the same issue, is instead to run this in terminal to set on an OS level:-

launchctl setenv JAVA_HOME /Library/Java/JavaVirtualMachines/jdk-10.0.2.jdk/Contents/Home

If interested, You can then enter 'echo $JAVA_HOME' in terminal to confirm it's registered.

Note: If you restart your system this JAVA_HOME Environmentall variable will be lost and you have to re-run when next starting MacOS.
Skijumptoes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 03:21 AM   #72
emirpasic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
Hmm, that's weird that there is no error printed. You could try to run it as superuser to see if this is a kind access right problem. Have you checked if the printed directory is correct? Does it contain the Reaper INI files?
The printed directory is correct. I tried to remove some ini files and I got a message that those files are missing. So I think it is the right directory. When I put them back in to the directory the window is hanging again.
I did not try as a superuser. I will try it later today.
And thank you very much for your work (I hate coming with complaints first:-)). It looks like you really did a great job with this.
emirpasic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 08:38 AM   #73
emirpasic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
Hmm, that's weird that there is no error printed. You could try to run it as superuser to see if this is a kind access right problem. Have you checked if the printed directory is correct? Does it contain the Reaper INI files?
I just tried as a superuser and the problem is the same :-(
emirpasic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 01:21 PM   #74
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emirpasic View Post
I just tried as a superuser and the problem is the same :-(
No, worries. I expected lots of problems since it is implemented on 3 platforms. So lets start:

I created a special version for you with a lot of log output:
http://mossgrabers.de/stuff/DrivenBy...eaper-3.02.jar
Delete DrivenByMoss4Reaper-3.01.jar from the libs folder and put this new one in.
Send me the output.
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 02:52 PM   #75
emirpasic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
No, worries. I expected lots of problems since it is implemented on 3 platforms. So lets start:

I created a special version for you with a lot of log output:
http://mossgrabers.de/stuff/DrivenBy...eaper-3.02.jar
Delete DrivenByMoss4Reaper-3.01.jar from the libs folder and put this new one in.
Send me the output.
Thank you very much. What do you mean by output?
I did what you said and the same thing happened with a hanging window. No extra messages.
emirpasic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2018, 06:00 PM   #76
Jed
Human being with feelings
 
Jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 916
Default Fantastic job!

Have 3.01 up and running with no problems on Win10, and will now work with it to help uncover any bugs.

So far solid as a rock with my Push 2, and really adds to my Reaper workflow

Outstanding!


Bug 1 - Shift+Left/right arrows: Select next/previous track bank doesn't seem to be working

Cheers
Jed
__________________
Jeds Music:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Stratguy10

Last edited by Jed; 09-25-2018 at 06:23 PM.
Jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 01:13 AM   #77
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by emirpasic View Post
Thank you very much. What do you mean by output?
I did what you said and the same thing happened with a hanging window. No extra messages.
Did you really delete the old file?
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 01:14 AM   #78
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed View Post
Have 3.01 up and running with no problems on Win10, and will now work with it to help uncover any bugs.

So far solid as a rock with my Push 2, and really adds to my Reaper workflow

Outstanding!
Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jed View Post
Bug 1 - Shift+Left/right arrows: Select next/previous track bank doesn't seem to be working
Yes, this is already fixed and will be in the next version!
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 01:19 AM   #79
emirpasic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denmark
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
Did you really delete the old file?
Yes I did. I deleted the version 3.01.
I got it to work on a PC. I just had to run Reaper as an administrator, and then it worked.:-)
But there is still problem with my Mac.

Last edited by emirpasic; 09-26-2018 at 01:52 AM.
emirpasic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2018, 02:41 AM   #80
Jed
Human being with feelings
 
Jed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Auckland NZ
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moss View Post
Thanks!



Yes, this is already fixed and will be in the next version!
Awesome

When attempting to adjust the Pad Sensitivity, Gain and Dynamics (after pressing the Setup button), they stick and are hard to move

Cheers
Jed
__________________
Jeds Music:
https://www.youtube.com/user/Stratguy10
Jed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.