Old 12-13-2019, 10:20 PM   #81
St3v3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Default Ahh, that makes so much sense now

Thank you!
St3v3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 11:18 AM   #82
Harry Diddlebock
Human being with feelings
 
Harry Diddlebock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: At the bottom optimistically looking up.
Posts: 130
Default ReaPack Not Compatible With Windows XP

High. Hell oh. Reading the comments in this thread, this ChordGun script seems highly rated or at least very useful.

But how do I download GunChord if I can't install ReaPack on my Windows XP computer?

Is via ReaPack the only way to download ChordGun?

I did download ChordGun.lua from https://github.com/benjohnson2001/Ch...r/ChordGun.lua but it doesn't work.

If possible, can someone please upload a working version of ChordGun to the REAPER stash?

Is ChordGun's filesize too big for the REAPER stash?
__________________
Ah! böwakawa poussé, poussé
Harry Diddlebock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 11:35 AM   #83
matv
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 80
Default

I guess you'd need the other files in the repository.

https://github.com/benjohnson2001/ChordGun
matv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 01:29 PM   #84
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Diddlebock View Post
I did download ChordGun.lua from https://github.com/benjohnson2001/Ch...r/ChordGun.lua but it doesn't work.
The master branch is unpackaged and untested, don't use that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Diddlebock View Post
But how do I download GunChord if I can't install ReaPack on my Windows XP computer?

Is via ReaPack the only way to download ChordGun?
Everything is available in the pkg folder of the release branch, the main action is here https://github.com/benjohnson2001/Ch...t_ChordGun.lua
pandabot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2019, 08:57 PM   #85
Harry Diddlebock
Human being with feelings
 
Harry Diddlebock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: At the bottom optimistically looking up.
Posts: 130
Default

I managed to get ChordGun working.

I don't know how to download a lua file from that site via my ancient Firefox browser.

So, I just copied the code into notepad and changed the txt file extension to the lua file extension.

I checked to see if YouTube has videos about ChordGun... and yes, there's a few of them that I plan to watch later to find out how to use ChordGun.

Thanks very much PandaBot for helping me find the proper ChordGun to download.
__________________
Ah! böwakawa poussé, poussé
Harry Diddlebock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 07:36 PM   #86
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandabot View Post
The master branch is unpackaged and untested, don't use that.



Everything is available in the pkg folder of the release branch, the main action is here https://github.com/benjohnson2001/Ch...t_ChordGun.lua
Hi, very eager to try this but having issues as well. I got the pack from ReaPack browser within Reaper. The problem is pressing on the chord buttons does not input anything into the midi editor.
Appreciate help to get this working.

Edit: To clarify, it works in sending chord events to a VSTi when I have record enabled and MIDI input set to virtual input. But I still cannot get it to work for inserting events into midi editor (non-recording mode)

Last edited by talustalus; 12-27-2019 at 08:20 PM.
talustalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2019, 09:37 PM   #87
St3v3
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talustalus View Post
I still cannot get it to work for inserting events into midi editor
Did you try holding the shift key while clicking the chord name?
St3v3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2019, 07:37 PM   #88
talustalus
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by St3v3 View Post
Did you try holding the shift key while clicking the chord name?
Well whaddaya know!

It works

Thank you.
talustalus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2020, 02:58 PM   #89
vonglan
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Lübeck, Germany
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pandabot View Post
it is definitely possible to detect when a mouse key is released and what you describe was actually the original behavior, but decided I liked this behavior better with having a single mouseclick ring out

unfortunately it is not possible to detect when a key is released, although I came up with a hack that seems to work on my machine (note offs are detected with just a small delay). The problem is that it relies on a number that you have to tweak before it works right, and this number is likely different for each user's machine so decided against implementing it for the general public
I would love to be able to trigger the chords from one octave of my MIDI keyboard, but with note-off being observed.

Is there any workaround to be able to do this? Like a JSFX script that detects the MIDI notes and then alternately triggers the "scale chord n" and "stop all notes" actions?

Thanks anyway for a great tool!
vonglan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 07:16 PM   #90
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 342
Default

Couldn't get midigun to work,I have scaler which is easier for my brain,just add it to the start of an instrument.

It costs though but not much.
smasha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 07:18 PM   #91
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by St3v3 View Post
Did you try holding the shift key while clicking the chord name?
I tried this,no sound at all.

I use Scaler so no biggie.
smasha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 07:32 PM   #92
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 342
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EpicSounds View Post
For anyone that hasn't jumped into using Chordgun yet, I've just published a tutorial



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_cqFfeOQYo
This tutorial does not explain how to get sound from it and yes I have Air's Mini Grand plugin installed into a midi track and armed and making sound on my midi kb.

Where is Kenny G?
smasha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 07:37 PM   #93
smasha
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 342
Default

Got it to Work!

Make sure you have all midi channels selected on midi in.

I'm old and a dumbo,God hates us ,we struggle for stuff brainiacs find easy.
smasha is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2020, 11:19 PM   #94
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 659
Default

"Insert virtual Instrument on new track" do the trick at once
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff | don't take a look at the tuned_6.0 trial | my Chordgun Variation
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2020, 07:14 PM   #95
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vonglan View Post
I would love to be able to trigger the chords from one octave of my MIDI keyboard, but with note-off being observed.

Is there any workaround to be able to do this? Like a JSFX script that detects the MIDI notes and then alternately triggers the "scale chord n" and "stop all notes" actions?

Thanks anyway for a great tool!
I never looked into any JSFX stuff so I'm not sure if that's possible, it looks like these guys explored that a little https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2182487

Quote:
Originally Posted by smasha View Post
Where is Kenny G?
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xyBcpMXrxgQ
pandabot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2020, 07:36 AM   #96
MichaJo
Human being with feelings
 
MichaJo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,768
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by talustalus View Post
Hi, very eager to try this but having issues as well. I got the pack from ReaPack browser within Reaper. The problem is pressing on the chord buttons does not input anything into the midi editor.
Appreciate help to get this working.

Edit: To clarify, it works in sending chord events to a VSTi when I have record enabled and MIDI input set to virtual input. But I still cannot get it to work for inserting events into midi editor (non-recording mode)
Hi, can you tell me where in Reaper i can find the ReaPack browser?

Regards

Michael
MichaJo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2020, 04:28 PM   #97
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 116
Default

It's in Extensions->ReaPack->Browse packages

pandabot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 08:02 AM   #98
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 659
Default

thank you this cool enhancement to REAPER



i have the same issues like Xenova
https://forum.cockos.com/showpost.ph...6&postcount=53

Ctrl , Ctrl . and those others won't fire the action

i tuned the Chordgun a little to fire decrementScaleTonicNoteAction() with a , solely .. and that works

downgrade to version 1 (i kind a like the non shift thing, but democracy rulez)

the detection of control/command/shift-keys seams to be defective in windows

i see the detectiojn of control in variable gfx_mouse_cap

32 for the Logo-Key (Windows),
8 for shift
Ctrl is 4
Alt is 16

WindowsKey with comma shows preview of desktops
and WindowsKey with dot shows an emoji-selection

--

i see that inputcharacter won't change if Control and Comma are both pressed .. shift will work but changes the inputcharacter from 44 to 59 (normal behaviour)
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff | don't take a look at the tuned_6.0 trial | my Chordgun Variation

Last edited by bobobo; 02-09-2020 at 08:26 AM.
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 09:51 AM   #99
STOP
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Québec
Posts: 13
Default

Thanks Pandabot for your excellent ChordGun.

I replaced the chord Root-5 (C-5 in C) for minMaj7 (label it min+7) chord cos I need that chord in harmonic mineur mode.
STOP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 11:56 AM   #100
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
32 for the Logo-Key (Windows),
8 for shift
Ctrl is 4
Alt is 16
Oh interesting, that's not what I would have expected from reading the docs:
Code:
gfx.mouse_cap is a bitfield of mouse and keyboard modifier state.
1: left mouse button
2: right mouse button
4: Command key
8: Shift key
16: Option key
32: Control key
64: middle mouse button
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
WindowsKey with comma shows preview of desktops
and WindowsKey with dot shows an emoji-selection
You can probably disable these global hotkeys in your Windows configuration and then it should work. So I guess the translation is:
Mac command => Windows ctrl
Mac option => Windows alt
Mac control => Windows logo-key
pandabot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 04:59 PM   #101
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 659
Default

I understand the gfx.mouse_cap

Control is Windows Logo Key
Option Windows Alt Key
Command is Windows Control Key

But command/control/alt & comma/point is not recognized by the script

inputcharacter won't change then

But maybe my pc is crap

I wish one of our script heros would check this
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff | don't take a look at the tuned_6.0 trial | my Chordgun Variation
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2020, 05:43 PM   #102
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobobo View Post
i see that inputcharacter won't change if Control and Comma are both pressed
inputCharacter is not supposed to change when modifiers are held down, modifiers only change the state of gfx.mouse_cap. The script checks to see if these flags are set using these functions https://gist.github.com/benjohnson20...d25bbb7bc241a4

The Windows logo-key shortcuts are global and will override this script, that's the real problem. It should work if you disable these
pandabot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2020, 10:41 AM   #103
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 659
Default

i 've diable shortcuts
but the script wont recognize , . with those modifier keys

i dont want to spoil my pc (windows an windows-Logo-key isn't that easy to switch off, you have to crawl into the guts for it)

maybe someone with Windows can confirm it or show the way what i do wrong here.

it still keeps being a great script
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff | don't take a look at the tuned_6.0 trial | my Chordgun Variation

Last edited by bobobo; 02-10-2020 at 11:16 AM.
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 07:11 AM   #104
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 659
Default

i've found maybe similar issues concerning gfx.getchar

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=212238

there is a script that shows what key is pressed.

, and . (and other with no regular key) shows values as long as Commd / Alt or WindowsKey isn't involved, if they are no value is shown.

the code in handleinput is ok but delivers no result

(can only test in Windows)

Anybody here who can confirm this?
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff | don't take a look at the tuned_6.0 trial | my Chordgun Variation
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2020, 09:42 AM   #105
bobobo
Human being with feelings
 
bobobo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 659
Default

how about a version that uses
0 - stop all notes from playing
1 - play scale chord 1
2 - play scale chord 2
3 - play scale chord 3
4 - play scale chord 4
5 - play scale chord 5
6 - play scale chord 6
7 - play scale chord 7
q - higher scale note 1
w - higher scale note 2
e - higher scale note 3
r - higher scale note 4
t - higher scale note 5
y - higher scale note 6
u - higher scale note 7
a - scale note 1
s - scale note 2
d - scale note 3
f - scale note 4
g - scale note 5
h - scale note 6
j - scale note 7
z - lower scale note 1
x - lower scale note 2
c - lower scale note 3
v - lower scale note 4
b - lower scale note 5
n - lower scale note 6
m - lower scale note 7
cmd q - decrement scale tonic note
cmd w - increment scale tonic note
cmd e - decrement scale type
cmd r - increment scale type
cmd a - halve grid size
cmd s - double grid size
cmd d - decrement octave
cmd f - increment octave
cmd y - decrement chord type
cmd z - decrement chord type (in german version)
cmd x - increment chord type
cmd c - decrement chord inversion
cmd v -increment chord inversion
cmd g - cursor one step right in grid
right arrow - cursour one step right
left arrow - cursor one step left
F1 - this help

you can download 2 variations
english version directly from here
normal version

german version (z and y are reversed)
german Version

put it into the scripts folder Scripts\ReaTeam Scripts\Various\pandabot_ChordGun

load it in the action list.

all tribute to pandabot original version
Donate: https://paypal.me/benjohnson2001
original version
__________________
Quote:
CLA (about volumelevel) : who gives a shit about that, use your damn ears.
tedious reaper stuff | don't take a look at the tuned_6.0 trial | my Chordgun Variation

Last edited by bobobo; Yesterday at 03:14 AM. Reason: insert CMD G , y-z swap , links , Space for StopPlaying, ArrowKeys, show Shortcuts via F1
bobobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 05:59 PM   #106
pandabot
Human being with feelings
 
pandabot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 116
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by STOP View Post
Thanks Pandabot for your excellent ChordGun.

I replaced the chord Root-5 (C-5 in C) for minMaj7 (label it min+7) chord cos I need that chord in harmonic mineur mode.
Hey very nice! Yeah it should be pretty easy to hack, adding custom scales is a similar process if anyone is curious https://imgur.com/a/V01ovbI
pandabot is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.