Old 07-14-2021, 02:32 AM   #1
dav
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 59
Default Audio settings don't work right (ARM)

Hey people,

as soon as I unplug / plug headphones on my MacBook Air M1 I have to restart REAPER, as audio won't play any more.

I discussed the servere problem in the bug report forum, but I don't receive any help there. Does anyone know what might be going on here? https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2462338

In the beginning it was enough to just open REAPER Audio Device settings, don't change anything, and hit OK. Now it's become worse and a application restart in inevitable.

Thanks so much for your ideas!
David
dav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2021, 04:12 AM   #2
dav
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 59
Default

By the way: I tried macOS 10.15+ Version, too. Same issue.
dav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2021, 05:57 AM   #3
dav
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 59
Default

Am I really the only one?
dav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 08:03 AM   #4
Kewl
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 89
Default

In many Mac computers (not just the MacBook Air M1), the loudspeakers and the headphone output are "presented" to DAWs as two different audio interfaces. As long as the headphone port is not used, the headphone audio interface is not active/available. Some DAWs, like Nuendo/Cubase, are a bit better at dealing with this (see included image).

So, if you intend to use your headphones with Reaper, better to connect them before opening Reaper.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nuendo.jpg (46.2 KB, 56 views)
Kewl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2021, 09:12 AM   #5
dav
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 59
Default

Thank you, that’s terrible news. But I never had this problem on my old machine (MacBook Pro 2012). If this is machine related then there has to be a solution made by reaper. Of course it cannot be that I close/open the application with multiple projects open every time I want to switch from speakers to headphones!!
dav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 02:37 PM   #6
Vasily
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Ukraine
Posts: 147
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dav View Post
Of course it cannot be that I close/open the application with multiple projects open every time I want to switch from speakers to headphones!!
yeah, just switch the audio interface in settings.

it's annoying and a common grief with new Macs, Apple had it right before and then made it worse recently. my early 2015 Mac didn't have this behaviour, but my early 2020 did.
__________________
Cat's Home
Vasily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2021, 02:39 PM   #7
dav
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 59
Default

No it (mostly) doesn't work to just switch the device in the settings. I literally have to shut down the whole app and restart to get the sound into my headphones.

I'm desperate.
dav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.