Old 12-28-2011, 09:15 PM   #1
danieluber1337
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 69
Default Portable Install

Nothing more to be said...
danieluber1337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2012, 12:10 PM   #2
webfork
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 3
Default Portability

Quote:
Originally Posted by danieluber1337 View Post
Nothing more to be said...
There's a thread over at portablefreeware about this.
http://www.portablefreeware.com/foru...ic.php?p=45056

Essentially, the only issue is that it currently saves settings to AppData instead of locally. If the developers modify that (or at least allow a command-line tweak), it will work portably.
webfork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 03:18 AM   #3
sriva
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Red face Great need for portable version

I also came across another tool Gifcam. But I feel LICEcap has better features. Only issue I feel is that though LICEcap is small in size, its not portable. Please make it portable.
sriva is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 11:01 AM   #4
TimTheMime
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 1
Default

Yeah, even if you put the licecap.ini in the same folder as the executable, the actual licecap.ini is in c:\Users\[username]\AppData\Roaming\.

So the portable mode is not working as it should.
TimTheMime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2017, 07:48 AM   #5
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 411
Default

4 years later...is it now portable?
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 01:14 PM   #6
20kHz
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chumbo View Post
4 years later...is it now portable?
I see that it is still not portable.
20kHz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 01:49 PM   #7
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 411
Default

Sure it is. When you download Reaper and install, there's a small checkbox on the bottom right that appears during the install process, labelled 'Portable'...that's what it does!
In fact, I've NEVER run it any other way than portable! :-)
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 02:33 PM   #8
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 207
Default

Hi chumbo,
but I think that we are here in "LICEcap Discussion" to discuss that the LICEcap is not portable as opposed to REAPER which obviously is portable from the beginning.

akademie
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 03:30 PM   #9
chumbo
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Posts: 411
Default

Oops! haha, my bad, sorry ;-)
chumbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2017, 03:50 PM   #10
akademie
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 207
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chumbo View Post
Oops! haha, my bad, sorry ;-)
I have to say that first time I read the latest additions of the thread I thought the same until I realized that it is that LICEcap discussion, so then I did not responded.
:-D

akademie
akademie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.