Old 02-16-2017, 05:51 PM   #1
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,524
Default v5.40pre1 - February 16 2017

v5.40pre1 - February 16 2017

+ FX: adjust parameter aliases when removing ReaEQ/ReaXcomp/etc bands
+ FX: offline plugins preserves parameter aliases [p=1803096]



v5.34pre7 - February 15 2017
+ FX: fix bug where offline plugins could have their first/second parameter's automation converted to bypass/wet automation
# Automation item: copy automation items when copying media items and option enabled
# Automation item: fix text entry in some fields in automation item properties window
# Automation items: copy with media items when option enabled
# Automation items: don't create a new item if none is selected when running action to open automation item properties
# Automation items: fix pasting into beat-based track
# Media explorer: better large-font resize behavior
# Retina/HiDPI: adjust font sizes automatically for macOS retina themes
# Themes: use item_*_hidpi.png on Windows/HiDPI theme, updated HiDPI theme
# Undo: fix undo for nudge-related actions [p=1802667]

v5.34pre6 - February 14 2017
+ Envelopes: preserve envelope curvature during "move envelope segment preserving edge points" edit
+ Envelopes: render curved segments at time selection edges when initiating envelope segment edit within time selection
+ MIDI editor: fix quantize when grid is a full measure or greater
+ Undo: improve undo behavior for various editing actions
# Automation items: add "remove from pool" to context menu
# Automation items: avoid unnecessary curve rendering when gluing LFO
# Automation items: baseline/amplitude edits optionally affect all pooled copies
# Automation items: draw item name when envelope is drawn over media items
# Automation items: fix choppy recording automation into automation items
# Automation items: fix envelope segment edits when one or both points are not within the item bounds
# Automation items: fix gluing items on multiple tracks at once
# Automation items: fix undo behavior
# Automation items: move automation items with media items when option enabled
# Automation items: respect tempo changes when moving items on beat-based tracks
# Automation items: snap to media items, other automation items
# Automation items: support dragging automation items between non-overlapping envelopes when drawn over media items
# Automation items: use filename as item name when loading automation item from disk
# Video: fix macOS RGBA byte-ordering

v5.34pre5a - February 12 2017
# Automation items: fix behavior when inserting into time selection
# Automation items: populate points when copying without x-move

v5.34pre5 - February 12 2017
+ Automation items: add automation item properties dialog
+ Automation items: properly glue overlapping automation items
+ Automation items: support separate baseline, amplitude, and looping for individual instances of pooled automation items
# Automation items: fix collecting points on grid [p=1799669]
# Automation items: make various envelope point actions automation item aware
# Envelopes: fix horizontal movement immediately after inserting a point
# spectral edits: keep knobs within item bounds
# spectral edits: prevent mouse hit testing when not in spectrogram view
# spectrogram: item fades make spectrogram less opaque

v5.34pre4 - February 9 2017
# Automation items: add action to glue items
# Automation items: fix hang when pasting items
# Automation items: prevent inserting on tempo envelope
# Automation items: respect project/track timebase when changing tempo (LFOs can match tempo changes, etc)
# Envelopes: do not reduce points while drawing with snap enabled [p=1799519]
# Envelopes: do not select adjacent points when initiating envelope point draw
# envelope lanes: fix drawing glitches in continuous scroll mode

v5.34pre3 - February 8 2017
# Automation items: LFO improvements
# Automation items: better behavior when duplicating multiple items in one envelope
# Automation items: fix "collect points" edit
# Automation items: fix extra edge points created during time selection envelope segment edit
# Automation items: improve behavior when loading from disk
# Automation items: support "edit envelope point" dialog
# Envelopes: fix "freehand draw envelope" mouse modifier when initially clicking on envelope point
# spectral edits: better gain/threshold knob behavior
# spectral edits: fix timing with stretch markers

v5.34pre2 - February 8 2017
# Automation items: fix action to delete automation item while preserving points
# Automation items: fix action to duplicate without pooling
# Automation items: fix copying pooled items across tracks
# Automation items: fix editing envelope segments within time selection
# Automation items: fix items not being applied to pan/mute envelopes
# Automation items: offset envelopes so that automation item contents align with the rest of the envelope
# Project markers: fix inconsistent marker lines in arrange view (bug introduced in 5.34pre1)

v5.34pre1b - February 7 2017
# Automation items: do not initiate copy until the mouse moves a few pixels
# Automation items: enable for FX envelopes
# Automation items: fix values for fader-scaled volume envelopes
# Automation items: preserve start offset and rate when duplicating or copying

v5.34pre1 - February 7 2017
+ Automation items: add automation item support
+ Automation items: items mask the baseline envelope, but overlapping items all affect playback
+ Automation items: items may be pooled or unpooled, looped, and stretched
+ Envelopes: add mouse modifier to freehand draw envelope points respecting snap
+ Envelopes: preserve envelope curvature when moving points with media items, or within time selection
+ Grid/snap window: obey auto-close window advanced preference
+ Grid: Quantize Items window will use swing if quantizing to the current grid/snap size
+ Grid: arrange swing/grid support, optionally synchronized with MIDI editor setting
+ MIDI editor: allow absolute MIDI CC control of swing
+ MIDI editor: fix pasting or duplicating events when the media item has a start offset [t=187507]
+ Mouse modifiers: add actions to insert envelope point ignoring snap
+ Mouse modifiers: add envelope lane context, deprecate preference to respect envelope segment modifiers in envelope lane
+ Peaks: optional spectrogram display mode
+ ReaScript: prevent potential crash from Lua scripts that create excessive recursive tables [t=187415]
+ ReaScript: update GetFocusedFX() to include take number [t=187292]
+ Render: add $samplerate wildcard
+ Spectrogram: preliminary spectral editing support, action to insert new edit regions
+ macOS: lower drawing CPU use on Retina displays
# Grid settings: move grid appearance options from grid/snap window to prefs/appearance
# HiDPI: basic Windows 7 DPI detection option
# Undo: shift-click time selection extension adds undo points [t=187261]
# Use common dialog font for various elements in envelope, send windows
# Video: improve YUY2 filtering for gfx_deltablit(), gfx_rotoblit(), gfx_xformblit()
# Video: improve YUY2 filtering on gfx_blit() with scaling
# Video: improve YV12 filtering for gfx_deltablit(), gfx_rotoblit(), gfx_xformblit()
# Video: improve YV12 filtering on gfx_blit() with scaling
# Windows: use HiDPI scaling for metronome pattern font
# Windows: use HiDPI scaling for pin connect dialog
# Windows: use HiDPI scaling for track routing window
# Windows: use SHGetSpecialFolderPath rather than registry to query various directories
# macOS: basic retina support for track panels, mixer, transport, etc, when using special theme
# macOS: improve 10.11+ mouse event filtering
# macOS: improve handling of large fonts in themes
# macOS: remove UI-update options, always use most optimal update (lazy)
# macOS: retina fixes for VST/AU generic UI
# macOS: send, envelope windows retina support
# macOS: transport time display supports retina
# macos: retina transport drawing fixes
# peaks display settings: fixed bug that could allow multiple windows to open
# peaks: added action for normal (non-spectral) peaks
# rename a couple of actions/prefs from Preroll to Pre-roll
# spectral edit: another fft change crashfix oops
# spectral edit: fix for possible crash on FFT size change
# spectral edit: new edits default to 0-22khz
# spectral editing: position knobs and labels outside of region, when possible
# spectral edits: update audio accessor hash
# spectrogram: fix display with take polarity inverted
# spectrogram: fixed accidental default spectrogram enabling
# spectrogram: optimized calculation
# spectrogram: per-item option to force spectrogram visible, action to toggle
# theme: allow themes to override global UI scaling using rtconfig.txt global_scale line
# theme: better knob large/small background selection logic
# toolbars: refined resize logic change from pre2 [p=1789915]
# Windows: use HiDPI scaling for track envelope window
# macOS: retina fixes for group indicators, folder indicators, track icons
# spectrogram: fix preview display when attenuated by -inf



Edit: Looks like 5.34 will now go for RC less (at least) automation items...



>

Last edited by planetnine; 02-16-2017 at 06:03 PM.
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 07:45 PM   #2
esosotericmetal
Human being with feelings
 
esosotericmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 342
Default

Grid options have been broken here since 5.34pre1.
esosotericmetal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 08:19 PM   #3
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esosotericmetal View Post
Grid options have been broken here since 5.34pre1.
Can you be more specific?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 08:50 PM   #4
esosotericmetal
Human being with feelings
 
esosotericmetal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 342
Default

When you change any of the grid settings (the ones that used to be in the snap/grid settings window) nothing happens. Posted about it in the earlier pre threads but no one responded so maybe it's just me? I'm on macos 10.12.3.
esosotericmetal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2017, 08:55 PM   #5
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,384
Default

Wow now that's a nice long changelog Careful swinging that thing around you might hurt some other DAW users.
So happy with the automation items implementation, it works really nicely.

Found a way to use it already in the mixing contest
__________________
Check out my hip-hop, funk-rock band Theatre Crisp
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 01:30 AM   #6
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,085
Default

Custom envelope context menus still broken... Did anyone try loading my menuset and confirming that? I can confirm with fresh portable install. It's very annoying
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 05:08 AM   #7
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 9,206
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Custom envelope context menus still broken...
Fixing, sorry for the delay.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 05:46 AM   #8
EvilDragon
Human being with feelings
 
EvilDragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Croatia
Posts: 19,085
Default

Yay, thanks!

Just out of curiousity - what triggered that weird menu reset? Is it something in the menuset file?


I remember tweaking the menus in the first iteration of AIs, and then there was just a generic <automation items menu> kind of thing, so I removed that and added the new individual AI commands from this second iteration of AIs. Perhaps something weird happened there.
EvilDragon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 06:21 AM   #9
Pet
Human being with feelings
 
Pet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Germany
Posts: 907
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Custom envelope context menus still broken... Did anyone try loading my menuset and confirming that? I can confirm with fresh portable install. It's very annoying
Confirmed here with ReaMenus english & german with pre6 non portable and 5.33 portable. I did not work with the AI, but noticed that too.
Schwa: not meant as offence, just to tell => that you're not alone, ED!
__________________
If the v5 Default Theme is too bright for you take a gander at my mod of it: Default v5 Dark Theme
Pet is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 06:54 AM   #10
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 125
Default



Multiple items attached to AI don't Copy/Paste properly.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 07:11 AM   #11
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 125
Default

@Schwa the workflow that AI encourages (a great one!) is going to be wreaked with havoc with this copy/paste behaviour



Multiple items attached to AI don't Copy/Paste properly. Same with Automation Points.


Solution: maybe if a Time Selection is made, the AI (or points) should be copied Last after the items are pasted, instead of on a per-item basis which is what's happening now. Right now it seems that each item is pasted in order left-to-right, with its automation attached, creating these segments of automation (which are not even correct in the case of AI).

Love Love Love that these are finally here though!
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 08:10 AM   #12
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,524
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ferropop View Post
@Schwa the workflow that AI encourages (a great one!) is going to be wreaked with havoc with this copy/paste behaviour

^^ I agree.

You might have to either set out your stall on the logic of what is attached under what circumstances, or alternatively offer some Karnaugh table of attachment options regarding overlap, etc, to make it follow the way individual users want.

I've found inconsistencies between AIs that follow MIs using Ctrl-Drag and copy/cut-paste, but I'm sure this is all work-in-progress while you develop the logic of it all...



>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 08:21 AM   #13
Dimson
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 87
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EvilDragon View Post
Just out of curiousity - what triggered that weird menu reset? Is it something in the menuset file?
probably reason just the same as here: http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=186962
Dimson is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 12:12 PM   #14
C-H
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 192
Default

5.40 ?
C-H is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 12:37 PM   #15
vitalker
Human being with feelings
 
vitalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,805
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by C-H View Post
5.40 ?
Yes, 5.40.
vitalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 01:50 PM   #16
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
^^ I agree.

You might have to either set out your stall on the logic of what is attached under what circumstances, or alternatively offer some Karnaugh table of attachment options regarding overlap, etc, to make it follow the way individual users want.

I've found inconsistencies between AIs that follow MIs using Ctrl-Drag and copy/cut-paste, but I'm sure this is all work-in-progress while you develop the logic of it all...

>

Ya! The whole thing could be fixed using using this logic:

-if multiple items selected (NO time selection), paste items&automation individually, creating edgepoints around the items (as it is now)
-if multiple items selected (WITH time selection), paste items without their automation first, then paste segment of automation within time-selection (creating edgepoints at selection-edges like smart-copy)
-in every case, a segment of AI should follow an item if it isn't completely encapsulated under the item.

This would fix region duplication as well.

Last edited by ferropop; 02-17-2017 at 03:33 PM.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 02:07 PM   #17
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

I keep getting these breaks appearing for now reason I'm aware of
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 2.05.05 PM.png (30.2 KB, 119 views)
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 02:51 PM   #18
ferropop
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 125
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gwok View Post
I keep getting these breaks appearing for now reason I'm aware of
That's just what Amplitude Scaling looks like when spanning more than 6dB, it's not a bug.
ferropop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 05:24 PM   #19
gwok
Human being with feelings
 
gwok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Nelson, BC
Posts: 3,270
Default

thanks!
__________________
MacPro Xeon, 10.9.5
Reaper 5
gwok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2017, 07:52 PM   #20
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by esosotericmetal View Post
When you change any of the grid settings (the ones that used to be in the snap/grid settings window) nothing happens. Posted about it in the earlier pre threads but no one responded so maybe it's just me? I'm on macos 10.12.3.
Ah got it, thanks! Merge failure on my part... fixing for next build.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 03:21 AM   #21
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 131
Default

Just tried this with the Default_5.0_retina and the timeline is super small that I can barely see it on my 5k imac.

.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.12.6.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 05:06 AM   #22
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 794
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
+ FX: adjust parameter aliases when removing ReaEQ/ReaXcomp/etc bands
+ FX: offline plugins preserves parameter aliases [p=1803096]
Thank you so much! It works as expected now!
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 06:01 AM   #23
Sju
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 466
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
v5.40pre1 - February 16 2017

+ FX: adjust parameter aliases when removing ReaEQ/ReaXcomp/etc bands
+ FX: offline plugins preserves parameter aliases [p=1803096]
Regarding these, I've noticed a bug where sometimes FX with parameter modulation in link mode get their modulator sources reassigned seemingly randomly. It might be this exact issue; I might have had those FX offline, while importing a new chain on the track which also had parameter modulation assigned. Will see if this takes care of it...
Sju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 06:21 AM   #24
Germps112
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Finland
Posts: 176
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sju View Post
Regarding these, I've noticed a bug where sometimes FX with parameter modulation in link mode get their modulator sources reassigned seemingly randomly. It might be this exact issue; I might have had those FX offline, while importing a new chain on the track which also had parameter modulation assigned. Will see if this takes care of it...
Does parameter modulation exist in automation clips now?
Germps112 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 10:26 AM   #25
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,037
Default

API REQUEST:

CreateAutomationItem(Envelope* env, double start_time, double end_time) something like that, essentially working exactly like using time selection and inserting an automation item over existing envelope points.
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2017, 01:17 PM   #26
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,326
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Futur8me View Post
Just tried this with the Default_5.0_retina and the timeline is super small that I can barely see it on my 5k imac.

.

.
Use the updated Default_5.0_hidpi theme from the thread. remove your Default_5.0_retina theme.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2017, 03:40 AM   #27
Futur8me
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Use the updated Default_5.0_hidpi theme from the thread. remove your Default_5.0_retina theme.

Thankyou Justin, I just did as you said and it looks loads better.

.

.
__________________
5K Imac - 4.2Ghz i7 Skylake, 8GB Ram, AMD R9 M395X, 256 SSD, Apogee Duet USB, macOS 10.12.6.
Futur8me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2017, 02:23 PM   #28
Jonas Ekstrom
Human being with feelings
 
Jonas Ekstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 44
Default

Spectral editing coming? Omg...
Jonas Ekstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 04:58 PM   #29
Jonas Ekstrom
Human being with feelings
 
Jonas Ekstrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas Ekstrom View Post
Spectral editing coming? Omg...
Is there a discussion regarding this?
Sorry if ot, new here and my mind is blown.
Jonas Ekstrom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2017, 06:21 PM   #30
moliere
Human being with feelings
 
moliere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wellington
Posts: 2,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonas Ekstrom View Post
Is there a discussion regarding this?
Sorry if ot, new here and my mind is blown.
I think this was the main thread where people were congregating regarding the spectral view and editing - http://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=185557
moliere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.