Old 09-24-2018, 03:50 PM   #1
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 914
Default Icon Qcon ProX and Reaper

Hello, I thought I would let everyone here know about the Qcon ProX (and XS extender) and how it works with Reaper. I have been researching surface controllers for a few months and really had my heart set on a Mackie MCU until I saw the ProX. There are several posts on the older Qcon, a few on the M-series, but almost nothing on the ProX. I went ahead with the purchase and everything works well with the default MCU profile, Klinke, or the new CSI.

Nearly everything works as expected with a few exceptions. 1) The master fader meter does not light. 2) the 2nd display near the fader does not show any useful info. 3) There are 3 blank buttons that have no function and can't be programmed at all as of now. Any of this could change in the future...

Depending on which MCU profile you use, you will get different functions and slightly different experience. For example, Klinke 0.8 will not allow you to use the XS extender, but you get full control of plugins and sends as well as folder mode. The default MCU will let you use the extender(s) but you lose all those other functions...just basic controls. In both of these, the LED meter bridge levels are a little bit higher than they should be. I'm currently using Geoff's CSI, which is amazing even if unfinished right now. LEDs are perfect, can control plugs and sends, and more. But, takes a lot of trial/error to build/map your surfaces.

I like this surface, although it's not perfect. The button layout is rather absurd if you ask me (save/undo far away, jog wheel is in the way of transport buttons), and I was hoping the buttons would be rubber and quiet, not plastic clicky buttons, but there is no place to get my hands on one in advance, so there it is. However, everything on this is metal (except buttons) so build quality is great. It may seem like they copied directly from the MCU, but there are several buttons on the MCU that are not on the ProX, so keep that in mind (Klinke, for example, uses some of these unavailable buttons) All in all, it's cheaper than the MCU and has the meter bridge and can be expanded, which makes it a very good option between the MCU and X-Touch.

edit: almost forgot one very important topic...support. You may have read that Icon support is non-existent but in my experience that's not really true. Icon itself has no support in the USA but they do have authorized dealers. In CA there is Mixware, and their support is fantastic. I emailed them with some questions about how it works with Reaper, and support wrote a full page response in detail from downloading Reaper for the first time to installing Klinke's plugin, and verifying all of my concerns.

Any questions just let me know.

dave
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81

Last edited by poetnprophet; 09-25-2018 at 10:38 AM.
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2018, 09:48 PM   #2
Millavilla123
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 4
Default Update???

Thanks for your informative post on the Icon Qcon ProX. I'm interested in purchasing it as well. You said you had three issues:
1) The master fader meter does not light. 2) the 2nd display near the fader does not show any useful info. 3) There are 3 blank buttons that have no function and can't be programmed at all as of now.
Did you ever find a way to resolve any or all of these issues?
Thanks!!!
Millavilla123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 01:33 AM   #3
faxhouse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Hi.
i was interested in purchase the Qcon pro x and two Qcon pro xs to have 24 fader and a master fader.
I was really interested in this product because on the icon web site the declare full compatibility even with reaper (adding the dedicated reaper panel in the Qcon pro X)...
so it isn't really plug and play??? some function doesn't works???
faxhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2019, 02:50 AM   #4
moss
Human being with feelings
 
moss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 362
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by faxhouse View Post
Hi.
i was interested in purchase the Qcon pro x and two Qcon pro xs to have 24 fader and a master fader.
I was really interested in this product because on the icon web site the declare full compatibility even with reaper (adding the dedicated reaper panel in the Qcon pro X)...
so it isn't really plug and play??? some function doesn't works???
Look here: http://www.mossgrabers.de/Software/Reaper/Reaper.html

After installation add the MCU extension with 2 extenders. It supports the master LEDs and the 2nd display.
moss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2019, 04:21 PM   #5
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 914
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by faxhouse View Post
Hi.
i was interested in purchase the Qcon pro x and two Qcon pro xs to have 24 fader and a master fader.
I was really interested in this product because on the icon web site the declare full compatibility even with reaper (adding the dedicated reaper panel in the Qcon pro X)...
so it isn't really plug and play??? some function doesn't works???
Yes, plug and play with the stock MCU configurators.

edit: nothing is technically "plug and play", you still have to setup the midi devices accordingly just like in any daw. but the native mcu and extender profiles will work without having to download anything additional and the setup dialogs are pretty self explanatory.
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81

Last edited by poetnprophet; 02-25-2019 at 04:32 PM.
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2019, 11:21 AM   #6
faxhouse
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks a lot!!
faxhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 04:24 PM   #7
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 914
Default

I made a video showing how to setup the ProX with Reaper and the stock MCU configs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3xUHkhb-XI
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 01:23 PM   #8
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 914
Default

Update:

Icon released a new firmware Ver 2.0, pretty major change. The big change was to the layout of the button overlay. It's actually a nice reconfiguration, even if they can't move the buttons, just regrouping them to make sense is a nice change. Here's the new layout: https://s3.amazonaws.com/assets.icon...PP2-Reaper.jpg

The midi mapping follows the buttons, so if you don't have to remap anything. But, now we get additional buttons: Send and EQ, which now mirrors the MCU Pro and if you use Klinke's config, then you get these functions now. You'll also notice that the new layout corresponds to Klinke's layout, so very good for those who use it.

They also removed a couple redundant buttons (Next, Last), and now the 5 unmarked buttons are all unique so it's possible to use them for custom buttons or whatever. They got rid of all the DAW specific "modes", so Reaper users will just use the MCU mode.

Otherwise, I haven't notice any performance improvements at all or anything else to mention.
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2019, 05:01 PM   #9
poetnprophet
Human being with feelings
 
poetnprophet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 914
Default

Another Update:

1st, I forgot to mention that the new firmware also adds another LAYER of buttons for F1-F8, so now there are more buttons to program! Also, the upper display info is swapped, so now track name is under the pan setting display.

Mainly wanted to update about an issue I had recently, and how it was solved. About 1 month ago, my XS extender unit stopped working. It would power on, but nothing on the display, and wouldn't show up in devices. Even in Midi-OX nothing was recognized or responsive. I hit up Mixware support, and it turns out the base programming was somehow corrupted. I had to send my device in, they reprogrammed it (actually stuck a new "module" inside, whatever that is), and sent it back. Just got it a few days ago, all is working well now. There's even an update to match the display changes with the ProX main unit.

Mixware charged me nothing for the repair. Even though I purchased this through a competitor (on Ebay for that matter) they honored the repair at no cost. Turn around was about 3 weeks overall.

Just want to reiterate that there is good support for these units.
__________________
https://www.kdubbproductions.com/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCpC...2dGA3qUWBKrXQQ
i7 8700k,4.9Ghz,Win10,Reaper 5,Motu 828es,MJE Hulk 990,GAP Pre73/EQ81
poetnprophet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.