Old 03-15-2007, 08:39 AM   #1
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,494
Default Redundant routing listing

I've got a MOTU 24 I/O...

My sends/receives list is heeeyoooge.

Thing is, I've got stereo groups listed - AND single outputs.

If it was just stereo groups, I'd have the same functionality (I can pan if I want a mono output - not that I see any need for that) only a 1/3rd of the screen clutter when doing sends.
__________________
]]]>- guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 11:00 AM   #2
Dstruct
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Dresden, Germany
Posts: 12,215
Default

yeah good suggestion to disable the mono-outs from being displayed.
Dstruct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 07:19 PM   #3
todd24
Human being with feelings
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 916
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandruff View Post
yeah good suggestion to disable the mono-outs from being displayed.
Or the stereo..............better yet let them be indivdualy selected to show or not.
todd24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 11:24 PM   #4
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todd24 View Post
Or the stereo..............better yet let them be indivdualy selected to show or not.
For myself, I never use them in mono. That would also double the onscreen clutter, and it's not neccessary; you just pan to get the output you want.

Otherwise, in addition to having twice as much listed, you'd also have to click twice and configure twice to get a stereo out.

I've got 3 reverbs, a DL4, and the two multieffects in my VS880 running in stereo loops via Reaper. I'm going mono into a Pod Pro, and also a spring reverb - but that's the odd man out in my situation.

I'd much rather select from just 12 L/R groups + panning, rather than the mess of 1,2 1/2, 3,3, 3/4, X 24 channels...It's a lot to look at, even after renaming channels "Intellifex Left" or whatever....
__________________
]]]>- guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 04:02 AM   #5
norbury brook
Human being with feelings
 
norbury brook's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: London UK
Posts: 1,979
Default

Hey Chip,

You think 24's bad,i've got 64 channels on my SSL mixpander!!! :-)



I think I need to do some re jigging and not have all the ins/outs available in my default template.


MC
norbury brook is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 11:47 PM   #6
chip mcdonald
Human being with feelings
 
chip mcdonald's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NA - North Augusta South Carolina
Posts: 3,494
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by norbury brook View Post
Hey Chip,

You think 24's bad,i've got 64 channels on my SSL mixpander!!! :-)
Templates will alter what shows up on the routing menu...? I didn't know that, although I don't have time to figure it out one way or another.
__________________
]]]>- guitar lessons - www.chipmcdonald.com-<[[[
Experiencing Guitar: Essays from Teaching by Chip McDonald https://www.amazon.com/dp/1521877823..._QZJxAbA4GVDC1
chip mcdonald is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.