Go Back   Cockos Incorporated Forums > Other Software Discussion > OSCII-bot forum

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-11-2013, 11:21 AM   #41
mim
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 346
Default

Moscito Bytes
M(idi &) OSC to bytes
mim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 11:30 AM   #42
ivansc
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Near Cambridge UK and Near Questembert, France
Posts: 17,198
Default

Thankyew folks, he's here all week! (Try the veal)
ivansc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 12:10 PM   #43
Tronic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 91
Default

'Reaper osc midi'
anagrams to
'Imprecise road.'
Tronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 12:43 PM   #44
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmajjL View Post
swiss_osc_midi
(Based on the swiss army knife, for the record)
And "swiss" to me is multiple options.
And.. if it sounds a little bit schwa'ish, that's good right?
Hah or 'midi osc knife'?
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 01:12 PM   #45
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,699
Default

Sounds dangerous! but yeah, i would "get" it but it does not sound so good saying it though to me.
That said, if you already have stuff organized starting with either midi or osc then i must agree on following that standard then.
osc_swiss_midi?
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 04:32 PM   #46
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,699
Default

https://stash.reaper.fm/19121/Swiss.png

Just wanted you to put the knife away. *puh*
Keyword of the idea is swiss though, let's just see if the idea/word grows on you in a few days or if we get other suggestions that works better.
osc_midi_swiss?

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-11-2013 at 05:54 PM. Reason: trying to dissarm Justin. :)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 07:43 PM   #47
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,115
Default

Woo, have midi2osc doing [osc|midi]<-->[osc|midi], working pretty well, such as:

http://1014.org/shiz/shup/alphatrack.cfg

(not done yet, obviously

...and you can load multiple scripts, which share hardware if necessary... by default it will load *.cfg from the program directory.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 08:36 PM   #48
Anton9
Human being with feelings
 
Anton9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,319
Default

You could call it M.O.M. (MIDI-OSC Megatool)..., or maybe just call it "The Tool".
Anton9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 04:26 AM   #49
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,115
Default

Haha, MOM.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 04:54 AM   #50
Teddy
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 143
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin View Post
Woo, have midi2osc doing [osc|midi]<-->[osc|midi], working pretty well, such as:

http://1014.org/shiz/shup/alphatrack.cfg

(not done yet, obviously

...and you can load multiple scripts, which share hardware if necessary... by default it will load *.cfg from the program directory.
When I look at this code, it reminds me of Ableton Live's python controller scripts. Would it be an idea to include this functionality directly in reaper instead of having this run in a separate application? Just asking. great job so far with this project.
Teddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 03:35 PM   #51
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,115
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teddy View Post
When I look at this code, it reminds me of Ableton Live's python controller scripts. Would it be an idea to include this functionality directly in reaper instead of having this run in a separate application? Just asking. great job so far with this project.
That's definitely a possibility, and you could look at this much as a testbed for that sort of thing.. but my original use-case benefitted from a separate process, so this will continue on as well.
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2013, 04:12 PM   #52
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Haven't had a chance to take a look at this stuff yet, but it sounds great - awesome to see more OSC stuff in any case, keep it coming Justin!
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2013, 08:05 PM   #53
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,115
Default

Here is the new version, now renamed to OSCII-bot:

http://1014.org/?article=512
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 01:56 PM   #54
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,699
Default

*Quack!*

OSCII-bot sounds good to me.

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-27-2013 at 04:28 AM. Reason: think that is the correct spelling.. ;)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 05:00 PM   #55
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,115
Default

Here we go: http://www.cockos.com/oscii-bot/
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2013, 06:10 PM   #56
Xenakios
Human being with feelings
 
Xenakios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Oulu, Finland
Posts: 7,169
Default

Good work!
__________________
For info on SWS Reaper extension plugin (including Xenakios' previous extension/actions) :
http://www.sws-extension.org/
https://github.com/Jeff0S/sws
--
Xenakios blog (about HourGlass, Paul(X)Stretch and λ) :
http://xenakios.wordpress.com/
Xenakios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2013, 08:24 AM   #57
adaragray
Human being with feelings
 
adaragray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bananenrepublik Deutschland
Posts: 307
Default

:like:
__________________
www.shallmodule.com
adaragray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2013, 06:38 PM   #58
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Hi,

Thank you Justin for making osciibot.

I think i have a general idea of the concepts but,alas, I cant program for shit so i was wondering if some kind soul could help me out. I have stared hard and long at the sample scripts...to no avail.

Firstly, i will be sending a midi message {x message on a specific midi port} to oscibot,and have osc tell oscibot what number is the currently selected track...and then convert that value into midi. Any midi message will do.

I believe i could copy and paste my way from there to get any further deeper into osc commands. Pllllllllzzzzzzzzzzzz help?

Happy Holidays to all,

guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 02:42 AM   #59
adaragray
Human being with feelings
 
adaragray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bananenrepublik Deutschland
Posts: 307
Default

funny, i was thinking the exact same thing bu didn't dare to ask
__________________
www.shallmodule.com
adaragray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:26 AM   #60
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,699
Default

*Annoying buzzer*

To late! problem solved, better luck next time.
__________________
:)

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-27-2013 at 12:25 PM.
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 01:18 PM   #61
adaragray
Human being with feelings
 
adaragray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bananenrepublik Deutschland
Posts: 307
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SmajjL View Post
*Annoying buzzer*

To late! problem solved, better luck next time.
?
__________________
www.shallmodule.com
adaragray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2013, 06:59 AM   #62
SmajjL
Human being with feelings
 
SmajjL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Milky Way 999.999.999th floor :)
Posts: 1,699
Default

Nothing to see here..
__________________
:)

Last edited by SmajjL; 12-29-2013 at 10:10 AM. Reason: thread cleaning :)
SmajjL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2013, 03:45 PM   #63
Justin
Administrator
 
Justin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: NYC
Posts: 11,115
Default

test post of attachment -- ignore this
Attached Images
File Type: png test.png (1.6 KB, 201 views)
Justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2014, 01:42 AM   #64
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 134
Default

all the OSC stuff is exciting.. I would like to put my hand up for the dummies though and ask is there likely to be anyway of implementing OSC control which is more straight forward ?

What is the feasability of just allowing something like right click on a JS fader and an option "send to OSC" and a dialog to type the OSC command ? so if someone wants to quickly add OSC control on the timeline they just load dummy fader, write a command and automate with familiar controls like envelopes etc ? If you have learn input and send to OSC output you could have easy custom routings also.

I know you need ReaperOSC files for setting up interfacing to a full control surfaces but for quick and simple stuff its difficult for the lay person to get their head around too many config files and programming etc...

For example right now i want to send mainMuteFx and echoVolume OSC commands to an external device at a few points on timeline. Its hard to work out how to get a JS fader (just an FX control obviously) to send those commands when its tied to the ReaperOSC file that determines the OSC message for all the FX controls..

Last edited by EcBaPr; 01-01-2014 at 01:51 AM.
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2014, 09:11 AM   #65
adaragray
Human being with feelings
 
adaragray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Bananenrepublik Deutschland
Posts: 307
Default

Great Veto!
thats a good starting point
__________________
www.shallmodule.com
adaragray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 03:48 AM   #66
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 134
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Im just posting this ultra-basic osciibot script for people who want to get started and have the same difficulties like i had to get their head around it.

It basically does the same (i hope ) like Banned does it with his superb PureData patch here (the first one), allowing midi-feedback, except for just one parameter.
I have no idea about osciibot other than it might be something that can help me Could you let me know if your script (or an adaptation of it) would be able to help me do the following..

I want to send the OSC command "mainMuteFx" out of reaper to an external device.. i want to be able to automate this command on/off freely on the timeline. Can osciibot help me ?
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2014, 02:41 PM   #67
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Im just posting this ultra-basic osciibot script for people who want to get started and have the same difficulties like i had to get their head around it.

It basically does the same (i hope ) like Banned does it with his superb PureData patch here (the first one), allowing midi-feedback, except for just one parameter.
Hi Veto,

I think i may owe u enormously...I know nothing about scripts....but am i correct in understanding that if i change this line....

oscsend(reaper_in,"n/track/1/fx/1/fxparam/1/value", osc_val);.....

to some reaper osc command that gets the index # of the selected track, if that command exists...this script will send out a midi command with that number in the value? If so it would be a Godsend for me! Awe plz say its so!

If i may ask,where is the master list of all osc commands?

Thanks heaps for making this available.

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 04:31 PM   #68
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Hi,

Thx veto. Some of the stuff u said is making sense to me , but I am afraid I will have to wait until the interger/string thing is done by someone else...or a GUI is added to js and oscibot..lol. Thank you for your help.

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 07:33 PM   #69
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
I was wrong, string to int conversion is not needed.
But i can only get it to work from track 1-8, probably only a config thing.
Would help when i would know more than nothing about OSC...
Hi,

Thank you!1 I just saw this ..am going to try now ...thx!!

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 08:24 PM   #70
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Hi,


This is how much i dont know^^ I put these three files in the stash..i didnt know if i should copy them here...but maybe u could look at them veto? Youve gone above the call of duty already..thx.




https://stash.reaper.fm/19457/OscibotLog.txt


https://stash.reaper.fm/19458/Track-to-CC.txt


btw

In ur script...what controller is expected on the input side...i see msg1=176...what is that?

If this is too much of a pita, plz feel no obligation. Thx again!

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2014, 12:03 PM   #71
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Hi,

Oh boy..u are the man....digesting.....thanx!!!!

btw about the 1-8 thing..i was going to blindly suggest that. I been in this control surface mode so deep and long now!

Thank you Veto..bb

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 04:45 AM   #72
HH007
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 16
Default OSX: how to use program

Hi Justin,

I've downloaded the files for OSX, I've copied the program to Finder into the list with programs but after clicking twice, nothing seems to happen. The documentation that comes with the files is limited. How should I use this? After starting the program, what should I be seeing or does starting mean that a function becomes available? Thank you for your support.

Kind Regards,

HH007
HH007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 10:03 AM   #73
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HH007 View Post
Hi Justin,

I've downloaded the files for OSX, I've copied the program to Finder into the list with programs but after clicking twice, nothing seems to happen. The documentation that comes with the files is limited. How should I use this? After starting the program, what should I be seeing or does starting mean that a function becomes available? Thank you for your support.

Kind Regards,

HH007
Hi,

Had the same prob i think...take the sample scripts out of the folder "Sample Scripts" and put them in the sane directory as oscibot. then restart oscibot. Should see something then....i hope^^

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 11:29 AM   #74
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Hi,

This is frkn very frustrating!!

I am trying to send a midi message..mod wheel on my motif...to osci bot and then have osc get the selected tracks id# and then spit it out my bomes midi port as any midi message whose value is the selected tracks id #.

Heres what i have now.......in oscobot..thx to veto.....

@input motif_in MIDI "MOTIF6-1"
@output translate_out MIDI "Bome's Midi Translator 4"

@oscmsg
(oscmatch("/track/%d/select")) && (oscparm(0,0) > 0)?
(
msg1 = 176;
msg2 = 0;
msg3 = fmt0;
midisend(translate_out);

printf("Track %d selected\n");
);


Hers what i get in oscibot.... i move of the mod wheel..and 2 middle c notes pressed...but no midi output and no log data generated.






Another question...for me to achieve what i want to do, do i need to define an osc control surface in Reaper prefs?

This is killin me. I have spent hours trying to decipher this "developers video game"..... meaning...i just dont get it. Couldnt oscibot have some sort of basic non programmer friendly gui? Ive read and reread the sample scripts..but sorry its all greek to me.^^ Just like js. Sigh

Plz help?

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2014, 02:02 PM   #75
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Veto View Post
Hi Guido,

firstly i'm sorry for your frustration, i think a good portion of that is my fault.
I misread your post and what you wanted to try to do (i thought you just wanted osciibot listen to track changes in REAPER and send out midi-messages related to that, which does it pretty nicely).
The language barrier is very high here on my side...

If i find some minutes in the next days i'll have a closer look over your script and i'll PM you with the news, i hope we can get it to work the way you want it (not so sure atm).

V

Hi Veto,

Thats very kind of you. Thanks! You dont speak Italian do u? hehe i could do a little of that.

I must say tho, that this is not for musicians..esp drummers!! I have been reading and rereading the sample script, and even the little math there is incomprehensible to me. My fault.

take your time Veto, I am sorry that i have imposed on you so much.

Thx

Guido
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2014, 10:12 AM   #76
Jeffos
Mortal
 
Jeffos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: France
Posts: 1,969
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LugNut View Post
not for musicians..esp drummers!! I have been reading and rereading the sample script, and even the little math there is incomprehensible to me.
LOL. I can confirm Math is not for drummers, e.g. just recently I even managed to make a dumbass mistake in applying a simple %, it was VERY embarassing!
That being said... Isn't it what drummers are supposed to do? What makes the whole difference with samplers/computers?
Introducing errors in all these maths IS the groove (so sucking at Maths is intentional but yeah... only us, drummers, can understand that )

___

EDIT @ Veto (post below):

hummm... Sounds like math In this ~ music style, I'd say this is one grooves:



^^ warning: this vid might only interest drummers!

EDIT2: ...and since I'm on it, introducing more tiny math errors to make things groove, graphically/programmatically this time:



^^ so code can groove too, actually

Last edited by Jeffos; 01-24-2014 at 04:40 PM. Reason: edit to avoid the 2014 derail award
Jeffos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2014, 08:35 AM   #77
LugNut
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: So Florida
Posts: 822
Default

Wow jeffos and veto,

I looked at that first video and at veto's...holy crap...been playing drums professionally for over 40 years..jeez am I old....and those are some killer chops! Not a lot of math "errors" tho..^^ To my pedestrian ears.heheh
Almost gave me that" I'm gonna quit playing"feelin I got when I use to watch Billy Cobham live. I try to avoid that at all costs!^^

To really tell u how sheltered I have been, I never realized that guys were playing those jungle beats..thought it was all skillful programming...lol. Dam!

Man I gotta get out more often. Thx

Guido

Last edited by LugNut; 01-25-2014 at 08:41 AM.
LugNut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2014, 02:07 AM   #78
EcBaPr
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 134
Default

if anyone is skilled with scripting i was wondering if they could write me a script for oscii-bot ?

I have an RME UFX interface and i want a midi CC to be able to switch the FX in totalmix (RME mixer software) on and off.. the OSC command to do this is /mainMuteFx

id like a midi CC to act as a switch for this somehow.. Can anyone create this ? I look at the scripts and im fairly lost on how to decipher them..

I would be looking to use the UFX midi port with a "loopback" cable rather than installing a virtual midi port.. So i was thinking

Reaper (midi output UFX hardware) --> (midi input UFX hardware) oscii-bot --> (OSC 127.0.0.1:8000) Totalmix FX
EcBaPr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2014, 11:44 PM   #79
Tronic
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 91
Default

Why it does not support the sysex?
Tronic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2014, 10:50 AM   #80
Banned
Human being with feelings
 
Banned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Unwired (probably in the proximity of Amsterdam)
Posts: 4,868
Default

Finally got around to playing with this a bit tonight.

One small thing that has been bothering me for at least one and a half cups of coffee: I kept getting this error message:
Quote:
Originally Posted by OSCII-bot
Warning: line '@input OSCfromREAPER OSC "192.168.1.2:9000”' (and possibly more)' are not in valid section and may be ignored
As it turns out, the culprit were the 'fancy' quote marks at the end, which somehow got into my test script. So, if you see this error, watch out for this one, and make sure to use ugly straight quote characters.

The next thing bothering me, was that OSCII-bot didn't seem to see any of my MIDI devices (I'm on OS X, btw). While, for example, my Behringer BCR-2000 is named "BEHRINGER - BCR2000 - Port 1" in REAPER, making OSCII-bot look for "BEHRINGER" or "BCR2000" didn't work. As it turns out, what *did* work, was using "Port 1". (I got a clue from looking at the names of MIDI devices in Snoize's MIDI Monitor app, which showed only the last part of some device names.)

So, after two cups of coffee, I got Jeffos' MIDI to OSC conversion script working for OSCII-bot v0.2 on my Mac. Here is my adapted version: MIDI2OSC-II. This took just a few trivial edits, but hopefully it will be useful for some others who'd like to get started hacking with this. For convenience, I combined Jeffos' script with Justin's notes for general OSCII-bot usage. Much thanks to Justin and Jeffos - the MIDI parsing example is *very* useful!

I'm thinking it would be *really* nice to have more sophisticated MIDI parsing functionality built into OSCII-bot itself, btw - much like it would be an awesome addition to JS. It's not much fun having to do all the boilerplate stuff of composing different types of MIDI messages manually. I'd love to see some more specific commands like sendmidicc(device_index, controller_number, control_value) or sendmidinrpn(device_index, nrpn_number, control_value), to make scripting (much) less tedious and difficult (= more fun).

Off for a third cup, trying to make a companion OSC2MIDI script doing the reverse thing, so we have a generic bidirectional conversion utility between OSC <--> MIDI. I already have a tiny bit of test code working, yay!
__________________
˙lɐd 'ʎɐʍ ƃuoɹʍ ǝɥʇ ǝɔıʌǝp ʇɐɥʇ ƃuıploɥ ǝɹ,noʎ
Banned is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.