Old 02-01-2012, 07:46 PM   #1
chaff67
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default ASIO driver issue

About 2 weeks ago I started Reaper on my computer (Windows XP Pro SP 3) and got an error message that reads "There was an error openning your audio hardware: Error loading ASIO driver. Would you like to view audio device configuration?"

I hit the "YES" button. I can't find anything different than what shows on my other computer. I have 2 comps. w/same OS that use the same audio interface (M-Audio Fast Track Pro). I updated Windows, it didn't have any updates when I first installed Reaper. That didn't fix the problem. I have the recommended driver from M-Audio installed. When I switched to Direct Sound I was able to get the interface to work. I'm not sure where to go from here. BTW everything worked when first installed, about 2weeks prior to issue first appearing.

Thank you in advance for any help or advice you can offer.

Carl
chaff67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 01:28 AM   #2
dimitris_T
Human being with feelings
 
dimitris_T's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 89
Default

Hi chaff.

I get this message quite often· i use fast track pro, too.
It is always appearing when i have another multimedia playing, youtube, foobar,vlc etc.
It's a problem of their driver.
Try to open just reaper alone and an empty project, if you already haven't.
I suppose it's another application running that causes that problem.

Another thing that i do when i get this message, is to close reaper, restart fast track pro(with the button on the back) and then wait a few seconds and open reaper again.

Good luck!
dimitris_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 04:34 AM   #3
chaff67
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the reply Dimitris.

Reaper is the only program running when I get the message.
I believe that I have tried restarting the interface, but will try again.
I'll also check to see if anything is running in the background.
chaff67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 06:51 AM   #4
monolith
Human being with feelings
 
monolith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 332
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chaff67 View Post
Thanks for the reply Dimitris.

Reaper is the only program running when I get the message.
I believe that I have tried restarting the interface, but will try again.
I'll also check to see if anything is running in the background.
Hi chaff67- I took these steps last night because it made sense. You may have already done this, but it was recommended on the avid site...


Disable USB Power Management (USB interfaces only)
This optimization frees up bandwidth in the USB bus and can help resolve problems with device recognition and driver installation

Open the Start menu. Right-click on Computer and choose Properties.
Click on Device Manager in the upper left corner.
In the Device Manager window, double-click on Universal Serial Bus Controllers.
Double-click on the first USB Root Hub item.
Click on the Power Management tab.
Uncheck the box that says 'Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power.' and click OK.
Repeat this process for all other USB Root Hub items.
monolith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 07:37 AM   #5
Third Son
Human being with feelings
 
Third Son's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kazoo
Posts: 288
Default

I found if you have more than one ASIO driver (from a separate interface) loaded, this error will occur even if you don't have the 2nd interface connected. I removed the driver I was no longer using and the error went away.

I don't know if that will help you...that was my problem when I got the error.

Good Luck!
__________________
Third Son Backing Tracks: http://www.soundclick.com/thirdsonbackings
Third Son is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 07:50 AM   #6
Andy Hamm
Human being with feelings
 
Andy Hamm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,371
Default

Go to Control Pannel, Sounds and Audio Devices and set your default playback sound device to something other than the ASIO device you use with Reaper (i.e. Set it to the onboard audio).
Andy Hamm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 11:18 AM   #7
chaff67
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Default

Okay, I tried everything you all posted, except Third Son's advice of removing additional ASIO drivers (I didn't know where to look for them). Nothing worked. However, I tried reinstalling the M-Audio driver again, I had already tried this twice but thought I give it one more go. This did the trick! I'm not sure if it was one of the things I changed from the suggestions here, or if prior uninstalls/reinstalls left something corrupt, but it works now.

Thank you all!
chaff67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 10:20 AM   #8
EnduroMusic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 5
Default ASIO driver issue

Had the same issue with my recent build and my Mackie Onyx drivers not loading suddenly.

Turns out the Onyx firmware needed updating to cooperate with Windows XP Pro SP3 sound drivers. Nothing to uninstall or change, just updating the Onyx from the software provided by Mackie.

Love Reaper, love Mackie, but sometimes... aaaarrrgh!!

Cheers,

Todd
Enduro Music

Dell Precision WPS 490
Intel Xeon Dual Core
4GB RAM/1TB WD SATA - 32Mb cache
EnduroMusic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.