Old 10-05-2011, 04:37 PM   #41
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,154
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wags3d View Post
How/Where do you assign a separate process to plugins and do you have to do this for each individual plug you want to assign to that process or can you choose a group of plugs and assign them?
Just select all the plugins in FX list you want to run in separate/dedicated process and then:
right click-->run as--> select separate process or dedicated process

Separate means that all the plugins in that mode run in one separate process. So if you select 5 bootsy plugs and run them that way they will all share one process. If one fails, all fail.

Dedicated means that each plugin gets its own process. If you again select it for 5 bootsy plugs they will run in 5 different processes. So if one fails, others work
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:38 PM   #42
HugoRibeiroDotCom
Human being with feelings
 
HugoRibeiroDotCom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Earth
Posts: 937
Default

Motu 8 PRE & M-Audio Fast Track Pro
__________________
Get Real Live Drum Tracks @ www.hugoribeiro.com
Macbook Pro | Motu 8Pre (x2) | Apogee Duet 2
Sonor Drums | Sabian Cymbals | Remo Drumheads | Vater Drumsticks
HugoRibeiroDotCom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 04:39 PM   #43
hilluck
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 43
Default RME Fireface

I have tried a few..nothing beats the solid performance and high end sound of RME. I currently use the Fireface 400 but they have a new USB version which apparently rocks the boat. You won't be disappointed.
hilluck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 07:32 PM   #44
airon
Human being with feelings
 
airon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 10,411
Default

RME Fireface UC. Very happy with its performance on Win7 x64 with both 32-bit and 64-bit applications.
__________________
Dialogue/FX Editor & Re-Recording Mixer
(Video)Using Latch Preview
"My ego comes pre-shrunk" - Randy Thom
airon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2011, 10:05 PM   #45
ringing phone
Human being with feelings
 
ringing phone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 157
Default

Just switched from Presonus Firebox (used it for 5/6 years) to the RME Fireface UC.

The Firebox was stable as a table with modest specs...so far the FFUC is as stable and awesome in every department.
__________________
nothing to see here
ringing phone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2011, 03:54 AM   #46
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,076
Default

My desktop has a rme 9652 and previously had a emu 1212m. both EXCELLENT but the rme hs 3 adats and emu only had one.

On my travelling rig, a laptop, I have the cheap and rather excellent focusrite saffire 6. Bought it for £129 right before the scarlett series came out but having read the spec you give up a lot of functionality to get 96k capability that most of us will use once and then go back to 44.1 or 48.

The six does very low latency and the preamps are not at all bad. Monitoring etc and the included software suite is excellent.
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:30 PM   #47
Mike-Mat
Human being with feelings
 
Mike-Mat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mesa AZ
Posts: 110
Default

M-Audio 192 card (PCI). I also have cheap ebay USB MIDI in/out that I use for a second MIDI input source.

I generally record no more than 3 streams at a time. I'll play my MIDI guitar thru the Roland Gr700 Guitar Synth and record the audio of the synth, the MIDI output to a VSTi synth and the natural guitar output all at once.

Mike
__________________
Tips For Mfg www.tipsforcadcam.com - ASUS Extreme III / Intel i7 970 (6Cores)
Mackie Onyx 1220i Interface / 2GB NVidia Quadro FX5800 / 12GB Ram / Win7/X64 / Reaper 64
MIDI Guitars: Ibanez IMG 2010 & Gibson SG w/ Fishman TriplePlay
Mike-Mat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:35 PM   #48
Tribute2Johnny
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Portland, Maine
Posts: 15
Default

Presonus Firestudio Project.
works and sounds great.
Tribute2Johnny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2011, 07:46 AM   #49
fastlanestoner
Human being with feelings
 
fastlanestoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 248
Default

Focusrite Saffire Pro 40. AMAZING!
__________________
Now on Reverb.com!

New Thieves & Lovers record 'Seasons' out soon!
fastlanestoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 02:35 AM   #50
JonD
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 60
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Xiatar View Post
I'm very happy with my TC Electronic Konnekt 24D. The newest version of this is the Impact Twin: http://www.tcelectronic.com/impacttwin.asp
I almost bought an Impact Twin a few months back, then started hanging out at the TCE forums. Unfortunately, I've seen a disproportionately high number of problems with this unit -- upshot being, I can't recommend it at this time.

That said, I was impressed by the specs and price point of the discontinued Konnekt 24D... enough to buy a "slightly used" unit on Ebay. Works beautifully (so far). I've even purchased a new Konnekt 6. No issues with that model either.

Bottom line, IMO, TC Electronic makes quality interfaces, but I think they may have a lemon on their hands with the Impact Twin. I have no qualms about recommending the Konnekt 6, 8 and 24D (Latter two were discontinued early this year, but you may still be able to find a new/slightly used one at a bargain price).
JonD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 02:50 AM   #51
Otto70
Human being with feelings
 
Otto70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sweden
Posts: 17
Default

RME HDSPe AIO
Very satisfied with that card!
Otto70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2011, 03:22 AM   #52
Zblogny
Human being with feelings
 
Zblogny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Blois - France
Posts: 2,977
Default

My TC-konnekt 24D works fine for three years now.

A year ago I had considered changing for the TC-Impact.
I asked the French tech support what were the differences between these two devices:

"I would like to know the differences with the Impact Twin TC: is it only a makeover of the Konnekt 24D or are there really differences other than housing?"

Interesting answer :

"The hardware is slightly different. But it's really minimal.
The software is different, but basically follows the same functions presented differently. The routing matrix is more flexible - The channel strip are included (compression - EQ - De-esser) while you must insert the Fabrik C 24D."


Even more interesting is the conclusion:

"Il n' y a pas vraiment de raison suffisante de changer pour l'impact twin."
(There is no real reason to switch to the Impact Twin)
__________________
Gérard Delassus
https://gerarddelassus.bandcamp.com/
Hearthis.at
Zblogny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 08:47 AM   #53
Mojitov
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 31
Default

M-Audio Firewire Solo. Works well on my Samsung Q70 laptop even though the Firewire chip is not TI.
Mojitov is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:12 AM   #54
stumpbroke1
Human being with feelings
 
stumpbroke1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 307
Default

EMU 1212m
stumpbroke1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 12:03 PM   #55
JeffM
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 77
Default

In my desktop I have a pair of M-Audio 410 PCI cards with the 16 outs going to an external analog mixer. If I need to add a couple more inputs I can use my M-Audio Duo's SP/DIF output. I cannot imagine ever needing more than 6 inputs for my front room studio.

On my Laptop I use an EMU 0202 USB which sounds great and has built-in zero latency monitoring for overdubbing.

If I need 4 inputs I have an ancient M-Audio Quattro USB which still works great although I have to use external preamps with it.
JeffM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 12:26 PM   #56
zappsunzorn
Human being with feelings
 
zappsunzorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Virginia Beach VA
Posts: 2,269
Default

I use the E-MU 1616m

I purchased the 1212m, but then the E-MU 1616M MicroDock went on sale for half price from their own website and I picked it up. I run many things through a Allen & Heath Zed 14 for the extra pre amps and convenient control. Having the two midi I/Os that the 1616m gives me is also really nice.
zappsunzorn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 03:59 AM   #57
WT77
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lizzard View Post
Rme fireface ufx expensive for sure but reaper interfaces with it perfectly,
The preamps are so clean I'm almost shocked . And the drivers are stable.
Combine it with reaper and its cost is way less than many daws.
I actually must disagree and say the UFX is a very well priced unit for what it has to offer. Yes, the preamps are very clean; almost clinical sounding in my opinion but accurate never the less. Combine it with some colourful outboard and Reaper and you have yourself a potently synergistic DAW.

Highly recommended.

Last edited by WT77; 10-11-2011 at 05:13 AM.
WT77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 01:23 PM   #58
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default

Presonus Firebox. Outstanding little piece of kit if I do say so myself.
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 02:06 PM   #59
Diogenes
Human being with feelings
 
Diogenes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: A place that allows me to protect myself...
Posts: 8,245
Default

EMU 1820M I'll cry if it ever dies on me.

Tascam US-122L in the laptop bag.

Presonus FireBox - son has this one now... but I agree with Ric. Very nice little unit. Audio specs almost on par with the 1820M... not even audibly evident really. Just numbers on papers...

D
Diogenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 02:28 PM   #60
MudSkipper
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Edirol/Roland/Cakewalk UA-101, both at work and home.
MudSkipper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 02:47 PM   #61
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MudSkipper View Post
Edirol/Roland/Cakewalk UA-101, both at work and home.
I have heard many people express love for this piece of kit. Doesn't it have some kind of FX DSP built into it, or am I getting confused?
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 02:48 PM   #62
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Diogenes View Post
EMU 1820M I'll cry if it ever dies on me.

Tascam US-122L in the laptop bag.

Presonus FireBox - son has this one now... but I agree with Ric. Very nice little unit. Audio specs almost on par with the 1820M... not even audibly evident really. Just numbers on papers...

D
I absolutely love it. I don't have any need (right now) for something with more I/O, but if I ever do, I will look at Presonus right out the gate.
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2011, 02:53 PM   #63
ngarjuna
Human being with feelings
 
ngarjuna's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Miami
Posts: 2,298
Default

MOTU 828 mark III.
ngarjuna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 10:03 PM   #64
SoundmanDan
Human being with feelings
 
SoundmanDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Default Multiple Interfaces

Presonus Studiolive 24.4.2 and M-Audio Delta 1010-LT with ASIO4all to run both simultaneously.

I use Studiolive for inputs and Delta 1010 as outputs.
SoundmanDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 10:51 PM   #65
CloseToTheEdge
Human being with feelings
 
CloseToTheEdge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Close to the edge, down by a river
Posts: 210
Default

I'm very happy with my Motu 8 PREs. I picked them up for less than 350 each on the 'bay.
__________________
—Registered REAPER user
CloseToTheEdge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 05:49 AM   #66
57JR
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Motown
Posts: 57
Default

SSL Alphalink & MadiXtreme
57JR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 07:01 AM   #67
Melvin J.
Human being with feelings
 
Melvin J.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: South West Michigan
Posts: 254
Default

I've been using the 1820M for probably 5 years now with very little annoyance or problem. It's getting old though and I want to start taking a laptop out for gigs instead of hauling around my tower.

My new rig will be an ADK 8600 SB lappy interfacing with the new AVID M Box Pro 3. Some great information regarding latency and interfaces here...http://forum.dawbench.com/showthread...ata-Base/page7

I just learned that Black Lion Audio out of Chicago are starting to do their mods for this unit now, so that is certainly an exciting option. http://www.blacklionaudio.com/content.php?p=47
__________________
ADK Laptop Intel i7 2860QM, 8 GB RAM, Avid MBOX Pro 3 (BLA Modified), Novation Remote SL37, DSI Mopho, DSI Tempest, Trilian, Aether 1.5.1, Valhalla, Nerve, Komplete 7

Last edited by Melvin J.; 10-14-2011 at 07:06 AM.
Melvin J. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 07:23 AM   #68
RussV
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 15
Default

ESI Maya44 (PCI card). 4 mono or two stero in/out's. Option of one becoming a balanced Mic input with 48v phantom power. Headphone out and S/PDIF out.

Purchase of optional slot bracket supplies S/PDIF in and Midi i/o
RussV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 09:19 AM   #69
mmmalmberg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Default nomenclature

I just picked up a Focusrite Scarlet 8i6. Have only put down a few line-in tracks so far but no problems getting it going with Reaper on a new Dell Precision laptop. First time with Reaper as well...

I'm not a pro so maybe I just don't get it but what is up with calling something like this an 8-in 6-out box? To me it's 4-in 4-out, because I would consider io channels to be DA's and AD's. An SPDIF in is already digital, and an SPDIF out doesn't get you back out into the real world of something you can hear. And counting the "loop-back" tracks as channels really seems like a stretch. Do all the manufacturers refer to input and output channels as anything that has a plug? What about the midi channels, why not add them, or the USB port? Seems lame to me.
mmmalmberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:21 AM   #70
dr_After
Human being with feelings
 
dr_After's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 577
Default

1. Echo Audiofire 4 with my PC. Very good, latency 256 samples, nice preamps, but unrealiable with laptop :/

2. Novation Ni/o 2/4 for live act purposes. Absolutely stunning USB interface! Rock solid, VERY controllable (lots of knobs and advanced monitoring configuration) and two headphones outputs. I love it on stage. Never let me down.
dr_After is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 12:46 PM   #71
rictheobscene
Human being with feelings
 
rictheobscene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Right between the resonance and the cutoff knob
Posts: 1,907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mmmalmberg View Post
I just picked up a Focusrite Scarlet 8i6. Have only put down a few line-in tracks so far but no problems getting it going with Reaper on a new Dell Precision laptop. First time with Reaper as well...

I'm not a pro so maybe I just don't get it but what is up with calling something like this an 8-in 6-out box? To me it's 4-in 4-out, because I would consider io channels to be DA's and AD's. An SPDIF in is already digital, and an SPDIF out doesn't get you back out into the real world of something you can hear. And counting the "loop-back" tracks as channels really seems like a stretch. Do all the manufacturers refer to input and output channels as anything that has a plug? What about the midi channels, why not add them, or the USB port? Seems lame to me.
At the end of the day, I think the In / Out nomenclature refers to the number of channels it makes available to the mixer application. There is no real clear cut standard, so that makes it a bit murky.

I am not saying that I agree with the way it is being done; rather, I am just trying to shed a little light on how they tend to do this.
__________________
R(†)O
http://www.therazorwireballet.com
TAL32.
rictheobscene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:25 PM   #72
RobU
Human being with feelings
 
RobU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: R'lyeh
Posts: 809
Default

Another Focusrite Saffire Pro40 user here, great audio interface, great pre-amps, great mixing software

Came from M-Audio, won't be going back any time soon
RobU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 01:25 PM   #73
mmmalmberg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks RicT.O. - I guess I can see that kinda. A little.
mmmalmberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 03:46 PM   #74
mmmalmberg
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Default 18i6 outputs...

Even more amazing is Focusrite's description of the 18i6 - the six outputs include the headphone output as two channels. That's pretty hysterical to me! Funny they didn't count that as outs on the 8i6...

http://www.focusrite.com/products/au...pecifications/
mmmalmberg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2011, 10:09 PM   #75
thewonders
Human being with feelings
 
thewonders's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 46
Default

I've just changed from a Frontier Dakota to an Echo Layla 3G. Latency is nice and low, and Echo has updated drivers (as opposed to Frontier which seems to have abandoned the Dakota).
thewonders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 03:00 AM   #76
faun2500
Human being with feelings
 
faun2500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Worldwide
Posts: 1,003
Default

RME Fireface UC - Love the sound but I have some problems with my usb mouse causing clicks.

Sounds better than my old motu 24 i/o
__________________
newloops.com - Crazy deals on audio samples and sound banks!

http://bit.ly/free-sample-packs- Totally Free High Quality Sample Packs
faun2500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2011, 03:29 AM   #77
PAPT
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,082
Default

m-audio 192.
It works.
I get 64 sample latency if I want it.
I don't record audio except for maybe a guitar track or vocal now and then.
I'm really a midi guy.
PAPT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2011, 08:39 AM   #78
Toogy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Default

M-Audio Ultra8R as my main interface and a Fast Track Pro as my mobile interface.
No complaints other than I wish the Ultra8R had ADAT IN/OUT for future expansion.
Toogy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 06:58 AM   #79
alphamatix
Human being with feelings
 
alphamatix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 77
Default

M-Audio Fast Track Pro - works ok but would prefer something better. Issues I have are: 1) phantom power does not work even when I am powering via external adapter 2) headphone jack is not loud enough - I need to use a little Rolls headphone amp to bring the volume up.
__________________
Swig Marinade's songs: soundcloud fb bandcamp
Toshiba Satellite laptop 2.2 Ghz C2D, 4GB ram, 320GB drive 5400 rpm, Win7 Home Prem, M-Audio Fast Track Pro
alphamatix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 07:04 AM   #80
Argle
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,263
Default

Tascam m164uf, but I'm returning to my EMU0404 cuz it's a lot more CPU efficient.
Argle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.