Old 06-26-2020, 06:41 AM   #1
Conspiracy of One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Default MIDI drum kit remap issue?

EDIT:
=====
Ive since found a workaround that will do the job, so I've saved and uploaded a project file with my settings for anyone else who has a similar issue. See my last post in the thread.


ORIGINAL POST:
==============

Hi everyone, I'm hoping to find some help. (I've searched for my issue and couldn't find anything, but please link if there's a thread I missed).

Here's a quick video showing my issue:
https://www.facebook.com/conspiracyo...62105487803817


Setup:
OS: Windows 10 64-bit
DAW: Reaper v6.12c/x64 rev 8af23c
Drum kit: Yamaha DTXplorer
VST Plugins: EZDrummer 2
I'm using a MIDI-to-USB cable direct into the PC
MIDI input device in the preferences is USB2.0MIDI (if that helps).


Some pads on the kit trigger the wrong samples by default (e.g. kick pedal triggers the snare sample) so I have set up a custom MIDI map for these pads within Reaper using JS: MIDI Map to Key V2 on the Input FX chain which point to a custom text file.

My issue is that the remap only seems to work on the first hit, then it triggers the original sample.
E.g. hitting the kick pedal once triggers the kick sample, but hitting it more than once in quick succession triggers a kick then all samples after that are snare until I let it rest for a second, after which it seems to reset (the first hit after that will then be a kick, with any others being a snare, etc).

I've also found that this applies to hitting ANY trigger pad before the kick. For e.g. hitting a tom and then the kick directly after. I get the tom sample, but the kick will only give me snare samples.
So perhaps the first hit of ANY trigger pad disables the JS Map to Key function?


Pressing record and then hitting the kick pedal multiple times registers and records the kick 'note' (34: Bb2) as one continuous MIDI note, with the rest being registered as the snare 'note' (33: A2).



Has anyone else had this issue and knows a workaround?
I've had it work fine on a different cable (which wasn't mine, so I had to give it back), but this is the third adaptor cable I've bought and tried that's had issues (all had different issues, mind you) and I'm getting incredibly frustrated trying to get this working.

Many thanks in advance if so!
Nathan.

=================
CONSPIRACY OF ONE
Fun quirky songs to get you interested in science.
It's music to get you thinking on your feet.
https://www.conspiracyofonesolo.com/

Last edited by Conspiracy of One; 07-15-2020 at 04:17 AM.
Conspiracy of One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 07:35 AM   #2
gofer
-blänk-
 
gofer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 11,250
Default

Are you doing the mapping in the e-drum hardware? In that case it looks like an issue with that device and you should probably contact Yamaha support. If not, what do you use for mapping the notes?
gofer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 06:44 PM   #3
Conspiracy of One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gofer View Post
Are you doing the mapping in the e-drum hardware? In that case it looks like an issue with that device and you should probably contact Yamaha support. If not, what do you use for mapping the notes?
Hi, I'm remapping within Reaper using JS: MIDI Map to Key V2 on the input FX chain. So Reaper reads the MIDI note that comes in and changes it to what I set using a custom plain text document.
(I've updated my original post with that info too).
Conspiracy of One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2020, 06:59 PM   #4
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,265
Default

Are you using a drum VST instrument within Reaper?
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 06:00 PM   #5
Conspiracy of One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug dog View Post
Are you using a drum VST instrument within Reaper?
Yes, I'm using EZDrummer 2 VST and using the DTXplorer as trigger pads.
I've updated my original post to reflect that, sorry.
Conspiracy of One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2020, 08:00 PM   #6
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Conspiracy of One View Post

Pressing record and then hitting the kick pedal multiple times registers and records the kick 'note' (34: Bb2) as one continuous MIDI note, with the rest being registered as the snare 'note' (33: A2).

This is bizarre indeed. If JS Map to Key is deactivated, does this strange behavior persist?
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2020, 03:38 AM   #7
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,531
Default

Perhaps you could compress a simple problem project file (with a recorded MIDI clip, but no audio samples needed) into a ZIP file and post it here as an attachment so that we can have a look at it and see what's (not) happening?

How to post attachments (in Post #1)
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 10:22 PM   #8
Conspiracy of One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dug dog View Post
This is bizarre indeed. If JS Map to Key is deactivated, does this strange behavior persist?
Deactivating 'JS Map to Key' plays a snare on every hit, because that's what the DTXplorer tells Reaper is on that note.
Conspiracy of One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2020, 10:28 PM   #9
Conspiracy of One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Perhaps you could compress a simple problem project file (with a recorded MIDI clip, but no audio samples needed) into a ZIP file and post it here as an attachment so that we can have a look at it and see what's (not) happening?

How to post attachments (in Post #1)
Do you mean record and save as a reaper file and upload?
Conspiracy of One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2020, 04:14 AM   #10
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,531
Default

Yes, please.
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 02:41 AM   #11
Conspiracy of One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarkStar View Post
Yes, please.
That should be attached.

In this example I hit the kick pedal multiple times, which played one kick sample and the rest snares.

Then let it rest.

Then played a tom once and the kick pedal multiple times directly after, which gave me all snare samples.

I feel like the JS Map to Key could have a bug? Where it only works on the first hit, but then can't keep up perhaps?

Thanks,
Nathan.
Attached Files
File Type: zip MIDI input bug example.zip (7.2 KB, 13 views)
Conspiracy of One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 04:46 AM   #12
DarkStar
Human being with feelings
 
DarkStar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 18,531
Default

First of all, you can remove all those Sends form the tracks to the DRUM GROUP folder track. As those tracks are in a folder they will be routed to the folder track automatically as the "Parent Send" is enabled in the Routing window.

Also, the MIDI KeyMap is Bypassed, is positioned AFTER EZDrummer, is set to Map MIDI on channel 01 and is not set to convert G1 to anything.

-- it needs to be enabled, and put before EZDrummer
-- and have the In and Out notes set
-- also, the notes in your MIDI clips needs to be on the appropriate channel (the Kivk on #0 and the Tom on C2 are on MIDI channel 10, the Snares on A0 are on MIDI channel 01).
__________________
DarkStar ... interesting, if true. . . . Inspired by ...
DarkStar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2020, 01:09 PM   #13
dug dog
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,265
Default

I've often wished that JS Keymap had an option to work on "all" channels if desired.
dug dog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2020, 04:30 AM   #14
Conspiracy of One
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 7
Default

OP here, I found a workaround that will do the job.
I have no clue why this works, I'm just glad it works!

I've included a copy of my setup in a reaper project file for anyone who may have a similar issue.


Fix part 1:
===========
- I started again with a fresh project.
- 'add virtual instrument to new track' using EZDrummer 2
- selected Yamaha in the EZDrummer 2 settings so it remapped automatically to fix my inital sample issue (e.g. kick pedal was a snare, etc).


- as I no longer needed 'JS Map to Key V2' on each individual drum I only needed it to swap my tom to a ride, so I tried adding it on the master track input fx (the same track that is running EZDrummer 2) rather than on the individual trigger pad track underneath (hope that makes sense).
- using my previously created custom map (see original post) I changed MIDI note 47 to 84 and selected channel 10.
This got me to my inital issue of only the first note being changed (see original post for a breakdown of the original issue).

Fix part 2:
===========
- the workaround is that I duplicated this JS Map to Key V2 and changed one of them to channel 1, so I had one on channel 1 and one on channel 10.
It now changes every hit from a tom to a ride without fail.


No idea why this works, but at least it does!
I hope anyone with a similar problem may find some help in this.
Nathan.


=================
CONSPIRACY OF ONE
Fun quirky songs to get you interested in science.
It's music to get you thinking on your feet.
https://www.conspiracyofonesolo.com/
Attached Files
File Type: rpp MIDI drums workaround.RPP (52.1 KB, 10 views)
Conspiracy of One is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.