Old 08-20-2020, 12:03 PM   #1
Tommy V
Human being with feelings

Default Garritan Jazz & Big Band

Garritan Jazz & Big Band

Anyone familiar with this package?

I'm looking to add some Horns to my projects without spending a whole lot of money, and this package seems to be reasonably priced.

The demos sound quite good, however some of the independent reviews online state that the instruments produced may need a lot of tweaking to sound authentic.

https://www.garritan.com/products/jazz-big-band-3/

As a guitarist I'd be using 'JamOrigin MIDI Guitar' to trigger, as well as some keyboards, but I'm not all that well versed in notation and MIDI CC's and such.

As a 'starter' package for Horns, would Garritan J&BB fit those needs nicely without breaking the bank?

Thanks,
Tommy V
Old 08-21-2020, 12:29 AM   #2
Tommy V

Default > bump <

> bump <

Anyone? Even an evaluation of Garritan in general?

Thx,
Tommy V
Old 08-30-2020, 08:50 AM   #3
Jordu7

Well, the Garritan Jazz & Big Band 3 gives you many sounds, not only many horns (saxes, clarinets, trumpets, trombones) but also some basses, drums, keyboards. That's a good package for the price. I think it will be ok if you use the instruments as sections, e.g. several horns at the same time. The Garritan runs through the Aria player. To my (inexperienced) eye, there seem to be not as many possibilities to tweak Midi/channels/input/output as with e.g. Native Instruments Kontakt. But maybe I'm wrong. And you can always tweak using other tools in Reaper ;-)

If you are looking more for solo instruments I would rather recommend Native Instruments Session Horns Pro (https://www.native-instruments.com/d...ession-horns/) or even SWAM engine products (https://audiomodeling.com/swam-engine/). The latter products are rather expensive. However, many people think the SWAM instruments come closest to the real thing.