Old 02-14-2020, 11:48 AM   #1
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Default Post fader FX idea, possible?

If you had a volume plugin that read the fader value of the track, then just applied the same boost or cut, everything after it would essentially be post fader, is that possible?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 02:49 PM   #2
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,316
Default

Quote:
everything after it would essentially be post fader,
Not as straightforward.


Some FX depends on the Input level.


Having FX boost and then FX after that can be different than having just the FX.


Also, same issue with Post FX - Pre Fader sends. They will be boosted.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2020, 07:11 PM   #3
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Not as straightforward.


Some FX depends on the Input level.


Having FX boost and then FX after that can be different than having just the FX.


Also, same issue with Post FX - Pre Fader sends. They will be boosted.
All these are just general issues with post fader FX?
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 11:53 AM   #4
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,527
Default

You'd have to have a second plugin at the end of the chain to then un-apply the fader change, if I'm understanding you.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 12:06 PM   #5
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Default

Ah yes, forgot to mention that bit. E second plugin doing the opposite of the first at the end to undo it
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 12:10 PM   #6
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,527
Default

I'm not clear on what an audio plugin can and can't access in terms of the reaper API, but assuming it can read the fader, i don't see why what you describe couldn't work.
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 01:19 PM   #7
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Default

From what I've read, JSFX won't be able to access the Reaper API, but you could from a VST. Xenakios released an example on how to do it with JUCE

https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?t=188350

I had been thinking that this might be a way in to scripts/JSFX for me but it's way beyond me at this point
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 01:36 PM   #8
clepsydrae
Human being with feelings
 
clepsydrae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2,527
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
I had been thinking that this might be a way in to scripts/JSFX
Yeah I had a noodle about it, too, and came up empty. I'm sure there is a way to make it happen, but seems like it would be unwieldy. Having and FX template that you can just insert that drops a couple instances in there seems like the way (short of a native feature).
clepsydrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2020, 03:43 PM   #9
X-Raym
Human being with feelings
 
X-Raym's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: France
Posts: 6,316
Default

Really the most simple way of having POST fader FX in REAPER is to use Parent track. ANy FX on the parent track will basically be POST fader of child tracks.
You can also consider having sends, and to not send original sound track to master.
X-Raym is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 05:04 AM   #10
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by X-Raym View Post
Really the most simple way of having POST fader FX in REAPER is to use Parent track. ANy FX on the parent track will basically be POST fader of child tracks.
You can also consider having sends, and to not send original sound track to master.
Yeah, it may be the easiest thing to do. I just under up with so many layers of nested tracks in genera anyway that I was looking for a way to do it in one track
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2020, 05:42 AM   #11
IXix
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mcr:uk
Posts: 3,412
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clepsydrae View Post
Yeah I had a noodle about it, too, and came up empty. I'm sure there is a way to make it happen, but seems like it would be unwieldy. Having and FX template that you can just insert that drops a couple instances in there seems like the way (short of a native feature).
You could do it with a combined EEL script and a JSFX. You can share global variables betweem them.
IXix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 02:20 PM   #12
ashcat_lt
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,646
Default

You could use a multichannel parent track that hosts all of the individual “post fader” chains and optionally mix them all to a stereo output possibly even with its own chain. You could do it with explicit sends too. Having all of these plugins on the one track is maybe not quite so good for CPU, but it makes things like linking parameters a lot easier and only adds one track for up to 64 other tracks rather than just doubling your track count.
ashcat_lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 04:13 PM   #13
emarsk
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 211
Default

Another way - if you want to avoid parent tracks - is to insert a simple gain plugin and use that as a fader.
__________________
Please, avoid some common spelling errors:
http://theoatmeal.com/comics/misspelling
emarsk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2020, 07:23 PM   #14
ErBird
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_r View Post
If you had a volume plugin that read the fader value of the track, then just applied the same boost or cut, everything after it would essentially be post fader, is that possible?
Tried it. It does take two gain plugins. The fader adjustment acts slightly before the plugins, leading to volume spikes. It works, though.
ErBird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:20 PM   #15
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ashcat_lt View Post
You could use a multichannel parent track that hosts all of the individual “post fader” chains and optionally mix them all to a stereo output possibly even with its own chain. You could do it with explicit sends too. Having all of these plugins on the one track is maybe not quite so good for CPU, but it makes things like linking parameters a lot easier and only adds one track for up to 64 other tracks rather than just doubling your track count.
Interesting idea!
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:21 PM   #16
todd_r
Human being with feelings
 
todd_r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 616
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ErBird View Post
Tried it. It does take two gain plugins. The fader adjustment acts slightly before the plugins, leading to volume spikes. It works, though.
Ooh nice
todd_r is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.