Old 10-03-2018, 03:27 PM   #1
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 402
Default MPE MIDI Channel Strip

I've uploaded a beta of this at:
https://stash.reaper.fm/v/34469/MPE%...l%20Strip.jsfx

If anyone has an MPE controller, please try it out and let me know what you think. Even if you don't have an MPE controller, there are a bunch of fun features here.

Oh, I made some presets for it, but haven't figured out how to upload them to the stash...

Here's Some info:

## Description
Designed to be placed upstream from a VSTi to control the flow of midi data in. Facilitates creating composite instruments with layers on multiple tracks, all controlled from a single controller.
Includes pitchbend and voice limiting, for converting between MPE and conventional midi.
## Notes
Features:
1.Midi enable/disable,Octave and Semitone transpose (transpose allows dynamic changes without stuck notes)
2.Option to convert Semitone control to send CC out, for drum sounds, effects, etc.
3.'Hands' feature moves LH up an octave, and RH down an octave for playing drums or 2-handed melodies
4.Limit midi range, high and low note.
5.High and low 'foldback' transposes by octaves to bring notes within range, ala Hammond organs.
6.Switch to ignore sustain pedal, for drum sounds, etc.
7.'Hold' feature, withholds note offs and ignores new notes until released, then sends all necessary note offs.
8.Conversion from conventional midi to MPE. Support for any combination of MPE/conventional controllers and VSTi's.
9.Pitch Bend conversion, so VSTs that cannot support the full MPE spec of +-48 semitones can be used alongside those that do.
10.PB conversion to allow musical (smaller) pitch bends from a traditional wheel, for VSTi's with PB maxed out for MPE.
11.Creation of new MIDI notes from MPE pitch bends, for better behaviour with VSTi's that don't use pitch bends, e.g. organs, pianos.
11.MPE voice reduction so VSTi's that cannot receive on the full 15 channels of MPE (e.g. Omnisphere) can be used with those that do.
12.Simple MIDI ch remapping for conventional VSTs used with a conventional controller.
13.AT->CC conversion, so MPE AT can be mapped to a CC, for VSTi's that don't respond to AT (e.g. many Kontakt orchestral libraries)
## Known Issues
Stuck notes with MPE PB-->Notes
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2018, 01:49 PM   #2
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,172
Default

Cool stuff!
Incidentally, I am right now working on a conceptually similar JS project, with the aim to reduce the visits to ROLI Dashboard and to make layers of VSTi with differing channel structure and pitch range possible. Mind, all I do is amassing spaghetti in code until it works, not remotely like your nicely structured piece of work... this will be very interesting for me to look at. Thanks for sharing
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2018, 12:44 AM   #3
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,753
Default

Thanks!

I'll give this a go when I get time with my roli.

Was hoping for something like this!
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 10:51 PM   #4
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 402
Default

Yeah, I don't ever want to visit dashboard. Set it and forget it.

Let me know if there is a function you still need the dashboard for....

If any programming gurus can figure out what's wrong with my pb-> notes code, I'd appreciate it. I'm getting sporadic stuck notes, although the code seems to work in general.
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2018, 10:35 AM   #5
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,056
Default

@woodslanding
Hi,


Thx for sharing, having a all in one script for that is very cool.



Unfortuntaly I have a lot of stuck notes with it, with various settings.


I'll wait for the update :P



Cheers !
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 08:54 AM   #6
woodslanding
Human being with feelings
 
woodslanding's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 402
Default

yeah, I'm hoping someone will be able to help me figure that out. I'm stumped.
__________________
eric moon
Very Stable Genius
https://gogolab.com/
woodslanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 11:21 AM   #7
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
@woodslanding
Unfortuntaly I have a lot of stuck notes with it, with various settings
You might want to test the JSFX I posted here -> https://forum.cockos.com/showthread....551&page=21#48 (to parts.) It's rather untested, as I don't have an MPE keyboard yet. Different from the other JSFX, it routes the reduced count of voices to separate Midi Buses (which allows as well routeing them to multiple tracks as to route them within the FX chain of a single track).

Please come back with any questions and let us know what you find.

-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 06:25 PM   #8
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,056
Default

@mschnell
Thx for the pointer, but I'm not sure this JSFX do what I was trying to do.


Could it MPE (offset note/cc channel in case of polyphony) a single channel MIDI input ?
with conversion of polyafter touch to another CC ?


@woodslanding
Maybe for debugging take your scripts into smaller parts, just to see what cause problem. :P
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2018, 10:38 PM   #9
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Could it MPE (offset note/cc channel in case of polyphony) a single channel MIDI input ?
with conversion of polyafter touch to another CC ?
The (current version of the) script is for distribution of the messages in an MPE data stream to multiple (then monophonic) instruments. It is not for creating an MPE data stream from a standard polyphonic single-channel stream of Midi events from a non-MPE controller (if this is what you want). But I understand that this is not what this threat is about, anyway. See first message ->
Quote:
Originally Posted by woodslanding View Post
If anyone has an MPE controller, please try it out ...
-Michael
mschnell is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.