Old 09-07-2018, 12:04 AM   #41
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Ortega View Post
Automatically does not put blank item , what am I doing wrong?
Can you upload your project and reapercongif file?
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2018, 01:13 PM   #42
musicbynumbers
Human being with feelings
 
musicbynumbers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: brighton, uk
Posts: 12,774
Default

Just saw the video Very useful! Thanks!

Here's hoping this makes it into Reaper 6
__________________
subproject FRs click here
note: don't search for my pseudonym on the web. The "musicbynumbers" you find is not me or the name I use for my own music.
musicbynumbers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 02:42 PM   #43
Dark River
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: NC
Posts: 39
Default No success...

Running main script does not create folder item{s).
I am getting similar results as Alex Ortega shows in the previous posts.
Would love to get this happening!

Tested on 5.962 Win10 and 5.95 Win7
__________________
Windows 7, i7, 16GB ram.
Windows 10, i7, 16GB ram.
Dark River is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2018, 03:05 PM   #44
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dark River View Post
Running main script does not create folder item{s).
I am getting similar results as Alex Ortega shows in the previous posts.
Would love to get this happening!

Tested on 5.962 Win10 and 5.95 Win7
For a higher chance to get this debugged, upload please the project file and reaper config file
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2018, 04:21 AM   #45
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,936
Default

Can the video plus the new repository link be put at first posting, for simplicity?

So, this is only for audio, but not midi, right? Why not for midi as well? That would complete the story fully. Thanks to the video I have learned I can customize themes so folders do not consume any vertical space, cool.

This is another powerful arranging feature beside hackey patterns.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 04:33 AM   #46
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
So, this is only for audio, but not midi, right? Why not for midi as well?
Maybe I do not understand you correctly, but this works with both audio and midi items. Check out my gif in the very first post in this thread, there are midi items.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 09:35 AM   #47
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,936
Default

Cool, then it is already perfect, will test it as soon as I can.
Ah, thanks for sharing and lots of greetings to Slovakia!

Last edited by TonE; 11-26-2018 at 10:21 AM.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 10:24 AM   #48
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nikolalkc View Post
I created a video which explains how to, and how not to use this script, check it out:

https://youtu.be/faci3lX-czY

Also, i addded this script to my ReaPack repository so everyone can download it with ease:

https://bit.ly/LKC-Tools
Wonderful videos Nikola, thanks, waiting for your video tips with Reaper. Best Reaper videos I have seen so far. Did you do lots of extra modifications for those video effects/transitions or did you use more standard features?
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2018, 10:41 AM   #49
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,936
Default

This infinite foldering opens up new possibilities for simplicity or hidden complexity.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2018, 05:03 AM   #50
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,936
Default

If you want even more folders, see https://forum.cockos.com/showthread.php?p=2061412
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2018, 07:12 AM   #51
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TonE View Post
Wonderful videos Nikola, thanks, waiting for your video tips with Reaper. Best Reaper videos I have seen so far. Did you do lots of extra modifications for those video effects/transitions or did you use more standard features?
Thank you very much. My plan is to continue making these. I'm preparing something very cool at the moment, but it will take some time.

If you are asking about video editing effects all of them are standard video processor presets inside REAPER. I just automated cropping and position (x,y) parameters.
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 08:51 AM   #52
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 164
Default

Anyone else having trouble with this script since the SWS update 2.10 ?
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2019, 09:48 AM   #53
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

I remember trying beta few months ago and did have problems. Have not installed the new release yet.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 12:33 PM   #54
reapero
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 250
Default

I love this script but when I add folders inside folders reaper becomes very laggy. Looks like it has a big impact on the cpu?
reapero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2019, 01:08 PM   #55
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reapero View Post
I love this script but when I add folders inside folders reaper becomes very laggy. Looks like it has a big impact on the cpu?
The script works recursivelly, so it may have. Maybe if you uploaded your project, I would have a look at it.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 02:25 AM   #56
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,936
Default

Is this the zero-track height version? If not there was another variant here in the forums somewhere. From this zero-height version I like it allows infinite foldering, without any disadvantages or side effects. Or this should be the goal. If not possible yet, it could be achieved as follows, being a bit something like subprojects but without using any subprojects. We can imagine it look zoom-in and zoom-out into a project. Instead of creating subprojects it should just create folders with zero-height, then render those into a parallel track. So we would always have two variants A,B, A is the folder, B its rendered version where A is muted, so A and B should never be active at the same time. XOR between A and B. The trick would be it should be a fluid experience zooming in and zooming out, permanently, and Reaper would automatically switch between A and B variants. Zooming in for editing, zoom out for auto-rendering and switching to B. More or less what subprojects do, but without any subprojects. Using folders with zero-height instead. Zero-height folders mean of course they are invisible, on sub-levels and their subsub-levels. This is its beauty, keeping all simple and rendering helps keeping cpu consumption simple.

zoom-in, would be something like:
-create folder, make it zero-height, so all its children invisible, to keep everything clean
-switch to variant A

zoom-out
-auto-render
-switch to rendered variant B


The used concepts are: zero-height folder, zoom-in, zoom-out, auto-rendering, xor auto-track-toggling

Any comments or improvement ideas, the beautiness of Reaper we can always come up with some next step idea, because Reaper allows it, does not put you into a DAW-prison. I think I found a new marketing term for Reaper.

Reaper, the only non-prison DAW.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2019, 03:37 AM   #57
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

Could you explain more what should be the purpose of you idea?

This scipt as is creates empty items in the folder track above all items in all children tracks. It does not do anything with hiding children if that what you mean.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 02:16 AM   #58
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
I remember trying beta few months ago and did have problems. Have not installed the new release yet.
Do you have a clue what seems to cause the problem?
SWS 2.9.7 works fine.
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 03:03 AM   #59
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

Actually don't. I tried to investigate but haven't found the cause (yet). (I'm still using older SWS verion for now)
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2019, 11:40 AM   #60
TonE
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Reaper HAS send control via midi !!!
Posts: 1,936
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bFooz View Post
... It does not do anything with hiding children if that what you mean.
In your above linked video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faci3lX-czY#t=1m0s
in minute 1:00, it is hiding the children. This is what I meant with 0 height folder, of course not the folder itself but its childrens height is 0 which I find very cool. Why Reaper does not support this style by default, at the cost of removing those dangerous clashing functionality? Users could do just another checkbox, if they prefer old style or this new cooler style, no matter what it costs, I would prefer not having those clashing functionality, as this gives infinitely more power overall. It would be a clear win decision. What are the strongest counter arguments, if any?

And yes, as in the video explained my solution so far is just hiding them completely! But just keeping the high level folder is much cooler! Keep your main stems, 7 stems, then dive in where necessary, dive out. Dive in, dive out, or zoom in, zoom out! Any experience reports so far? What is the best part? Worst part when used in this way? I would like to see many more tutorials using this feature, or some real examples, or any examples. And this forum could use an auto-resizing function for images, as github can do, then we would not have these wide pages. if image width > something, then use another html/css tag.

The video says: Be careful about hidden tracks because of ..., instead it could just do:
if tracks hidden
--unhide tracks
--do it
--hide unhidden tracks again, restoring original state

Last edited by TonE; 03-20-2019 at 11:50 AM.
TonE is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 01:19 AM   #61
Alex Philipp
Human being with feelings
 
Alex Philipp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 35
Default

on SWS 2.10 Looks like it overflowing Redo.
That was my very expected function for REAPER 6.
Alex Philipp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 07:54 AM   #62
nikolalkc
Human being with feelings
 
nikolalkc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 164
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex Philipp View Post
on SWS 2.10 Looks like it overflowing Redo.
That was my very expected function for REAPER 6.
I'll try to fix that when I find time for this issue.
Yeah, it would be cool if it was an actual feauture, this is still a buggy hack.
nikolalkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2019, 10:56 AM   #63
bFooz
Human being with feelings
 
bFooz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Slovakia
Posts: 1,199
Default

I'm fixing it, stay tuned.
__________________
Donations | Mixing & Mastering Services
bFooz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.