Old 04-18-2019, 11:49 AM   #1
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 685
Default glue items bug (solved not a bug)

Why some notes disapears when I glue 2 items ?

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1V7...z8u9vL62Jg9uOD

Last edited by dupont; 01-14-2020 at 09:05 AM.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2019, 07:10 AM   #2
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 685
Default

It seems the bug happens when gluing midi items which were drag&drop from different tracks.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 08:10 AM   #3
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 19,374
Default

Have you tried healing the splits in those circs?
__________________
"What a dick comment. I'm gonna make sure to avoid your name." Dicks other than Trump can speak????
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2019, 09:22 AM   #4
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ivansc View Post
Have you tried healing the splits in those circs?
Yes, but it did not solve the issue.
I noticed this happens whith children midi items which are part of a parent folder.
I made another video where you can see the parent and chidren tracks.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1AQ...vzDS8l9SvU7GVX
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 01:23 AM   #5
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 685
Default

After a couple of hours of investigation I found this which could be related to this issue :

After glueing and undo item 1 with item 2, I noticed in the project bay that a midi item with the same name can have differents midi contents.

As you can se on the video, the are 2 midi items named "item 1" and 2 midi items named "item 2".
For each midi item name, the midi notes inside the item are different even when the midi item name is the same.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1yz...IAnKG5gRVaC0n9
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2019, 01:38 AM   #6
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 685
Default

I get it.
Glue bug happens if a midi item is horizontally moved before gluing.

On the video, no horizontal movement : glue OK
Kick item horizontally moved, glue bug.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=1jE...W2f_TamlmhCc8I
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2019, 06:22 PM   #7
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,370
Default

Confirmed. Strange bug.

Last edited by ovnis; 11-29-2019 at 05:54 PM.
ovnis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 06:48 AM   #8
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,453
Default

I'm not able to reproduce this. Could you try to create a minimal project that reproduces the issue, and attach it here?
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 12:47 PM   #9
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,370
Default



If
-size A>size B
-the right edge of the item B is NOT over the right edge of the item A
-item B edges are inside the item B
the bugs occurs ALWAYS:



Sometimes, the bug occurs even whith this condition (It seems aleatory):
-size A>size B
-the right edge of the item B is over the right edge of the left edge of item B
-The left edge of item B is inside the item A

---------------------------------------------------------

If
-size A<size B
-the left edge of the item B is over the left edge of the item A
the bugs occurs ALWAYS:



The project : https://stash.reaper.fm/v/37625/bug.rpp

Last edited by ovnis; 11-30-2019 at 12:55 PM.
ovnis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 12:55 PM   #10
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,453
Default

Ah! Can you confirm whether the glued item is actually different from how the two unglued items play back together? Because it sounds like this might be a case of the user not expecting the item mix behavior, rather than a bug.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 01:03 PM   #11
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,370
Default

The english is not my main langage. Maybe, I haven't understood your message. Could you
reformulate it, please ?

I have created the both items (A and B) on the same track.

A new kind of bug:


The project :
https://stash.reaper.fm/v/37630/2.rpp
ovnis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 01:07 PM   #12
schwa
Administrator
 
schwa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 10,453
Default

When you have overlapping media items, the way they mix together is controlled by the item mix behavior, which can be set at the project, track, or media item level. Does the project play back the same before and after gluing? If it plays back the same, then it's not a bug, it is just that the item mix behavior is not what you are expecting.
schwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 02:32 PM   #13
ovnis
Human being with feelings
 
ovnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,370
Default

OK, thank you for your help. That was not a bug. My project was settled on "Enclosed items replace enclosing". When it is settled on "Item alaways mix", there is no more glue "issue".
ovnis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 03:30 PM   #14
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 653
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovnis View Post
OK, thank you for your help. That was not a bug. My project was settled on "Enclosed items replace enclosing". When it is settled on "Item alaways mix", there is no more glue "issue".
Great that you sorted it out ovnis.

And dupont, please, if it is the same solution for your original post, rename the thread title to something like "glue items bug - [SOLVED - not a bug]", thanks.

Last edited by akademie; 11-30-2019 at 08:46 PM. Reason: edited direction to OP, dupont
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2019, 06:50 PM   #15
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 564
Default

For what it's worth - I ran into this issue too at first, and it would be amazing to get a global preferences option for 'midi items always mix'.

I don't want my audio items mixing when overlaid, but I do want it for midi, and I expect this is quite a typical need.
Joe90 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 09:07 AM   #16
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by akademie View Post
Great that you sorted it out ovnis.

And dupont, please, if it is the same solution for your original post, rename the thread title to something like "glue items bug - [SOLVED - not a bug]", thanks.
Sorry for the delay, solved with preferences set to 'midi items always mix'.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2020, 10:00 AM   #17
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dupont View Post
Sorry for the delay, solved with preferences set to 'midi items always mix'.
There is a preference to only set midi items to 'always mix'?


Where is it?
Joe90 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2020, 04:01 AM   #18
dupont
Human being with feelings
 
dupont's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: France
Posts: 685
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe90 View Post
There is a preference to only set midi items to 'always mix'?


Where is it?
You can access by clicking on the main toolbar project preferences icon.
dupont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2020, 04:27 PM   #19
Joe90
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 564
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dupont View Post
You can access by clicking on the main toolbar project preferences icon.
Oh... that sets ALL items to always mix, which is not what I'm after unfortunately. Unless I'm missing something.
Joe90 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.