Old 12-05-2017, 08:44 AM   #1
cyprussid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
Default reaper wont start up

when i start reaper it loads so far then says loading audio file and gets stuck at this stage I've uninstalled and reinstalled but same thing i have no vst's to load.
need help thanks
cyprussid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2017, 09:17 AM   #2
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 6,789
Default

Doesn't it give you options to search/manually locate/ignore the file?
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 04:09 AM   #3
cyprussid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
Default reaper wont start up

Hi I cant get to any settings as reaper freezes on first screen with window saying loading audio file
cyprussid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2017, 09:03 AM   #4
Edgemeal
Human being with feelings
 
Edgemeal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cyprussid View Post
Hi I cant get to any settings as reaper freezes on first screen with window saying loading audio file
By default Reaper opens the previous project you were working on, I can only guess there is some serious problem with that project. So you might want to try launching Reaper using one of the other shortcuts it installed, the one named "REAPER (create new project)" should at least launch Reaper. Note you can change how Reaper starts up in options if you wish.

Once in Reaper you can try loading the project that caused the problem, there is an option at the bottom of the open project window called 'recovery mode' that may help.
Edgemeal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 03:08 AM   #5
cyprussid
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 10
Default reaper wont start up

Hi thanks for your quick reply tried start new project but did the same but your idea led me to start reaper(reset to factory settings) and BINGO up and running thanks for your help you solved it in a round about way so great help
cyprussid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2017, 09:55 AM   #6
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,158
Default

Congratulations! Your first meatware error!!

We have all been there.

Funny thing is, I have found Reaper to be far more forgiving of my stupidity and carelessness than any of the other DAWs I have used, plus, as you found out, there are several really straightforward ways to rescue yourself from most disasters.
Have fun!

P.S. It might have been a nice idea to do a portable install and then compared the reaper.ini file from that to the one in you crashy, modified one. At least you will know for next time.
__________________
UK and USA: Our leaders MAY be buffoons but they are still dangerous buffoons.
ivansc is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.