Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > REAPER Forums > Dstruct's Casa De Nitpicks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-28-2013, 01:05 PM   #41
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

HEY EVERYONE I FOUND IT! LET'S FORM A MASS MOB AND TAKE WHAT IS RIGHTFULLY OURS! YEEEAAHHHH!!! BREAK DOWN THE WALLS OF INJUSTICE!

(see langpack template) http://www.reaper.fm/langpack/

Edit: Oh Reno.thestraws got to it first. dam!
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template

Last edited by Argitoth; 04-28-2013 at 03:51 PM.
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:05 PM   #42
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
The only langpack I could find is called: uk.ReaperLangPack.

Is that it?

I did a search for 1AA754B58DA60919 but no findee.
the langpack in my post

see the link
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:08 PM   #43
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
SWS actions are not part of the langpack, ask the SWS guys (jeffos) to get the SWS langpack
Heh heh, so it takes a different langpack.

Maybe this not such good idea Kemosaby.
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:09 PM   #44
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post

Edit: Oh Reno.thestraws got to it first. dam!
I got to it months ago dude, I gave some help to the french team that did the french one
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:15 PM   #45
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
the langpack in my post

see the link
So do I copy that to a text file and then drag it into Reaper?
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:18 PM   #46
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
So do I copy that to a text file and then drag it into Reaper?
No no

The langpack I uploaded is just a test to prove that it's possible, if you drag it as it is , you will see that the action "prompt to continue" is now "prompt to continue the loop"

If you want to EDIT the langpack to name some actions as you want

- change extension name of the langpack file to .txt and open it in a txt editor
- make a search (ctrl + F) for the line : 1AA754B58DA60919 (A97D415B0FD742FD for MIDI editor action list)

- for editing a line, remove the ";" at the start of the line and edit

- when finished, go at the top of txt file and give it a name and save it

- now, remove the .txt extension and name it .ReaperLangPack

- drag your brand new langpack in Reaper and restart
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:19 PM   #47
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
I got to it months ago dude, I gave some help to the french team that did the french one
So is the French action naming system better?
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:23 PM   #48
Reno.thestraws
Human being with feelings
 
Reno.thestraws's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Belgium
Posts: 9,622
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post
So is the French action naming system better?
Yes but it's still WIP so they need to change some points
Reno.thestraws is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:43 PM   #49
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Alright community. Anyone got ideas on how we should proceed on fixing the US LangPack? We could all just take a stab at it on our own and post our results allowing people to download one of their choosing and see which one becomes most popular.

WHOEVER CREATES THE MOST POPULAR US LANGPACK WINS! The rest of you will be hanged.
Edit: I am immune to hanging.
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:50 PM   #50
James HE
Human being with feelings
 
James HE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm in a barn
Posts: 4,414
Default

If you are serious, maybe divide up into teams to tackle certain keywords.

I will volunteer to change every action that has the word "asshat" to "arsehat"


OK I'm done...

..and an arsehat.
James HE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 01:51 PM   #51
Tod
Human being with feelings
 
Tod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Just outside of Glacier National Park
Posts: 12,546
Default

Okay thanks Reno, I think I understand now.

Maybe when I've got a few days to play around I could give this a try. But what happens when you upgrade the Actions whether it's Reaper or SWS actions?

Also how old are the actions shown in this file, are they up to date?

Okay, so now I understand what you meant here.
Quote:
SWS actions are not part of the langpack, ask the SWS guys (jeffos) to get the SWS langpack
__________________
Kontakt Vid Tutorials->Create Outputs / Create Templates -|- SMDrums Free drums -|- Elk Video Productions -|- Tod's Music
Tod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:20 PM   #52
bradleyfilms
Human being with feelings
 
bradleyfilms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cumbria, UK
Posts: 2,255
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by James HE View Post
If you are serious, maybe divide up into teams to tackle certain keywords.

I will volunteer to change every action that has the word "asshat" to "arsehat"


OK I'm done...

..and an arsehat.
Nope, waay too late, I completed that one months ago, and added the comma.
BTW, there is an SWS version you can download from his site.
Steve
__________________
Meto ergo psallentes est
bradleyfilms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:20 PM   #53
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Maybe when I've got a few days to play around I could give this a try. But what happens when you upgrade the Actions whether it's Reaper or SWS actions?
There's a tool to do it, how do you think the REAPER devs do it? (see langpack info) http://www.reaper.fm/langpack/

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Also how old are the actions shown in this file, are they up to date?
I'm sure they keep their template up to date. Let's see, are there stretch marker action in there? wtf? NO? WHAT?

Ok maybe they don't keep it up to date. WHAT THE HECK??? Well that's just great, anyone know if there's an up-to-date template? Maybe it simply hasn't been released yet?

Template last modified 01-Feb-2012

!!!!!?????
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template

Last edited by Argitoth; 04-28-2013 at 03:51 PM.
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 02:46 PM   #54
timlloyd
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post
[ ... ]
The third rule of LoL - you do not link to LoL from anywhere ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by run, megalodon View Post
I'm not really interested in wasting time on something that's probably never going to be comprehensive, up to quality, up to date, or even visible to a large number of people, just like most user efforts. Cockos needs to fix this when they can.
I'm not quite as pessimistic about the results that are possible, but I do agree. This is why refrained from suggesting langpacks.

What I'm afraid of, is that some user (or multiple users) will put in the time to solve the inconsistencies with a langpack, and upload it. Then the self-selected group of people here who care about this issue will install and use it ... and stop clamouring for it to be done at source. Lack of voices pushing for it, and JCS may be less likely to sort it out properly.
timlloyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2013, 03:53 PM   #55
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by run, megalodon View Post
But your fear is one worth mentioning too, I feel like that happens with a lot of stuff on the forum. When there's a work-around real fixes seem to be more scarce.
The way I see it, the community should fix it whenever possible and the Devs should be able to implement the community's work. But maybe that's impossible to have happen. I don't like workarounds, but that's the first step until the devs do something about it.
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:13 PM   #56
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

I'm going to take back my previous ethos and agree with the previously stated ethos. Maybe I'm using "ethos" wrong, anyway...

Yes! We should push for the devs to fix this stuff. We don't want a workaround that few people will ever benefit from. Action names must be universal, especially because I work with other REAPER users, I don't want to remind myself "oh that action has a different name for that person"
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2013, 07:32 AM   #57
Sigilus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,763
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tod View Post
Not this though..



Zeros are needed to keep things in order. Many times if zeros aren't used a 10, 11, 12, etc. will come before a 1.
Doesn't help if you have more than 99 tracks. This thread is great, and we shouldn't feel squeamish about demanding consistency in labeling of actions.
Sigilus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2013, 05:57 AM   #58
joesacco
Human being with feelings
 
joesacco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 214
Default

If my vote counts +1 for tidying up the action list.
joesacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 05:05 AM   #59
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,675
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sigilus View Post
Doesn't help if you have more than 99 tracks. This thread is great, and we shouldn't feel squeamish about demanding consistency in labeling of actions.
"I got 99 tracks and my zero ain't one!" sorry couldn't resist that bad joke!

I too would like to see this cleaned up as it's like playing a texted based adventure game trying to find the right command! You have to guess wildly sometimes
musicbynumbers is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 11:41 AM   #60
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by musicbynumbers View Post
I too would like to see this cleaned up as it's like playing a texted based adventure game trying to find the right command! You have to guess wildly sometimes
adding to the first post, this is a brilliant metaphor.
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2013, 12:31 PM   #61
Lawrence
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 21,376
Default

Not much to add except to say if the language pack in question is or can be a text file, replacing key words should be pretty easy in any decent text editor.

/arsehat.
__________________
"I, Bozo The Clown, do solemly swear to uphold the Consti.. consti... uh, how do you pronounce that again?".
Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2013, 02:20 PM   #62
Argitoth
Human being with feelings
 
Argitoth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 2,055
Default

OMG... Hey guys I've been learning how to use regex, a code/language for renaming text/words/whathaveyou. There's a pretty good free program called TextCrawler that can batch-rename text in a file using regex code.

I could potentially rename the entire actions list with a few clicks of a button. I could do stuff like:

-find "item(s)" "selected items" "media items"
-rename to "items"

I could start a running list of words/phrases that are the same, and turn all those into just one word or phrase, and we could easily adjust this if we change our mind about what words should be turned into what.

Would anyone be interested in making suggestions/helping out? I could head up this project and make a third-party american langpack that I can maintain, kinda like ReaMenus, but for actions.
__________________
Soundemote - Home of the chaosfly and pretty oscilloscope.
MyReaperPlugin - Easy-to-use cross-platform C++ REAPER extension template

Last edited by Argitoth; 08-22-2013 at 02:29 PM.
Argitoth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:08 PM   #63
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

The best way is to get a thesaurus built into the action list filter.

You type your key words and it looks up synonyms and antonyms (next, prev) and displays them in different colours to the normal filter results...

What do you reckon?


>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2013, 12:58 PM   #64
joesacco
Human being with feelings
 
joesacco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 214
Default

Not a bad idea
joesacco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 12:15 AM   #65
G-Sun
Human being with feelings
 
G-Sun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 7,228
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
The best way is to get a thesaurus built into the action list filter.

You type your key words and it looks up synonyms and antonyms (next, prev) and displays them in different colours to the normal filter results...

What do you reckon?


>
Yes, it's impossible to name all actions right.
So, action tags seems like a good solution to me, native and custom.
__________________
Reaper x64, win 8.1
G-Sun.no - Music Blog - My music
G-Sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 01:22 AM   #66
drew
Mobile
 
drew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London & São Paulo. Hardcore commercial REAPERite
Posts: 1,643
Default

I think in "media items" the word 'media' is probably not needed - though I'm not sure that would ever cause a problem when searching.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post
I could potentially rename the entire actions list with a few clicks of a button. I could do stuff like:

-find "item(s)" "selected items" "media items"
-rename to "items"
I'm glad you don't have the power to do that! "Selected items" are not the same as "items", of course. In all cases the 'selected' aspect should be relevant, but if it isn't then that needs to resolved case by case - not with a batch renamer!
__________________
Proudly using REAPER exclusively for professional music production at Qsonics.com and recording broadcast and narrative voiceovers at DrewWhite.com.
drew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 05:47 AM   #67
Andy Hamm
Human being with feelings
 
Andy Hamm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Argitoth View Post

"View" OR "Show"
-I personally think it should be "show".

"Add" VS "Insert"
-When I insert something, I am creating something in the timeline. I insert a project marker, an item, or empty space. When I add something, there is no time component. I add a track. I add a take to a media item. I add items to my marquee selection.
Show should not be used, it should be view. Show is used as a noun to describe a 'show' that you are working on. i.e., I a show is an event that people attend.

Insert means to insert something into a serial configuration. Adding implies that you are making an addition in parallel, or summing something.
Andy Hamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 08:34 AM   #68
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy Hamm View Post
Show should not be used, it should be view. Show is used as a noun to describe a 'show' that you are working on. i.e., I a show is an event that people attend.

Insert means to insert something into a serial configuration. Adding implies that you are making an addition in parallel, or summing something.

Show can be a verb, "to Show" as well as a noun. Actually, "View" can also be a noun or a verb, as can "Insert"


>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 01:00 PM   #69
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reno.thestraws View Post
SWS actions are not part of the langpack, ask the SWS guys (jeffos) to get the SWS langpack
The SWS langpack is available here: https://code.google.com/p/sws-extension/downloads/list (permanent link to the last version).
REAPER can't load additional langpacks ATM so the way to apply additional ones is a bit convoluted ATM :/ it is explained here: http://forum.cockos.com/showpost.php...&postcount=810

BTW, for the stock SWS action, if you see inconsistent names, questionnable English, etc.. do not hesitate to let us know!
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 01:05 PM   #70
Andy Hamm
Human being with feelings
 
Andy Hamm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,371
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by planetnine View Post
Show can be a verb, "to Show" as well as a noun. Actually, "View" can also be a noun or a verb, as can "Insert"


>
What I meant is that the term show is already used in the industry in things like digital console 'show files', so view is less confusing.
Andy Hamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 03:05 PM   #71
GregHolmes
Human being with feelings
 
GregHolmes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 399
Default

Show/hide go together. e.g. "Hide" a thing or "show" it. Unless you prefer hide and unhide...

And "view" suggests "scrolling into view" (locating something that is out of view but not hidden, invisible, or transparent).

Personal opinion, of course!

I've been part of design teams for large companies, where we worked out just these issues, while handling multiple languages too. It's fun, eh? :-)
__________________
Greg Holmes | play:GregHolmes.com | work:GHServices.com
GregHolmes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2013, 02:05 AM   #72
planetnine
Human being with feelings
 
planetnine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lincoln, UK
Posts: 7,585
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GregHolmes View Post
Show/hide go together. e.g. "Hide" a thing or "show" it. Unless you prefer hide and unhide...
Antonyms. Get that Thesaurus in there


>
planetnine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 06:33 PM   #73
foxAsteria
Human being with feelings
 
foxAsteria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Oblivion
Posts: 6,457
Default

maybe the action window just needs a simple auto-correct algorithm built so when you use one of the words from this small list in your search it can pull a helpful google move and say "could you perhaps have meant..."
__________________
TwilightMysterySchool
foxAsteria is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:24 PM   #74
spinlud
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 442
Default

A nomenclature more consistent will help a lot.

Also it could be nice to have subfolders in the action list...so for example you have sub folder 'Track' and all the actions relative to a track, subfolder 'Transport' and all actions relative to transport, subfolder 'Items' and all relative actions and so on....
Maybe a structure like this will help to find what you are looking for.
spinlud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:34 PM   #75
Susan G
Human being with feelings
 
Susan G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Putnam County, NY, USA
Posts: 3,933
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spinlud View Post
A nomenclature more consistent will help a lot.

Also it could be nice to have subfolders in the action list...so for example you have sub folder 'Track' and all the actions relative to a track, subfolder 'Transport' and all actions relative to transport, subfolder 'Items' and all relative actions and so on....
Maybe a structure like this will help to find what you are looking for.
Hi spinlud-

IMO, the filter is sufficient for that. Type "track" and you get every action that includes the word, but type "track:" and you get just the ones that would be in a subfolder as you describe anyway, unless I'm misunderstanding. You can then refine the filter including "track:" with additional search words. I'm not sure having subfolders would be much faster, would it? BTW, you can in fact search all the "track:" action items by entering just "k:" in the filter if you want to .

-Susan
Susan G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 05:21 PM   #76
spinlud
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 442
Default

Yeah maybe not so helpful, just a more clear vision on wich categories of actions you have in Reaper, it could help a little bit.

Another thing that could help is that when you put the mouse over an element of Reaper, should appear a label with the exact name in the action list that will trigger that element....so it is much faster to search the action relative to that element.

Example:

put mouse over 'MUTE' button on track panel, appears label 'not muted', instead of the action name relative to that button.

Maybe it is to late to implement something like this, but i found it useful when working on cubase and have to create macro actions/shortcut.
spinlud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2015, 02:35 PM   #77
vdubreeze
Human being with feelings
 
vdubreeze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Brooklyn
Posts: 1,708
Default

You move a file back to it's original time stamp with "move item to source preferred position", which makes it another one of those things that you couldn't possibly find by looking for it : ) (That it's under "processing" is a nit for another thread!)

edit: It's not multiple names for the same thing, but it's a different (incorrect) word than the norm for its use

Last edited by vdubreeze; 10-26-2015 at 02:43 PM.
vdubreeze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.