Old 11-24-2019, 02:46 PM   #81
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romeo_despres View Post
It's just JSON messages sent over the local network. Outer-reapy tells inner-reapy which fonctions it needs him to call, then inner-reapy sends the results back to outer-reapy.
I see. This in fact is rather similar to beyond. Only that beyond uses OSC instead of JSON.

I do know that OSC (close to always) uses UDP as a transport. What transport layer does reapy use to send JSON messages ?

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 01:50 AM   #82
romeo_despres
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
Default

Indeed it is very similar. I've decided to recode it myself rather than just reuse Beyond mostly because I didn't like the way Beyond fills builtins with global variables without being asked to. Quite a creative choice, but not my cup of tea

I think reapy uses TCP... I don't know much about networking though so I might be wrong!...
romeo_despres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 09:10 AM   #83
mschnell
Human being with feelings
 
mschnell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 8,213
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romeo_despres View Post
I think reapy uses TCP...
Then it would be no problem at all to use it across two networked boxes.

-Michael
mschnell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 11:27 AM   #84
kkecm
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by romeo_despres View Post
Why exactly do you not want to use reapy.reascript_api.InsertEnvelopePoint? I do agree that it would be better to have a nicer function for this purpose, but it should still work, even from the outside.
Thanks for the quick response. In fact reapy.reascript_api.InsertEnvelopePoint works after I realized that the envelopes and tracks must be all obtained with reascript_api and not with reapy. reapy.Project().tracks[0] is not at the same level than reapy.reascript_api.GetTrack(0, 0).
kkecm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2019, 02:09 PM   #85
romeo_despres
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 35
Default

@mschnell

Indeed, that's why I've started doing it!

@kkecm

The objects that ReaScripts functions take as arguments are string identifiers. You can access them with the id property of reapy objects.

In your case, you could do:

Code:
import reapy
import reapy.reascript_api as RPR

t = reapy.Project().tracks[0]
RPR.InsertEnvelopePoint(t.id, ...)
romeo_despres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2019, 01:14 PM   #86
tparker24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tparker24 View Post
If my python script (running outside of Reaper) has certain problems, I do a sys.exit() to terminate the script. When that happens I get the following:

Code:
Exception ignored in: <socket.socket fd=488, family=AddressFamily.AF_INET, type=SocketKind.SOCK_STREAM, proto=0, laddr=('127.0.0.1', 50268), raddr=('127.0.0.1', 2306)>
ResourceWarning: unclosed <socket.socket fd=488, family=AddressFamily.AF_INET, type=SocketKind.SOCK_STREAM, proto=0, laddr=('127.0.0.1', 50268), raddr=('127.0.0.1', 2306)>
I'm wondering if this might be related to reapy. If so, do I need to somehow shutdown reapy more gracefully, before I sys.exit() ?
I now think it was self-inflicted, because I had
Code:
warnings.filterwarnings("error")
tparker24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.