Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > REAPER Bug Reports

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-11-2014, 11:13 AM   #1
-nicolas-
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 31
Default Master fader in TCP misses leading digit (FIXED)

On the right of the TCP fader, there is numerical display recalling the value in dB of the fader gain. For the Master fader, the leading digits are not displayed. It is confusing.

See attachment.
I am using OSX.6.8 and Reaper 4.611.

Please someone using Windows can check as well ?

Nicolas
Attached Images
File Type: png Master TCP misses leading digits.png (26.5 KB, 141 views)
-nicolas- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 05:08 AM   #2
-nicolas-
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 31
Default

Anyone with OSX or Windows can have a look ?
Thanks
-nicolas- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 05:47 AM   #3
gibi25
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 2,607
Default

Maybe it's a "french only" bug, but I get the same here:
WIN 7 64, reaper 4.62, defaut theme.
gibi25 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 07:29 AM   #4
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gibi25 View Post
Maybe it's a "french only" bug
That's what they hired JeffOS for!

But no, I get the same thing using all-English setup. It's seems to be a minor flaw in the WALTER code for the theme / track layout; it should give a bit more space to the digits, less to the fader.
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 01:20 PM   #5
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 909
Default

This is not only found in the master fader; the tempo envelope lane behaves exactly this way...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 02:48 PM   #6
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Check out Reaper theme 3.0.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 01:50 AM   #7
-nicolas-
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 31
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
This is not only found in the master fader; the tempo envelope lane behaves exactly this way...
I don't understand what you mean. Can you be more specific, and perhaps include a snapshot ?
-nicolas- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 01:58 AM   #8
-nicolas-
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 31
Default Tempo fader misses leading digits

I finally understood what Soli Deo Gloria means.
Here is a screenshot.

Nicolas
Attached Images
File Type: png Screen shot 2014-05-20 at 10.55.07.png (39.3 KB, 264 views)
-nicolas- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 07:44 AM   #9
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 909
Default

Excuse me that I didn´t include an image! I wrote it in a rush yesterday... But it´s exactly what you show there, the leading digit of the tempo map in the lane can´t be seen with non integer values...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 07:52 AM   #10
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Check out Reaper theme 3.0.
You´re right, Tod! It doesn´t happen with it! Anyway, V4 default deserves to have these details polished; it surely isn´t diffilcult to improve...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 08:21 AM   #11
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soli Deo Gloria View Post
You´re right, Tod! It doesn´t happen with it! Anyway, V4 default deserves to have these details polished; it surely isn´t diffilcult to improve...
Which seems to prove that it indeed is just a minor flaw in the WALTER code for the theme. Anyone familiar enough with using WALTER can probably fix it. At this point, unfortunately, that's not me.

Maybe post the issue in the Themes subforum. There must be some REAPER user more familiar with WALTER who would care enough to have a stab at it?
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 08:50 AM   #12
Soli Deo Gloria
Human being with feelings
 
Soli Deo Gloria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Posts: 909
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banned View Post
Maybe post the issue in the Themes subforum. There must be some REAPER user more familiar with WALTER who would care enough to have a stab at it?
Good idea, Banned! If the OP does not do it, I will, certainly...
Soli Deo Gloria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:16 AM   #13
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Banned View Post
Maybe post the issue in the Themes subforum. There must be some REAPER user more familiar with WALTER who would care enough to have a stab at it?
Good idea. I would try this myself but I can't see the problem here with the Master track volume display. Not with the Default theme, not with few of the custom ones I tried...all numbers show fully. However, with values starting with 11 (both negative and positive side), there is a minus sign in front of the numbers. Otherwise the there is no minus nor plus on either side, unlike the regular TCP volume faders.

But the tempo value shown in the tempo envelope lane (panel) seems to be missing one and a half digits here too.

Last edited by xpander; 05-20-2014 at 09:28 AM.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:23 AM   #14
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,563
Default



*ping* that's deffo a bug / corner case / photo of my junk. Good call, thanks.

I can see the problem, all the text is taking more space than expected (see pan control, input selector).

Narrowing down, can anyone duplicate this problem on any flavour of Windows please?
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:33 AM   #15
gibi25
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: France
Posts: 2,607
Default

Reaper 4.62, Win 7 home premium, defaut theme.
No bug in tempo envelope lane.
Bug in master meter.
gibi25 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 09:55 AM   #16
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,841
Default

Win 8.1 here. The master track tempo envelope panel is actually missing just part of the first digit here and that when the value has five digits. Other bug is the volume value minus sign only in front of values starting with 11, both with negative and positive values.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:25 AM   #17
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
*ping* that's deffo a bug / corner case / photo of my junk. Good call, thanks.
Excellent, now there's a REAPER user who *really* cares.
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 12:17 PM   #18
Fergler
Human being with feelings
 
Fergler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 3,917
Default




The number 11 displays a minus sign but not most other numbers. Seems to be a space issue here (1 is the thinest numeric character after all). Definite bug confirmed.

edit: OS = windows 7

Last edited by Fergler; 05-20-2014 at 09:48 PM.
Fergler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 02:03 PM   #19
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,563
Default

Just to clarify:
  • This is definitely a text size rendering issue, with a probable OS component. The TCP master thing is but one symptom. What would be useful is if as many of you as possible could share screenshots of a full TCP, TCP master and Env panel with all the text bits gratuitously exposing themselves.
  • Please list your OS
  • I'm only interested in 100% stock REAPER 4 default theme here. If we can learn the lessons with that, they'll naturally extend to other themes.
  • Arsenal won the cup.
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 02:42 PM   #20
Breeder
Human being with feelings
 
Breeder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Croatia
Posts: 2,137
Default



Problem only with the tempo envelope.
edit: minus sign for master volume seems invisible too
Win8 x64

Last edited by Breeder; 05-21-2014 at 08:27 AM.
Breeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 05:03 PM   #21
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by White Tie View Post
Just to clarify:
  • This is definitely a text size rendering issue, with a probable OS component. The TCP master thing is but one symptom. What would be useful is if as many of you as possible could share screenshots of a full TCP, TCP master and Env panel with all the text bits gratuitously exposing themselves.
  • Please list your OS
  • I'm only interested in 100% stock REAPER 4 default theme here. If we can learn the lessons with that, they'll naturally extend to other themes.
  • Arsenal won the cup.
Hi White Tie, I should have read your instructions a little closer, I made a little LICEcap of just the Master track in the TCP.

This is on Win-7 64-bit

__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music

Last edited by Tod; 05-21-2014 at 09:23 AM.
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 05:59 AM   #22
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,841
Default

Windows 7 64bit, fresh portable install, default theme.
Right after the install (left), tempo envelope adjusted (center) and TCP adjusted to show the Master Track volume value bug (right).



https://i.imgur.com/fTbXWrp.png

---

Windows 8.1 64bit, fresh portable install, default theme.



https://i.imgur.com/b4ro4h9.png

Last edited by xpander; 05-21-2014 at 06:07 AM.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 09:28 AM   #23
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

This is my old XP, it doesn't show any "-" db at all on the Master.

__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 09:39 AM   #24
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,841
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
This is my old XP, it doesn't show any "-" db at all on the Master.
Not if you have the fader set with any value which has number 11 in there? It doesn't actually seem quite like a minus sign either, more like a tiny dot in front of the value.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 10:07 AM   #25
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,601
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xpander View Post
Not if you have the fader set with any value which has number 11 in there? It doesn't actually seem quite like a minus sign either, more like a tiny dot in front of the value.
Hey xpander, that's the case on my Win7 but I can't see a "-" at all on my old XP even if it is "11.xx".
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 10:25 AM   #26
xpander
Human being with feelings
 
xpander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Terra incognita
Posts: 4,841
Default

Ok, thanks. Only just saw your earlier gif and there it is indeed.
xpander is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 12:04 PM   #27
White Tie
Pixel Pusher
 
White Tie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Blighty
Posts: 2,563
Default

Stop the bus, it was me all along. And I would have got away with it if it weren't for you meddling kids.

The fix is in. Thanks all!
__________________
The House of White Tie
White Tie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.