Old 04-09-2020, 06:05 PM   #1
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,432
Default v6.08+dev0409 - April 9 2020

v6.08+dev0409 - April 9 2020
  • + MIDI: preserve bank/program display order and duplicate entries in MIDI editor and ReaControlMIDI [t=233501] [t=234165]
  • + ReaNINJAM: improve chat display accessibility
  • # ReaNINJAM: voice chat broadcast uses a shorter, fixed interval and can be turned on/off close to instantly
This thread is for pre-release features discussion. Use the Feature Requests forum for other requests.

Changelog - Pre-Releases

Generated by X-Raym's REAPER ChangeLog to BBCode
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 09:08 PM   #2
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
v6.08+dev0409 - April 9 2020
  • + ReaNINJAM: improve chat display accessibility
It is still not possible to copy text from chat window to clipboard by Ctrl+C, Ctrl+Ins or right-click in Windows OS.

(But it works in Linux v6.08, right-click copy/cut/paste menu at least, not sure about Ctrl+Ins now).
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 09:14 PM   #3
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,432
Default

And additionally to ReaNINJAM:

- names of local channels are not preserved in clipsort.log file (only number 0, 1, ...)

- names of "remote" user channels are not imported from clipsort.log
(although they are contained in that .log file)

(These are not new issues, but would be fine to have looked at if possible. It would be handy)
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 10:28 PM   #4
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 9,009
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
v6.08+dev0409 - April 9 2020
  • # ReaNINJAM: voice chat broadcast uses a shorter, fixed interval and can be turned on/off close to instantly
Justin, thanks a lot !

Later:
Confirmed that it's working great !

-Michael

Last edited by mschnell; 04-10-2020 at 05:16 AM.
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 06:50 AM   #5
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 626
Default

Hello Developers,

latch preview doesn't work with Take fx. I reported this a while ago. It still does not work in this pre release too...Can you pls take a look ?
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 08:19 AM   #6
mabian
Human being with feelings
 
mabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 3,688
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mschnell View Post
[/LIST]Justin, thanks a lot !

Later:
Confirmed that it's working great !

-Michael
Yes, I confirm as well, very usable for joint mix sessions.
And I also confirm I cannot copy/paste stuff from the chat/log area, as reported above.

Thanks for the NINJAM goodies!

- Mario
__________________
My DAW: Intel i7700k @4.2GHz / 16GB RAM / RME Fireface UC / 250GB SSD / 2x2TB HD / Win10x64
My Music: http://www.reverbnation.com/errepici - http://www.errepici.it/web/contents.asp?sec=4
mabian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 10:45 AM   #7
pcx901
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 15
Default

ReaNINJAM: improve chat display accessibility

On Windows 32 bit the chat behaves the same as it always has, using NVDA. Do I need to do something to enable the improved accessibility for this window? All the shortcut keys work perfectly so that is a huge improvement; the chat is the only missing piece now. I was also told by sighted users that they cannot select text in the chat window, which I suspect is caused by the same underlying issue with how it is displayed.
pcx901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 12:31 PM   #8
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcx901 View Post
ReaNINJAM: improve chat display accessibility

On Windows 32 bit the chat behaves the same as it always has, using NVDA. Do I need to do something to enable the improved accessibility for this window? All the shortcut keys work perfectly so that is a huge improvement; the chat is the only missing piece now. I was also told by sighted users that they cannot select text in the chat window, which I suspect is caused by the same underlying issue with how it is displayed.
In the latest build the chat window is updated using EM_REPLACESEL rather than in its entirety -- I'm not sure if there's some other notification we need to send to NVDA to let it know this? Let me ask around...
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 01:05 PM   #9
svijayrathinam
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 626
Default

Embedding take markers is grayed out and can’t turn it on.
svijayrathinam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 01:41 PM   #10
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,432
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by svijayrathinam View Post
Embedding take markers is grayed out and can’t turn it on.
It is available only if Source is set to "Selected media items" (for obvious reason), not with other options like Master mix, Stems, Selected tracks etc.
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2020, 01:58 PM   #11
pcx901
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
In the latest build the chat window is updated using EM_REPLACESEL rather than in its entirety -- I'm not sure if there's some other notification we need to send to NVDA to let it know this? Let me ask around...
All I know is you still cannot scroll through it. Maybe it automatically reads messages now, I did not test that so if that's what the update does I will check. But being able to scroll through the window just like any other would definitely be the way to go, unless this is something that is just not possible. It works perfectly in the very old Ninjam client, not sure if that might help you track down the exact cause.

In any case I am very grateful to see all the new Ninjam updates.
pcx901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 03:35 AM   #12
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 1,432
Default

Justin, and few more ideas for ReaNINJAM chat and chat window:

- chat font size option in preferences or just in reaninjam.ini file

- kind of a "bell" audible notification when new message is received in chat (preferably mild sound, with the same route as metronome, which is also not included in audio streams an independently mutable) - When playing in a jam it is not always comfortable to still look at the tiny chat window if somebody did not post a message that is important. That way you could be informed about new message (only messages from users, not all system messages, maybe vote ones too)

- in "Session Mode", the chat text is not imported at all (I know that it has no timing dependancy in that mode, but still can contain valid information when collaborating, importing as single one text item could do the job in this mode)
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:39 AM   #13
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 12,785
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcx901 View Post
All I know is you still cannot scroll through it. Maybe it automatically reads messages now, I did not test that so if that's what the update does I will check. But being able to scroll through the window just like any other would definitely be the way to go, unless this is something that is just not possible. It works perfectly in the very old Ninjam client, not sure if that might help you track down the exact cause.

In any case I am very grateful to see all the new Ninjam updates.
How are you trying to scroll through it?
Justin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:53 AM   #14
pcx901
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
How are you trying to scroll through it?
By using the arrow keys. That's how you'd normally scroll through a text box like this via screen reader. I also tried selecting all the text and just copying it to a text document to read, but that won't work either. NVDA and JAWS both just interpret the text in the chat display as one giant line so when I want to see if there is a new message I have to listen to every old message each time.
pcx901 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 09:54 AM   #15
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,674
Default

Reaticulate is broken again (program change names are not shown in the item, only PC is). Regression again?

Was fixed in 6.03 dev0118

https://forums.cockos.com/showpost.p...&postcount=850
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 10:06 AM   #16
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Reaticulate is broken again (program change names are not shown in the item, only PC is). Regression again?
Is it only not showing the PC name from the arrange view, or also showing numeric values for MSB/LSB/program in the MIDI editor as well?
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 10:07 AM   #17
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,674
Default

in the ME it's fine, it's showing the articulation name.
In the arrange only PC.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 10:09 AM   #18
tack
Human being with feelings
 
tack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 982
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
in the ME it's fine, it's showing the articulation name.
In the arrange only PC.
Thanks. The good news that this regression is probably an easy one for the Reaper devs to fix. I would have been more worried if the MIDI editor wasn't resolving PCs to the program name, as that's a more finicky corner of Reaper.
tack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 10:34 AM   #19
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,674
Default

Whew!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 12:09 PM   #20
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,815
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Stevie_ View Post
Reaticulate is broken again (program change names are not shown in the item, only PC is). Regression again?
Can you give me some simple steps to reproduce this?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 12:15 PM   #21
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,674
Default

Yes, here's a GIF:



Choose anything that is available in your program change list (there might only be a GM bank).

I did the GIF with dev0118, where it still worked. On newer versions you will only see "PC" in the item.
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 12:17 PM   #22
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,815
Default

We'll be posting +dev0411 in about 10 minutes which does have some changes in the bank/program code, so maybe best to wait until it's out and continue the conversation there.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2020, 12:18 PM   #23
_Stevie_
Human being with feelings
 
_Stevie_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 3,674
Default

Gotcha!
__________________
My Reascripts forum thread | My Reascripts on GitHub
If you wish to donate for my scripts: please consider an organization like: animal shelter, doctors without borders, UNICEF, etc...
_Stevie_ is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.