Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > Other Software Discussion > OSCII-bot forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2013, 11:21 AM   #41
mim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 345
Default

Moscito Bytes
M(idi &) OSC to bytes
mim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 11:30 AM   #42
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 16,215
Default

Thankyew folks, he's here all week! (Try the veal)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 12:10 PM   #43
Tronic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 91
Default

'Reaper osc midi'
anagrams to
'Imprecise road.'
Tronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 12:43 PM   #44
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmajjL View Post
swiss_osc_midi
(Based on the swiss army knife, for the record)
And "swiss" to me is multiple options.
And.. if it sounds a little bit schwa'ish, that's good right?
Hah or 'midi osc knife'?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 01:12 PM   #45
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,698
Default

Sounds dangerous! but yeah, i would "get" it but it does not sound so good saying it though to me.
That said, if you already have stuff organized starting with either midi or osc then i must agree on following that standard then.
osc_swiss_midi?
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 04:32 PM   #46
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,698
Default

https://stash.reaper.fm/19121/Swiss.png

Just wanted you to put the knife away. *puh*
Keyword of the idea is swiss though, let's just see if the idea/word grows on you in a few days or if we get other suggestions that works better.
osc_midi_swiss?

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-11-2013 at 05:54 PM. Reason: trying to dissarm Justin. :)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:43 PM   #47
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,520
Default

Woo, have midi2osc doing [osc|midi]<-->[osc|midi], working pretty well, such as:

http://1014.org/shiz/shup/alphatrack.cfg

(not done yet, obviously

...and you can load multiple scripts, which share hardware if necessary... by default it will load *.cfg from the program directory.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 08:36 PM   #48
Anton9
Human being with feelings
 
Anton9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,319
Default

You could call it M.O.M. (MIDI-OSC Megatool)..., or maybe just call it "The Tool".
Anton9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 04:26 AM   #49
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,520
Default

Haha, MOM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 04:54 AM   #50
Teddy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 139
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Woo, have midi2osc doing [osc|midi]<-->[osc|midi], working pretty well, such as:

http://1014.org/shiz/shup/alphatrack.cfg

(not done yet, obviously

...and you can load multiple scripts, which share hardware if necessary... by default it will load *.cfg from the program directory.
When I look at this code, it reminds me of Ableton Live's python controller scripts. Would it be an idea to include this functionality directly in reaper instead of having this run in a separate application? Just asking. great job so far with this project.
Teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 03:35 PM   #51
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,520
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teddy View Post
When I look at this code, it reminds me of Ableton Live's python controller scripts. Would it be an idea to include this functionality directly in reaper instead of having this run in a separate application? Just asking. great job so far with this project.
That's definitely a possibility, and you could look at this much as a testbed for that sort of thing.. but my original use-case benefitted from a separate process, so this will continue on as well.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 04:12 PM   #52
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Haven't had a chance to take a look at this stuff yet, but it sounds great - awesome to see more OSC stuff in any case, keep it coming Justin!
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 08:05 PM   #53
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,520
Default

Here is the new version, now renamed to OSCII-bot:

http://1014.org/?article=512
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 01:56 PM   #54
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,698
Default

*Quack!*

OSCII-bot sounds good to me.

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-27-2013 at 04:28 AM. Reason: think that is the correct spelling.. ;)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 05:00 PM   #55
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,520
Default

Here we go: http://www.cockos.com/oscii-bot/
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 06:10 PM   #56
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 6,794
Default

Good work!
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 08:24 AM   #57
adaragray
Human being with feelings
 
adaragray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bananenrepublik Deutschland
Posts: 307
Default

:like:
__________________
www.shallmodule.com
adaragray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 06:38 PM   #58
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 623
Default

Hi,

Thank you Justin for making osciibot.

I think i have a general idea of the concepts but,alas, I cant program for shit so i was wondering if some kind soul could help me out. I have stared hard and long at the sample scripts...to no avail.

Firstly, i will be sending a midi message {x message on a specific midi port} to oscibot,and have osc tell oscibot what number is the currently selected track...and then convert that value into midi. Any midi message will do.

I believe i could copy and paste my way from there to get any further deeper into osc commands. Pllllllllzzzzzzzzzzzz help?

Happy Holidays to all,

guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 02:42 AM   #59
adaragray
Human being with feelings
 
adaragray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bananenrepublik Deutschland
Posts: 307
Default

funny, i was thinking the exact same thing bu didn't dare to ask
__________________
www.shallmodule.com
adaragray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:26 AM   #60
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,698
Default

*Annoying buzzer*

To late! problem solved, better luck next time.
__________________
:)

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-27-2013 at 12:25 PM.
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 01:18 PM   #61
adaragray
Human being with feelings
 
adaragray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bananenrepublik Deutschland
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmajjL View Post
*Annoying buzzer*

To late! problem solved, better luck next time.
?
__________________
www.shallmodule.com
adaragray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 06:59 AM   #62
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,698
Default

Nothing to see here..
__________________
:)

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-29-2013 at 10:10 AM. Reason: thread cleaning :)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 03:45 PM   #63
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 10,520
Default

test post of attachment -- ignore this
Attached Images
File Type: png test.png (1.6 KB, 196 views)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 01:42 AM   #64
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 134
Default

all the OSC stuff is exciting.. I would like to put my hand up for the dummies though and ask is there likely to be anyway of implementing OSC control which is more straight forward ?

What is the feasability of just allowing something like right click on a JS fader and an option "send to OSC" and a dialog to type the OSC command ? so if someone wants to quickly add OSC control on the timeline they just load dummy fader, write a command and automate with familiar controls like envelopes etc ? If you have learn input and send to OSC output you could have easy custom routings also.

I know you need ReaperOSC files for setting up interfacing to a full control surfaces but for quick and simple stuff its difficult for the lay person to get their head around too many config files and programming etc...

For example right now i want to send mainMuteFx and echoVolume OSC commands to an external device at a few points on timeline. Its hard to work out how to get a JS fader (just an FX control obviously) to send those commands when its tied to the ReaperOSC file that determines the OSC message for all the FX controls..

Last edited by EcBaPr; 01-01-2014 at 01:51 AM.
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 08:48 AM   #65
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 699
Default

Im just posting this ultra-basic osciibot script for people who want to get started and have the same difficulties to get their head around like i had .

It basically does the same (i hope ) like Banned does it with his superb PureData patch here (the first one), except only allowing midi-feedback for parameter 1 of fx 1 of track 1 (use with CC0 on channel 1).
Attached Files
File Type: txt basic.txt (2.5 KB, 176 views)

Last edited by Veto; 09-30-2014 at 03:39 AM.
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:11 AM   #66
adaragray
Human being with feelings
 
adaragray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bananenrepublik Deutschland
Posts: 307
Default

Great Veto!
thats a good starting point
__________________
www.shallmodule.com
adaragray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 03:48 AM   #67
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Im just posting this ultra-basic osciibot script for people who want to get started and have the same difficulties like i had to get their head around it.

It basically does the same (i hope ) like Banned does it with his superb PureData patch here (the first one), allowing midi-feedback, except for just one parameter.
I have no idea about osciibot other than it might be something that can help me Could you let me know if your script (or an adaptation of it) would be able to help me do the following..

I want to send the OSC command "mainMuteFx" out of reaper to an external device.. i want to be able to automate this command on/off freely on the timeline. Can osciibot help me ?
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 07:20 AM   #68
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 699
Default

pheew i'm afraid but i probably wont be of much help with your subject, i personally just jumped into OSC waters only a few days ago..

osciibot is "just" middleware between your device and REAPER. Put simply its a translator that can make an osc-message out of a midi-message, a midi-message out of an osc-message and not least, a completly new osc-message out of an osc-message and a new midi-msg out...i think you got it

From what i understand mainMuteFx is not something that REAPER munches by default? But afaik REAPER sends time&beats&samples and, not sure about it, but i thought i also read something about markers in the forum, so you probably could translate these messages to something mainmutefxly with osciibot ?

The script above however is just converting a Midi-CC to a normalized float and vice versa, but i hope it can be of help though.

btw: could somebody give me a hint how to tickle out a string value out of oscparm(x,v) ?
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 02:41 PM   #69
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Im just posting this ultra-basic osciibot script for people who want to get started and have the same difficulties like i had to get their head around it.

It basically does the same (i hope ) like Banned does it with his superb PureData patch here (the first one), allowing midi-feedback, except for just one parameter.
Hi Veto,

I think i may owe u enormously...I know nothing about scripts....but am i correct in understanding that if i change this line....

oscsend(reaper_in,"n/track/1/fx/1/fxparam/1/value", osc_val);.....

to some reaper osc command that gets the index # of the selected track, if that command exists...this script will send out a midi command with that number in the value? If so it would be a Godsend for me! Awe plz say its so!

If i may ask,where is the master list of all osc commands?

Thanks heaps for making this available.

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 06:18 AM   #70
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 699
Default

yes this should be possible, REAPER is at least sending boolean values for /track/X/select by default.

what the OB script would have to do is:
check for those in @oscmsg with the help of oscmatch(), grab them using oscstr() and extract the tracknumber out of it by some string processing (look out for the functions beginning with "str")

lol, provided it is possible to convert a string to int/float ( did not google for it yet though) you could now do everything you imagine after that (even sending sth back to reaper i suppose).


---
The master list of OSC would be the .ReaperOSC config files i guess, but i also find it neat to log (not only osc) messages, so i can see whats going on in realtime.

To get you started regarding scripting, the language is similar to JS. Also have a look at scripts Justin included, to find out about osciibot specific stuff.
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:31 PM   #71
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 623
Default

Hi,

Thx veto. Some of the stuff u said is making sense to me , but I am afraid I will have to wait until the interger/string thing is done by someone else...or a GUI is added to js and oscibot..lol. Thank you for your help.

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 06:21 PM   #72
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 699
Default

I was wrong, string to int conversion is not needed.
But i can only get it to work from track 1-8, probably only a config thing.
Would help when i would know more than nothing about OSC...

Last edited by Veto; 01-15-2014 at 10:43 AM. Reason: soooorrry had a bug, see below
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 07:33 PM   #73
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
I was wrong, string to int conversion is not needed.
But i can only get it to work from track 1-8, probably only a config thing.
Would help when i would know more than nothing about OSC...
Hi,

Thank you!1 I just saw this ..am going to try now ...thx!!

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:24 PM   #74
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 623
Default

Hi,


This is how much i dont know^^ I put these three files in the stash..i didnt know if i should copy them here...but maybe u could look at them veto? Youve gone above the call of duty already..thx.




https://stash.reaper.fm/19457/OscibotLog.txt


https://stash.reaper.fm/19458/Track-to-CC.txt


btw

In ur script...what controller is expected on the input side...i see msg1=176...what is that?

If this is too much of a pita, plz feel no obligation. Thx again!

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 10:41 AM   #75
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 699
Default

Hi Guido,
i'm sorry the script for you i posted previously had a bug. Thats what i get for not testing it with a real device (i tested just with console output). I attach the working one.

Thanks for posting your script.
You've got some issues with your inputs/outputs.
This is how i understood the structure, i hope i've got everything right:

@aaa bbb ccc "ddd"

aaa: can be input or output
bbb: can be anything you like, its the variable of your device you're referencing to later in the code, f.e. if you choose motif you're writing midisend(motif) later
ccc: can be MIDI or OSC
ddd: if ccc is MIDI than put in the name of your Device. If you dont know, check: ReaperPrefs/MidiDevices/Dbl-click device -> Device name. This doesnt have to be the full name, it can also be just a substring. F.e. if Device name is Bome Translator you just can put in "Bome" or "Translator"
if ccc is OSC then you need to put in the address of the OSC device, have a look at Justins scripts if you got problems. He uses some magic like "*:9000" or "localhost:8000" too.
Oh and make sure your Firewall is not blocking something.

I hope i'm not confusing anything im such a noob at this

In my script the input is just REAPER. Output is a midi-message.
"msg1 = 176" specifies a CC-message on channel 1 in Midi Standard (in the decimal system). It can also be a hex (also a bin?) in osciibot if you're more comfortable with that. "msg2" and "msg3" are the data bytes. If the message is a cc than msg2 specifies the cc-number and msg3 the cc-value. Have a look here for reference.
So my script should send cc0 on channel 1 with values equivalent to the selected track number (currently only between 1-8, has something to do with the Track Bank i feel)
Attached Files
File Type: txt Track-to-CC.txt (246 Bytes, 167 views)
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:03 PM   #76
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 623
Default

Hi,

Oh boy..u are the man....digesting.....thanx!!!!

btw about the 1-8 thing..i was going to blindly suggest that. I been in this control surface mode so deep and long now!

Thank you Veto..bb

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 04:45 AM   #77
HH007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Default OSX: how to use program

Hi Justin,

I've downloaded the files for OSX, I've copied the program to Finder into the list with programs but after clicking twice, nothing seems to happen. The documentation that comes with the files is limited. How should I use this? After starting the program, what should I be seeing or does starting mean that a function becomes available? Thank you for your support.

Kind Regards,

HH007
HH007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 10:03 AM   #78
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 623
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HH007 View Post
Hi Justin,

I've downloaded the files for OSX, I've copied the program to Finder into the list with programs but after clicking twice, nothing seems to happen. The documentation that comes with the files is limited. How should I use this? After starting the program, what should I be seeing or does starting mean that a function becomes available? Thank you for your support.

Kind Regards,

HH007
Hi,

Had the same prob i think...take the sample scripts out of the folder "Sample Scripts" and put them in the sane directory as oscibot. then restart oscibot. Should see something then....i hope^^

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 11:29 AM   #79
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 623
Default

Hi,

This is frkn very frustrating!!

I am trying to send a midi message..mod wheel on my motif...to osci bot and then have osc get the selected tracks id# and then spit it out my bomes midi port as any midi message whose value is the selected tracks id #.

Heres what i have now.......in oscobot..thx to veto.....

@input motif_in MIDI "MOTIF6-1"
@output translate_out MIDI "Bome's Midi Translator 4"

@oscmsg
(oscmatch("/track/%d/select")) && (oscparm(0,0) > 0)?
(
msg1 = 176;
msg2 = 0;
msg3 = fmt0;
midisend(translate_out);

printf("Track %d selected\n");
);


Hers what i get in oscibot.... i move of the mod wheel..and 2 middle c notes pressed...but no midi output and no log data generated.






Another question...for me to achieve what i want to do, do i need to define an osc control surface in Reaper prefs?

This is killin me. I have spent hours trying to decipher this "developers video game"..... meaning...i just dont get it. Couldnt oscibot have some sort of basic non programmer friendly gui? Ive read and reread the sample scripts..but sorry its all greek to me.^^ Just like js. Sigh

Plz help?

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 01:47 PM   #80
Veto
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 699
Default

Hi Guido,

firstly i'm sorry for your frustration, i think a good portion of that is my fault.
I misread your post and what you wanted to achieve (i thought you just wanted osciibot listen to track changes in REAPER and send out midi-messages related to that, which does it pretty nicely).
The language barrier is very high here on my side...

If i find some minutes in the next days i'll have a closer look over your script and i'll PM you with the news, i hope we can get it to work the way you want it (not so sure atm).

V

Last edited by Veto; 01-20-2014 at 01:55 PM. Reason: language barrier
Veto is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions Inc.